Wild Dog Adventure Riding

Technical Section => Make / Model Specific Discussions => BMW 1200 LC => Topic started by: Lord Knormoer on January 15, 2014, 02:48:03 pm

Title: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: Lord Knormoer on January 15, 2014, 02:48:03 pm
I spent some time trying to find the ideal spot to mount a tooltube on my K50 without performing major surgery. Anyone done this yet?

The plan is to carry all things related to puncture repair.

I have an idea that I will test this weekend. If one end of the tube is mounted with the upper bolt of the left hand pillion peg then the other end could easily be mounted to the rear frame by way of a clamp or even heavy duty cable tie. I guess I would need to space the other bolt on the peg mount equal to the thickness of the tube bracket.

Will post pics and notes if I get it right. In the meantime, any comments/suggestions will be welcome!
Title: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: Slaaiblaar on January 15, 2014, 02:51:38 pm
Het al dae lank om die bike geloop en plek soek, hier gepas en dar gepas.........pas nog die beste op die rak in my garage
Title: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: ZA on January 15, 2014, 03:04:37 pm
We have tool tube mountings at the shop if you dont mind spending R15  :sip:
Title: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: Lord Knormoer on January 15, 2014, 04:09:15 pm
We have tool tube mountings at the shop if you dont mind spending R15  :sip:

Do you have a picture of those mounts used on a K50?
Title: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: Kameel on January 15, 2014, 04:12:55 pm
We have tool tube mountings at the shop if you dont mind spending R15  :sip:

Do you have a picture of those mounts used on a K50?

Ja, I'd like to see as well...have always considered this. But also don't know where to fit it.
Title: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: lecap on January 16, 2014, 07:17:13 am
Pack the stuff into your jacket.
Maybe find a place for the reamer to zip tie it onto the bike's frame somewhere as it might puncture you painfully in a fall :o
Title: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: w@nted on January 16, 2014, 07:24:57 am
Tooltube net vir puncture repairs? Ekt n puncture repair kit (rasper, wurmpies en solution met CO2 bomme) wat ek als onder my sitplek inpas. Dit is wel op n 2012 GS. Nie seker of die LC plek het onder die seat nie?
Title: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: Lord Knormoer on January 16, 2014, 07:58:22 am
Pack the stuff into your jacket.
Maybe find a place for the reamer to zip tie it onto the bike's frame somewhere as it might puncture you painfully in a fall :o

Exactly what happened to a friend a week ago during a fall and that was only the CO2 canister. The reamer would have gutted him. I will never put anything but paper money and energy bars in my pockets again when riding.

Tooltube net vir puncture repairs? Ekt n puncture repair kit (rasper, wurmpies en solution met CO2 bomme) wat ek als onder my sitplek inpas. Dit is wel op n 2012 GS. Nie seker of die LC plek het onder die seat nie?

Daai was nog altyd my plan en daar is genoeg plek ook. Maar toe ry ek saam met iemand wat baie teenspoed kry op een dag en sy wiel ysters vergeet het. 'n Spaar binneband sou ook gaaf gewees het. Die eind resultaat was dat ek in die donker, in die reen oor 'n bergpas 50km moes ry vir die naaste dorp op 'n Saterdag aand en nood nommers bel en aan deure klop om te leen wat nodig is terwyl hy in die veld langs die pad sit en wag. Nou ry ek alles saam net ingeval dit weer gebeur.

Hou nou sommer 'n stel ysters en spaar binneband ingeval ek my wiel buig teen 'n klip as ek ver is. Wynn's tyre fix, 'n koplig, seepwater, lappe, handcleaner en ander dinge maak die res op. Het my lysie gemaak gebaseer op alles wat ons daardie aand in die veld gekort het.
Title: Re: Re: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: Slaaiblaar on January 16, 2014, 08:02:17 am
We have tool tube mountings at the shop if you dont mind spending R15  :sip:
PICS?

Sent from my GT-I9500 using Tapatalk
Title: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: Lord Knormoer on January 16, 2014, 08:11:45 am
We have tool tube mountings at the shop if you dont mind spending R15  :sip:

Do you have a picture of those mounts used on a K50?

Come now Aziz, we have waited untill 8:10 for you to get back to work. Where are those photo's? :joker:
Title: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: OomD on January 16, 2014, 09:43:44 am
No compressor? Will the CO2 bomb be enough to pop the tyre's bead back onto the rim?
Title: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: Lord Knormoer on January 16, 2014, 09:53:31 am
I will never do an overnight trip without the compressor again, although you probably have a better chance of popping the bead with a few CO2 canisters than with the compressor.

Could this be another fun thread to argue about? :joker:

What is critical is lubricant to make this task easier. Using either a small compressor or canisters, lot's of lubricant is required.
Title: Re: Re: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: silvrav on January 16, 2014, 11:31:13 am
I will never do an overnight trip without the compressor again, although you probably have a better chance of popping the bead with a few CO2 canisters than with the compressor.

Could this be another fun thread to argue about? :joker:

What is critical is lubricant to make this task easier. Using either a small compressor or canisters, lot's of lubricant is required.

What lube do you use?
Title: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: Lord Knormoer on January 16, 2014, 11:36:51 am
I see some shops sell tyre fitting lube, for now I just use dishwashing liquid mixed with a bit of water.
Title: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: Dawid S on January 16, 2014, 12:40:16 pm
What lube do you use?

The best will be tire fitting paste used by the truck-tire fitting guys.
Title: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: ZA on January 16, 2014, 12:52:19 pm
We have tool tube mountings at the shop if you dont mind spending R15  :sip:

Do you have a picture of those mounts used on a K50?

Redelik eenvoudig, 2 skroewe met moere, 3 cable ties en twee klampies met rubbers.
Title: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: Kameel on January 16, 2014, 12:53:48 pm
We have tool tube mountings at the shop if you dont mind spending R15  :sip:

Do you have a picture of those mounts used on a K50?

Redelik eenvoudig, 2 skroewe met moere, 3 cable ties en twee klampies met rubbers.


Nou weet ek ook. Dankie! :thumleft:

Title: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: ZA on January 16, 2014, 12:54:19 pm
We have tool tube mountings at the shop if you dont mind spending R15  :sip:

Do you have a picture of those mounts used on a K50?

Come now Aziz, we have waited untill 8:10 for you to get back to work. Where are those photo's? :joker:

Sorry Master Lord Knormoer moet asb nie begin knor nie  ;D :biggrin:
Title: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: Lord Knormoer on January 16, 2014, 01:02:28 pm
We have tool tube mountings at the shop if you dont mind spending R15  :sip:

Do you have a picture of those mounts used on a K50?

Redelik eenvoudig, 2 skroewe met moere, 3 cable ties en twee klampies met rubbers.

Thx but those will only work on the pannier bracket of a GSA and not anywhere on the K50.
Title: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: ZA on January 16, 2014, 02:32:23 pm
How about the tail racks frame tube above the pillion foot peg? or above the drive shaft close to the front pivoting point (not that it would be in the way of your leg)?
Title: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: ZA on January 16, 2014, 02:38:42 pm
It not suppose to be for one specific bike, but more of a universal fitting for a veryity of frame sizes
Title: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: Lord Knormoer on January 16, 2014, 04:58:27 pm
I will visit one morning to explore options.

However those brackets are for the 10mm tubing of the GSA pannier bracket. They are too small to fit the subframe.
Title: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: Lord Knormoer on January 18, 2014, 02:38:25 pm
Ok, original plan failed but I found a way.

Used a 22mm pipe clamp cut in half. Made spacers out of nylon bushes. Purchased longer bolts to compensate for tube bracket and spacers. Bolted tool-tube bottom bracket to frame using the clamp. Fixed top tube bracket to frame using cable tie (wanted to use other half of clamp but no space unless you cut into the plastic wheel arch).

Branded tool-tube appropriately :-)

Will test tomorrow, if it stays in place I will remove, paint the clamp and fit permanently.

This position does interfere with panniers however when I use panniers I do not need the tube.

It is also possible to mount another tube in the same spot above the exhaust but that requires further modifications to the clamp which I will attempt at a later stage.
Title: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: Lord Knormoer on January 18, 2014, 02:40:36 pm
.
Title: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: Slovac on January 18, 2014, 08:53:58 pm
Knor, I can see how you mounted the bottom part of the tooltube using the pipe clamp, but can't see from the photo how you fasten the top part.  I am guessing you are using the other half of the clamp?
Also, does it not stick out quite a bit?
I like the idea, how much do you charge for labour?  :ricky:
Title: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: Lord Knormoer on January 18, 2014, 09:07:53 pm
No, cannot use the clamp at the top without cutting into the plastic mudguard. The bottom actually carries the tube, the top is just held in place with a cable tie.

Will make a very thin clamp for the top but need to speak to a fabricator for that. I do not have the tools.

Sticks out less than the exhaust.

We can make a few in the time it takes to drink a couple of beers :joker:
Title: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: Lord Knormoer on January 28, 2014, 06:19:41 am
Painted the clamp this weekend.
Title: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: Slaaiblaar on January 28, 2014, 06:24:07 am
Yesterday again
 Walked around the bike with tool "tube" in hand but still, no solution... ;)
Title: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: Lord Knormoer on January 28, 2014, 06:28:23 am
Need more pictures?
Title: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: Slaaiblaar on January 28, 2014, 06:33:22 am
That position will interfere with my pannier brackets. I think I must give the freaken thing away and give it up for a bad job!!!
Title: Re: Fitting a Tooltube
Post by: Lord Knormoer on January 28, 2014, 07:42:13 am
Simple rule for me, if I fit the panniers the tooltube stays home since I have ample space. For me the tooltube goes along with soft luggage and off tar adventures. Panniers just for highway touring.

There is a way to fit it on the passenger grab rail but it requires drilling which I avoid. You could probably have a bracket made to use those bolts?