Wild Dog Adventure Riding

Technical Section => Make / Model Specific Discussions => BMW 1200 LC => Topic started by: Slaaiblaar on September 14, 2014, 04:20:33 pm

Title: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: Slaaiblaar on September 14, 2014, 04:20:33 pm
I want to take a tube with on my next trip,  will it work with TPM or should I go with a few big cators for big holes?
Title: Re: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: Copernicus on September 14, 2014, 04:58:56 pm
My first reaction is 'no'.  I think the TPM forms part of the valve.  On a tube the valve come with the tube.  Best would be to change to tubes and remove everything before departure.  that way you don't need to worry about conversions along the way.

But tubeless is better and easier to fix than tubes.  Why do you want to make things difficult for yourself?
Title: Re: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: Slaaiblaar on September 14, 2014, 05:04:48 pm
Thr TPM sensor is not in the valve, it is on the inside of the rim. Want to use it for backup,  big sidewall cut or something like that
Title: Re: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: SGB on September 15, 2014, 03:57:47 am
Take the tube.  If you need it just remove the TPS from the rim and install the tube.  Simple.
Title: Re: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: Pistonpete on September 15, 2014, 04:41:17 am
My first reaction is 'no'.  I think the TPM forms part of the valve.  On a tube the valve come with the tube.  Best would be to change to tubes and remove everything before departure.  that way you don't need to worry about conversions along the way.

But tubeless is better and easier to fix than tubes.  Why do you want to make things difficult for yourself?
Being tubeless does not make one impervious ('scuse the pun) to problems....start off with Tyre Shield & if you hit problems later on then fit a tube or patch the tyre  :thumleft:
Title: Re: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: Garfield on September 15, 2014, 07:24:21 am
Take the tube.  If you need it just remove the TPS from the rim and install the tube.  Simple.

Yes, easy enough to remove the TP Sensor and valve if need be.

Take a tube, when you need it nothing else will work.
Title: Re: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: Draadwerk on September 15, 2014, 07:36:43 am
Thr TPM sensor is not in the valve, it is on the inside of the rim. Want to use it for backup,  big sidewall cut or something like that

My TPM on 2014 model is part of the valve. One unit. Wanted to install 90degree valves- was not possible as TPM had to go then.

Actually took bike in to a local dealer- lucky for me before I left I saw the TPM's lying on the ground where the labour was working. Asked him, and he said it was mine- almost left a couple of thousand on the floor there- uh uh no no no- aikona- change it back immediately - sorry for all the effort for nothing 😄
Title: Re: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: Slaaiblaar on September 15, 2014, 07:39:57 am
Thr TPM sensor is not in the valve, it is on the inside of the rim. Want to use it for backup,  big sidewall cut or something like that

My TPM on 2014 model is part of the valve. One unit. Wanted to install 90degree valves- was not possible as TPM had to go then.

Actually took bike in to a local dealer- lucky for me before I left I saw the TPM's lying on the ground where the labour was working. Asked him, and he said it was mine- almost left a couple of thousand on the floor there- uh uh no no no- aikona- change it back immediately - sorry for all the effort for nothing 😄
If it is part off the valve, how could you have left it on the ground?
Title: Re: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: Slaaiblaar on September 15, 2014, 07:41:34 am
For the LC, what size tube would work in both front and back. For emergency only.
Title: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: Draadwerk on September 15, 2014, 07:53:57 am
Thr TPM sensor is not in the valve, it is on the inside of the rim. Want to use it for backup,  big sidewall cut or something like that

My TPM on 2014 model is part of the valve. One unit. Wanted to install 90degree valves- was not possible as TPM had to go then.

Actually took bike in to a local dealer- lucky for me before I left I saw the TPM's lying on the ground where the labour was working. Asked him, and he said it was mine- almost left a couple of thousand on the floor there- uh uh no no no- aikona- change it back immediately - sorry for all the effort for nothing 😄
If it is part off the valve, how could you have left it on the ground?

I wanted to install 90 degree valves- they were already installed when I saw the TPM's on the ground.
Title: Re: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: lecap on September 15, 2014, 08:20:42 am
Again:
Do NOT use tubes in TL type wheels.
It is DANGEROUS.

Seating a TL type tire with an inner tube fitted does stretch the tube to (or beyond) its limit when the bead moves over the hump of the rim. (A TT rim does not have a bead hump and the tire moves much less to seat).
TL wheels with tubes fitted may blow out without wanting if the tube ruptures.

If you have a side wall cut it will be extremely dangerous to use the tire with a tube as either the tube might squeeze out and rupture or the tire tears further and disintegrates.
If you have buckled your rim bad enough to unseat the tire bead then rather fix the wheel.

For the LC, what size tube would work in both front and back. For emergency only.
Is there a place on this planet where they don't have trailers, trucks or donkey carts?
Title: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: Draadwerk on September 15, 2014, 08:36:08 am
Slaaiblaar - hier is hy vir jou

(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/09/15/azevypuj.jpg)
Title: Re: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: Slaaiblaar on September 15, 2014, 08:38:27 am
Slaaiblaar - hier is hy vir jou



Dankie, nou verstaan ek die ding :ricky:
Title: Re: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: Draadwerk on September 15, 2014, 08:41:41 am
Kyk die foto ook wat ek nou net gepost het. Dit is presies hoe hy lyk.
Title: Re: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: Garfield on September 15, 2014, 08:58:52 am
As ek in die middel van die middel van niks, nerens en fokkol op my eie is sal ek 'n tube insit (en het al) om my tot by die naaste beskawing te kry, natuurlik moet spoed afwaarts aangepas word in so 'n situasie om te keer dat dinge te warm word.

Dit is absoluut net 'n emergency fix om stadig tot by hulp te ry.

Met 'n groot sny in 'n sidewall of in die tread gaan 'n tube alleen in elk geval nie help nie, die sny sal ook op 'n manier toegemaak moet word.

Daar is menigte situasies waar mense hulleself tot by hulp gekry het met tubes in TL bande, ons het dit ook verlede Desember gedoen, maar verstaan die risiko soos deur lecap verduidelik.

Of natuurlik kan mens op hulp sit en wag...
Title: Re: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: SchalkL on September 15, 2014, 01:10:19 pm
Little bit of topic:
Its been suggested to me that in a emergency situation you can also put a 19" front tyre tube into a 17" tubeless back tyre? (Of course with dangers as LC said)
Will save me from carrying 2 tubes for emergency's. Do you agree?
Title: Re: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: Garfield on September 15, 2014, 01:12:56 pm
Little bit of topic:
Its been suggested to me that in a emergency situation you can also put a 19" front tyre tube into a 17" tubeless back tyre? (Of course with dangers as LC said)
Will save me from carrying 2 tubes for emergency's. Do you agree?

Have done that on a plastic with a 21" in a 18" and also on a 650 with 21" in 18" but only to slowly get to the nearest help/recovery point.

Will overheat very quickly due to folding and the tube will also be stretched to the limit - could go bad very quickly.
Title: Re: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: Mikie on September 15, 2014, 01:48:08 pm
My first reaction is 'no'.  I think the TPM forms part of the valve.  On a tube the valve come with the tube.  Best would be to change to tubes and remove everything before departure.  that way you don't need to worry about conversions along the way.

But tubeless is better and easier to fix than tubes.  Why do you want to make things difficult for yourself?
Being tubeless does not make one impervious ('scuse the pun) to problems....start off with Tyre Shield & if you hit problems later on then fit a tube or patch the tyre  :thumleft:

Wont the liquid mess with the TPM??
Title: Re: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: Slaaiblaar on September 15, 2014, 02:43:59 pm
My first reaction is 'no'.  I think the TPM forms part of the valve.  On a tube the valve come with the tube.  Best would be to change to tubes and remove everything before departure.  that way you don't need to worry about conversions along the way.

But tubeless is better and easier to fix than tubes.  Why do you want to make things difficult for yourself?
Being tubeless does not make one impervious ('scuse the pun) to problems....start off with Tyre Shield & if you hit problems later on then fit a tube or patch the tyre  :thumleft:

Wont the liquid mess with the TPM??
Liquid??
Title: Re: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: Mikie on September 15, 2014, 02:54:15 pm
My first reaction is 'no'.  I think the TPM forms part of the valve.  On a tube the valve come with the tube.  Best would be to change to tubes and remove everything before departure.  that way you don't need to worry about conversions along the way.

But tubeless is better and easier to fix than tubes.  Why do you want to make things difficult for yourself?
Being tubeless does not make one impervious ('scuse the pun) to problems....start off with Tyre Shield & if you hit problems later on then fit a tube or patch the tyre  :thumleft:

Wont the liquid mess with the TPM??
Liquid??

Yes Tyre Shield is a liquid  :-\
Title: Re: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: Slaaiblaar on September 15, 2014, 03:16:19 pm
My first reaction is 'no'.  I think the TPM forms part of the valve.  On a tube the valve come with the tube.  Best would be to change to tubes and remove everything before departure.  that way you don't need to worry about conversions along the way.

But tubeless is better and easier to fix than tubes.  Why do you want to make things difficult for yourself?
Being tubeless does not make one impervious ('scuse the pun) to problems....start off with Tyre Shield & if you hit problems later on then fit a tube or patch the tyre  :thumleft:

Wont the liquid mess with the TPM??
Liquid??

Yes Tyre Shield is a liquid  :-\

Though Tyre shield is the same as  a gator, yes the liquid will affect the monitor
Title: Re: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: Pistonpete on September 15, 2014, 07:53:28 pm
Tyre Shield will not affect the TPMS and in fact is one of the selling points. We have dosed dozens of bikes with TPMS and have never had a problem. Just saying..... :thumleft:
Title: Re: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: knightrat on September 15, 2014, 08:39:20 pm
Guy at work had a flat with his LC.. he was about to fill it with that tire sealant when I pointed out it might hurt his TPM.. he phoned bavaria and was told it doesn't block the pressure sensing but it apparently corrodes the sensor and they don't recommend using it.. I guess it will get you home though?  :peepwall:
Title: Re: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: Pistonpete on September 15, 2014, 09:29:17 pm
There might be some tyre sealants that could corrode parts but not Tyre Shield. They are specific about this..... :thumleft:
Back to tubes...   ;D
Title: Re: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: Mikie on September 16, 2014, 07:41:38 am
I am more and more considering this stuff now
But if I swap tyres often I guess its a bad idea
Title: Re: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: TheBear on September 23, 2014, 10:12:49 am
Jy sal die TPM sensor met valve (dis een eenheid)  moet uithaal.  Maklik.  Niks meer werk as om 'n normale valve uit te haal nie.  Dan sit jy die tube in.  Maak net seker jy het die tube se valve se skroefies en goete.

Guy at work had a flat with his LC.. he was about to fill it with that tire sealant when I pointed out it might hurt his TPM.. he phoned bavaria and was told it doesn't block the pressure sensing but it apparently corrodes the sensor and they don't recommend using it.. I guess it will get you home though?  :peepwall:

I can see how a tire sealant could easily block the tiny hole in the pressure sensor, so I would not take the work of Bavaria's phone advisor at all.  It should be easy to fix though.
Title: Re: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: SGB on September 23, 2014, 09:48:28 pm
An 18" tube works for the 17" rear and 19" front wheels.  I have fitted many tubes in tubeless wheels - mainly on 1200 GS bikes.  Never had an issue.  Always got home, sometimes more than 1000 km later.  Yes, if you analyse things, there is a risk.  A 990 rim has quite a large bead, you have to pump the wheel quite hard to seat it.  And it is tubed. 

On a 17/19" bike, I carry one 18" tube.  Much quicker to fit and move on than to wait for assistance.  I am not saying it is a fool proof solution, just sharing what has worked for me in practical situations.
Title: Re: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: 1190 on September 24, 2014, 04:52:03 pm
Just did an 800km trip in the Transkei and had a situation with the front tyre conti attack 2. Tried to plug it but it had about 20 holes in it? ?? After the 4 th plug i put tyre  sealant in and after 160kms of stopping and pumping i got home. There were 10 bikes on the trip and we had about 12 punctures and one buckled rim (1190). Tubeless is the easiest by far but its the second time ive seen a conti just have holes all over the tyre.

The tyre pressure sensor kept working and i ended up at home on 1 bar. Oh and in enduro mode the alarm comes on at 0.8 bar, in rain mode 2.1 bar is there a way to set this as in enduro or pro mode thats way to low.?
Title: Re: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: SGB on September 24, 2014, 06:03:16 pm
Just did an 800km trip in the Transkei and had a situation with the front tyre conti attack 2. Tried to plug it but it had about 20 holes in it? ?? After the 4 th plug i put tyre  sealant in and after 160kms of stopping and pumping i got home. There were 10 bikes on the trip and we had about 12 punctures and one buckled rim (1190). Tubeless is the easiest by far but its the second time ive seen a conti just have holes all over the tyre.

The tyre pressure sensor kept working and i ended up at home on 1 bar. Oh and in enduro mode the alarm comes on at 0.8 bar, in rain mode 2.1 bar is there a way to set this as in enduro or pro mode thats way to low.?

With a tube you would not have stopped once.  I have rarely had success with tyre sealant.  It fails more times than not and causes a big mess.  Cleaning the TPS will be a job - do it before the stuff cures. 
I dislike the alarm - just want to see the pressure and I will decide what is too low.  Don't need the flashing lights.
Title: Re: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: Draadwerk on September 24, 2014, 07:06:04 pm
As far as I van remember you can only disable low TPM in Enduro and enduro pro modes. Not rain or road
Title: Re: Can you use a tube on the LC with tire pressure monitor?
Post by: SGB on September 28, 2014, 10:43:24 pm
I never use rain or road.  Sometimes dynamic for short periods when I want to use the cruise control.  Enduro Pro most of the time.  I like the engine response and suspension in EP mode.  I like the display of tyre pressure.  I do not like the bike deciding what is good or not good.  That is my decision, not the bike's.....