That looks good.According to MCN on twitter no tech details as yet. Could be a prototype? Pre production?
What is the specs?
From Honda press release:
True Adventure Prototype
The second prototype on display is the True Adventure Prototype. Inspired by both Honda’s fantastic heritage in adventure motorcycling and our recent Dakar programme, the True Adventure Prototype captures the product direction as Honda seeks to expand its presence in the Adventure segment. This prototype has been developed to deliver outstanding off-road capability, and could provide the basis of a true round-the-world motorcycle. It’s flanked by the current Team HRC CRF450 Rally and, paying respect to Honda’s competition legacy, the 1989 Paris-Dakar winning NXR Africa Twin ridden by Gilles Lalay.
No further technical details or information on either the road going RC213V-S Prototype or True Adventure prototype are available at this time.
I like it that it is a parallel twin..
Well, I can see (or I think I see) two air/fuel inlets and two exhausts. Otherwise if you look at the spacing of the header pipes, it might be one moerse thumper.. :drif:I like it that it is a parallel twin..
Says who it could easiy be a thumper, a production version of the rallye bike.
Well, I can see (or I think I see) two air/fuel inlets and two exhausts. Otherwise if you look at the spacing of the header pipes, it might be one moerse thumper.. :drif:I like it that it is a parallel twin..
It might give 40 km/l.. :peepwall:
It doesn't seem to have much of a fuel tank.
I hope it makes about 100bhp and weighs under 170kgs.+10,0000000000000000000
No gear shift lever and no clutch lever - hope they not going to force the DCT (or DST) thingy down on us.Well noticed. . . . :thumleft: I was just :drif: over it's looks. :ricky:
I hope it makes about 100bhp and weighs under 170kgs.
My order is in! :3some: :thumleft:To who. . . . . .the Big Man upstairs. :imaposer:
Arriving in 3-4 months time!My order is in! :3some: :thumleft:To who. . . . . .the Big Man upstairs. :imaposer:
Price and spec :sip:Arriving in 3-4 months time!My order is in! :3some: :thumleft:To who. . . . . .the Big Man upstairs. :imaposer:
This will be my next bike.
Arriving in 3-4 months time!My order is in! :3some: :thumleft:To who. . . . . .the Big Man upstairs. :imaposer:
"Timescedule:
March/April 2015: official press release in Northern Africa (most likely Morocco), at the dealer in September 2015."
Who knows we will probably only see it in 2016.
Fantastic.... finally BMW F800GS has some competition. Now Yamaha needs to enter and then we can expect the competition to rive prices down and or innovation up!!
"Timescedule:
March/April 2015: official press release in Northern Africa (most likely Morocco), at the dealer in September 2015."
Fantastic.... finally BMW F800GS has some competition. Now Yamaha needs to enter and then we can expect the competition to rive prices down and or innovation up!!
That suits me even better.
"Timescedule:
So we will be able to buy it in SA before Grrrr.... gets his Post Office bike back :thumleft:
1000cc paralel twin
100hp
200kg wet
20l feul
250mm suspension
I like.
It's basically a BMW F800GS/KTM990 made by Honda though...which will be perfect.
Hopefully it ways less than the F800GS which is 214kg's fueled and ready to ride. So it will be interesting to see Honda's weight.
I BET that that is a 1000cc P.Twin as the engine looks bigger than the BMW's P.Twin by comparing pics.
Front wheel is 21" with ABS as well. I'm sure it will have some sort of traction control system to compete with BMW.
The tank looks like it takes less fuel unless they are also going to put the tank under the seat :)
I'm thinking it will be around 210 fueled bearing in mind it has a smaller capacity tank.
But I really really like the prototype and I'm happily surprised that Honda did not disappoint.
Well, it might have a 20 liter tank with a 22km/l fuel consumption which will push you over 400km.. That in my mind is enough.It's basically a BMW F800GS/KTM990 made by Honda though...which will be perfect.
Hopefully it ways less than the F800GS which is 214kg's fueled and ready to ride. So it will be interesting to see Honda's weight.
I BET that that is a 1000cc P.Twin as the engine looks bigger than the BMW's P.Twin by comparing pics.
Front wheel is 21" with ABS as well. I'm sure it will have some sort of traction control system to compete with BMW.
The tank looks like it takes less fuel unless they are also going to put the tank under the seat :)
I'm thinking it will be around 210 fueled bearing in mind it has a smaller capacity tank.
But I really really like the prototype and I'm happily surprised that Honda did not disappoint.
If you look closely at the photographs you will see the air intake under the seat, so definitely no fuel tank there.
Will the production models also come standard with spray-on mud?:imaposer: :imaposer: :imaposer:
And the rumored weight and power is 100 HP (out of 1000 cc parallel twin) and 200 kg fully fueled - which is a lot, but still less than Tenere.
Not sure about that. A dutch dude on advrider who seems to be well informed said press release March/April (in Moroco) and in shops September 2015.
It's basically a BMW F800GS/KTM990 made by Honda though...which will be perfect.
If you look closely at the photographs you will see the air intake under the seat, so definitely no fuel tank there.
I really hope it doesn't - the old AT must be one of the most overestimated bikes in the history. Underpowered, undersprung, overweight boring pig. I'm talking 750 that I had, I've heard 650 was better.
Not sure about that. A dutch dude on advrider who seems to be well informed said press release March/April (in Moroco) and in shops September 2015.
:sip: And 3-4 months from now is............ :3some:
I really hope it doesn't - the old AT must be one of the most overestimated bikes in the history. Underpowered, undersprung, overweight boring pig. I'm talking 750 that I had, I've heard 650 was better.
:sip: Jeezzz Xpat, you're going to be taken out, you can't say things like that about the AT, it's a cult bike, religion, you know. I'm also not allowed to say that the bike (GS 1200) that I rode to have a tire fitted as a favour for a friend is the WORST bike I have had the honour to ride.
In absolutely every way. I'll rather not elaborate on that.
I had a Transalp before, bit under powered, but reliable, heavy on fuel. :3some:
Sorry Chaps, I do not think that this does ANY justice to the original Africa Twin. :dousing:
I agree that the old AT was more name than bike, and that the 650 TA was actually a more capable bike. What made the AT so popular is reliability for the time, being one of the first real purposely build DS bikes with reliability that matched. The old AT is more name than bike but great for the time. We are going forward now, bikes are also evolving slowly into what the markets wants and let me be the asshole to say this on this thread again: 'SA is not the market, we get what the European and USA markets want'. If we were to design a DS bike to the liking's of SA DS Bikers it would have been 170kg fueled, 100hp and bla bla bla.....but we are not major role players because we are a very small market down here.....we get what they offer us and then we spent a shitload in aftermarket parts like progressive springs etc to get it to perform the way we would like it to do
Depends on the definition of 'arriving'. If the info I posted is correct, I would expect it to be available in SA late next year or beginning of 2016.
:sip: Jep, point taken, but it seems so long to wait, patience!! :lamer:
Really like this but I hope they tidy up the rightside of the motor. There is a lot of stuff sticking out that can end a trip with a slow speed fall.
You guys are dreaming. A 100hp bike with 180kg is a pipe dream or it will so expensive that they won't sell enough bikes to make a profit.The fact that it took them so long to wake up :deal:
It will be very close to the figures of the F800GS with probably a few more horses.
What's so exiting about the new Africa Twin?
You guys are dreaming. A 100hp bike with 180kg is a pipe dream or it will be so expensive that they won't sell enough bikes to make a profit.
It will be very close to the figures of the F800GS with probably a few more horses.
You guys are dreaming. A 100hp bike with 180kg is a pipe dream or it will be so expensive that they won't sell enough bikes to make a profit.
I would not start holding my breath just yet. According to Honda’s press release it is a prototype, which is another way of saying it is a concept model/design study. When the production model appears it will be a much watered down version, aimed at the mass market.
The SE was the closest and that was almost 10 years ago!! No other litre class bike off the floor could perform like that and still capable of clearing a double jump/table top on the MX track.......holding my breath for any maufacturer to duplicate this and Im in!!You guys are dreaming. A 100hp bike with 180kg is a pipe dream or it will be so expensive that they won't sell enough bikes to make a profit.
Wonder why 100hp at 180kg is not achievable? Nothing against your statement. Just wondering why the designers would not be able to come up with something like that? Surely with todays modern tech this should be easily achievable?
The SE was the closest and that was almost 10 years ago!! No other litre class bike off the floor could perform like that and still capable of clearing a double jump/table top on the MX track.......holding my breath for any maufacturer to duplicate this and Im in!!You guys are dreaming. A 100hp bike with 180kg is a pipe dream or it will be so expensive that they won't sell enough bikes to make a profit.
Wonder why 100hp at 180kg is not achievable? Nothing against your statement. Just wondering why the designers would not be able to come up with something like that? Surely with todays modern tech this should be easily achievable?
Agreed 1 million %
I am glad I am not holding my breath
I would not start holding my breath just yet. According to Honda’s press release it is a prototype, which is another way of saying it is a concept model/design study. When the production model appears it will be a much watered down version, aimed at the mass market.
I am going to lose my shit if that is the case. If it turns into another Crosstourer/GS clone I am going to be @#$%ing disappointed....
Compare the AT with the bikes of its time. It was a complete contradiction to anything else on the market or what the norm was even though it sailed like a boat and was underpowered for the weight. Make no mistake I am not critising the new AT just saying it is not unlike the gs800 and triumph. At least KTM still comes up with bikes with their own identity.
May I ask why would you go for Tenere (except maybe reliability and less vibration)? For me 640 Adventure is the ultimate shit - only the reliability concerns keep me from one.
May I ask why would you go for Tenere (except maybe reliability and less vibration)? For me 640 Adventure is the ultimate shit - only the reliability concerns keep me from one.My KTM requires a lot of maintenance and the parts are very expensive. Part availability is also sometimes an issue. Make no mistake that the KTM is truely an ultimate adventure bike that is very capable on dirt and in the rough stuff. I would almost say that the 640 Adventure could live up to "Ready to Race" slogan that KTM uses.
You just answered your own q! :biggrin:
Jip.
That, and the vibrations.
Fit an XR650R engine in that bike and you will have THE BEST one-up dualsport bike ever made.
Rather a 650 Rotax motor!
Ive got Hondas,KTM`s and a Yamaha so all bases covered :biggrin:May I ask why would you go for Tenere (except maybe reliability and less vibration)? For me 640 Adventure is the ultimate shit - only the reliability concerns keep me from one.
rich coming from a Honda EXAAAR owner. :pot:
Ive got Hondas,KTM`s and a Yamaha so all bases covered :biggrin:May I ask why would you go for Tenere (except maybe reliability and less vibration)? For me 640 Adventure is the ultimate shit - only the reliability concerns keep me from one.
rich coming from a Honda EXAAAR owner. :pot:
Dear Santa,The honda yes.... the stuck pig ...no! :pot: :ricky:
I`ve been a good kid this year..............
Just realised its a good thing taste differs - It hink its "darn good lookin`
Faaark... but that thing's ugly... :laughing4: :laughing4:
:thumleft:Faaark... but that thing's ugly... :laughing4: :laughing4:
Talking about the GSA or the new Honda?
If Honda then I suggest a eye test.
Honda does make some of the ugliest bikes on the road today. Even my plaasbike, stock standard, must be one of the most uninspired bikes to look at.
But the new Honda, even with it's "camo don't look at me" paint job and fake mud looks awesome! Much nicer than the 1190 or any of the the "new" Adventure models.
(http://i573.photobucket.com/albums/ss172/Ged1Grrrr/Bikes/89e65fd6db62790773b3367223344eea_zpsc2662ed0.jpg) (http://s573.photobucket.com/user/Ged1Grrrr/media/Bikes/89e65fd6db62790773b3367223344eea_zpsc2662ed0.jpg.html)
I haven't liked the look of a bike this much since..... well, my school days lusting after a TZR50.
Now all we need to hope for is that Honda don't go @#$% it up....
Two words: High Fender. This trend of low fenders just looks to me like,um......Faaark... but that thing's ugly... :laughing4: :laughing4:
Honda does make some of the ugliest bikes on the road today. Even my plaasbike, stock standard, must be one of the most uninspired bikes to look at.
But the new Honda, even with it's "camo don't look at me" paint job and fake mud looks awesome! Much nicer than the 1190 or any of the the "new" Adventure models.
(http://i573.photobucket.com/albums/ss172/Ged1Grrrr/Bikes/89e65fd6db62790773b3367223344eea_zpsc2662ed0.jpg) (http://s573.photobucket.com/user/Ged1Grrrr/media/Bikes/89e65fd6db62790773b3367223344eea_zpsc2662ed0.jpg.html)
I haven't liked the look of a bike this much since..... well, my school days lusting after a TZR50.
Faaark... but that thing's ugly... :laughing4: :laughing4:
I am going to lose my shit if that is the case. If it turns into another Crosstourer/GS clone I am going to be @#$%ing disappointed....
Yeah.. I feel the same
Ive had a Twin.. the XR650R, TA650 and the TA700... waiting for the next great bike to come along.. so far nudda.
Whatever Honda does, I hope it is LIGHT, so BMW can stop trying to turn the 800 into its porky big brother, and bring out a proper version as competition: 16litre tank, which gives good range anyway, decent suspension, and bearings and seals, no Traction Control (seriously, that throttle is so linear: all it needed in the first place was better engine braking), and the uprated engine that went into the Nuda, which can easily push out 100 horsies. And less lead in the construction process, wherever they put it. The BMW 800 HP2. The only bike I would ever really need.
The twin disc brakess are a bit of a giveaway that it will be a fat heavy piggy.Most of our bikes are piggies :biggrin:
let's guess cost...hmmm..R125 000
Stock F800GS on special was R119 000 :)
iirc
Non Special R132 000
Adventure R152 000
I want this bike to be very good, but I see a LOT of disappointment in this thread.
The Honda will be R135 000 - R140 000 minimum.
The Suzuki DL1000 is R135 500. This bike will NOT be cheaper than that.
Imho it's going to be a 90ish HP, 1000cc, DCT shifting, over 220kg's fueled bike Adventure bike that costs north of R135 000.
UNLESS they bring out 2 versions and the other version is NOT what we see in the pics.
In either case, Honda could have done a lot lot worse.
The more I look at this bike, the more I like it.
I think Honda has a winner here.
I dont excited about new bikes, but I have to confess that I have a stirring in my loins about this one.
The more I look at this bike, the more I like it.I have a stirring too, although it is not in my loins, per se. Just excited about what it could mean to the market, if consumers had an option of a modern DS bike that isn't a Europig.
I think Honda has a winner here.
I dont excited about new bikes, but I have to confess that I have a stirring in my loins about this one.
So the wishlist seems to be nimble handling, awesome suspension, proper off road capability, light weight and 100 horsies?
Sounds suspiciously close to a 950SE
..... and reliable.... :3some:So the wishlist seems to be nimble handling, awesome suspension, proper off road capability, light weight and 100 horsies?
;) Only if you forget to add that it must be red.
..... and reliable.... :3some:So the wishlist seems to be nimble handling, awesome suspension, proper off road capability, light weight and 100 horsies?
https://www.youtube.com/v/MVrfwRa0gnY
And have better fuel consumption than a mid sized family car...
And some range for touring........ and reliable.... :3some:So the wishlist seems to be nimble handling, awesome suspension, proper off road capability, light weight and 100 horsies?
And actually available to buy new!
Yes to all above......and always unfortunately a but and in my and many others case: price....and that will probably end up to be the deal breaker for the average 'Jo' like me. I always wonder how much one must earn to be able to sustain the family responsibilities, the wife and family car/bakkie and even own a bike that cost R140K (This should be the entry level African twin price)
I once was lucky and was doing contract work abroad, I got paid in dollars and 'lived in Rand' and bought a new Triumph cash. What a great feeling, but it is not raining 'pap' any more and now I am happy with my 650 TA.
So that is my challange; not all the debates of which bike is the best, but how do one get to affort a bike like this. To all of the okes who can, well done on how you manage and please forgive me once I get you in the parking lot or on a bash and drool all over your bike! :laughing4:
Yes to all above......and always unfortunately a but and in my and many others case: price....and that will probably end up to be the deal breaker for the average 'Jo' like me. I always wonder how much one must earn to be able to sustain the family responsibilities, the wife and family car/bakkie and even own a bike that cost R140K (This should be the entry level African twin price)
I once was lucky and was doing contract work abroad, I got paid in dollars and 'lived in Rand' and bought a new Triumph cash. What a great feeling, but it is not raining 'pap' any more and now I am happy with my 650 TA.
So that is my challange; not all the debates of which bike is the best, but how do one get to affort a bike like this. To all of the okes who can, well done on how you manage and please forgive me once I get you in the parking lot or on a bash and drool all over your bike! :laughing4:
TVB - you'll have to be quick though, because I will already be there droooooling.... :-[ :snorting: :drif:
Bliksem manne.....die ding is netjies.....soos hy daar staan sien ek al hoe trek hy plat oor die rooisand.
Op die oog af tick hy vir my meeste bokse.
1. Suspensie
2. Ground Clearence
3. Gewig (die fiets lyk onder 200kg)
4. Krag (as ek moet raai is dit n 900cc..hoop net hy fokkof)
5. Moet goed kan val..(ek sien nie radiators en fans wat teen die kant sit nie....ek val inelkgeval meestal in die sand)
Kan nie wag om hom in lewende lywe te sien nie.
This bike looks great. A couple of points I noticed;
What looks like an oil cooler on the front left.
The bike is kept slim apart from the right side of the engine, not too sure what's going on there.
Windscreen very upright which is great and it appears to be adjustable.
Aluminum frame and swing arm tells me they are aiming at a lightweight bike.
I think this bike is going to be great!! If it stays in this guise, put my name on the virtual list!
EICMA videos of the new Honda Africa Twin..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MVrfwRa0gnY (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MVrfwRa0gnY)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=6xUewDN9lgY (https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=6xUewDN9lgY)
I've been lusting after a 990 adv for a few months after riding Bushtrotter's but now that this is on the horizon, I'll gladly keep the Alp for another year or so and rather get this bad boy !
I'll have it. Been waiting along time for this. :3some:
Thanks for posting JJ, that's the most info I've seen on it so far.
Now I really want one!
8)
Lol; MX style seat..
Doesn't help if the "MX style seat" positions you half a meter from the front wheel.
I'll be extremely surprised if this bike can be lighter than a ktm 1190 adventure... It will just be yet another too heavy road bike styled to look like a Dakar racer., yes possibly with some off-road capability but doubt it would beat a KTM 1190 with regards to that. And again the 990 was a much more capable off-roader than the 1190. My money is on a new ktm 690-701 adventure single...
Sounds very much like a 690cc with Giant Loop bags (barring the overweight twin motor)?I'll be extremely surprised if this bike can be lighter than a ktm 1190 adventure... It will just be yet another too heavy road bike styled to look like a Dakar racer., yes possibly with some off-road capability but doubt it would beat a KTM 1190 with regards to that. And again the 990 was a much more capable off-roader than the 1190. My money is on a new ktm 690-701 adventure single...
Based on looks alone, it wont be heavier than a 990.
The p-twin engine is always lighter than a v-twin due to shared top-ends, less plumbing, less piping, etc.
If they can make it weigh less than a 990, with the same or better handling, it will be a winner.
The holy grail is still a 160kg 700cc twin with luggage capacity sitting on 270mm WP suspension, but I think currently this is still a pipe dream.
DS doesn't have to be a synonym for kak handling.Lol; MX style seat..
Doesn't help if the "MX style seat" positions you half a meter from the front wheel.
You know this is a DS bike, right?
DS doesn't have to be a synonym for kak handling.Lol; MX style seat..
You know this is a DS bike, right?
This is an MX inspired seat:
(http://www.adventure-magazin.de/daten_rallye/KTM/KTM-Rally-450-RR.jpg)
Klink meer of jy 'n Sport Tourer in gedagte het. Ry jou vrou by die huis en jou bike innie veld, maar moenie die roetines begin mix nie; jy vra vir oorgewig bikes met tos handtering
;D
OK got it - great stuff - now come on Honda, stop teasing and release the bike!!!
https://www.youtube.com/v/MRiK2LZ8n38
wanneer is die nuwe AT dan nou hier?
Ja dis sad as Honda eienaars al C90's moet uikit vir hulle trips :evil6: Seker beter as daai 700cc NX gedoentes. Maar dis voorwaar true adventure daai.wanneer is die nuwe AT dan nou hier?
Klink vir my dis net heuning om die mond smeer.
Honda het nie die guts om 'n ware avontuur motorfiets uit te bring nie, ( oa. met 'n 21" voorwiel ) of praat ek bollie?
. . . maar ek sou graag wou sien dat ons weer Hondas saam op ons roetes sien.
What's with this new strategy of announcing the introduction of a new bike, and then keeping an impatient public waiting for ever to see it on the shop floor?building expectation?
Rumplings indicate this bike may only be available 3rd Quater 2016
Will dig again and post linkRumplings indicate this bike may only be available 3rd Quater 2016
Linky?
The bike is done! Honda is just waiting to release it on the back of a Dakar win.
But reading those links are just speculation nothing official from Honda?My point exactly. Its ALL speculation,rumblings,murmers etc nothing concrete. Honda themselves didnt really confess the existance of a new AT either and have kept there cards very close to there chests. I for one really hope it happens soon.
Gawd I hope not.... know this is a artistic impression but still.:eek7: :puke:
It's a fucken ugly tank!
Relax guys - no need to get all worked-up over a poor photoshop job... ::)
This is 90% PLUS of the real thing ! :deal:
When the sprayed the mud on, they forgot that there won't be any on the front part of the seat where the rider would have been sitting... ::)
Relax guys - no need to get all worked-up over a poor photoshop job... ::)doesn't look that far off a 800cc tenere. i like the aggressiveness. i will be in the waiting line for this bike.
Geek Out Honda Just Patented Its New Adventure Bike
Wes Siler 13 March 2015 9:30 AM Share 17Discuss 1Bookmark Are you as excited for the 2016 Honda Africa Twin as we are? Real dirt performance in a light, affordable, reliable package. Now, we can see nearly the entire thing in this new patent filing.
Thanks to an inside source at Honda, we’ve had an inside line on the Africa Twin for a while now. We were the first to reveal its novel outside-the-frame airbox, along with specs like its 1000cc parallel-twin, dual-clutch transmission and 200kg wet weight.
Then, Honda revealed the Africa Twin at last fall’s EICMA show, just lightly disguised with camouflage and mud.
What’s new in this patent image is our first real look under the bodywork, revealing the final arrangement of that airbox, its relation to the fuel tank and frame and even what the final, disappointingly bulky rear mud guard will look like.
The whole idea with the airbox is to free up room for a decent-size fuel tank, allow that to carry its weight as far-forward as possible and to do all that while giving the bike slim, dirt bike-like proportions the rider will be able to easily grip with their legs.
Here, you can see that mounted behind the fairing and outside the frame, complete with its forward-facing air intake and its route to the engine over the frame and under the front of the tank.
Compared to, say, the class defining BMW R 1200 GS Adventure, the Africa Twin promises to be around 60kg lighter, and will feature ergonomics more akin to a real dirt bike than a large tourer. Those allow the rider to shift their weight towards the front or rear during athletic riding. You should be able to rail this thing around a banked turn like a motocross bike.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Relax guys - no need to get all worked-up over a poor photoshop job... ::)doesn't look that far off a 800cc tenere. i like the aggressiveness. i will be in the waiting line for this bike.
Relax guys - no need to get all worked-up over a poor photoshop job... ::)This is only talk for the next 5 years and then it will be just another crosstourer. :dousing:
. http://www.gizmodo.com.au/2015/03/honda-just-patented-its-new-adventure-bike/ (http://www.gizmodo.com.au/2015/03/honda-just-patented-its-new-adventure-bike/)
"Compared to, say, the class defining BMW R 1200 GS Adventure, the Africa Twin promises to be around 60kg lighter, and will feature ergonomics more akin to a real dirt bike than a large tourer. Those allow the rider to shift their weight towards the front or rear during athletic riding. You should be able to rail this thing around a banked turn like a motocross bike."
:imaposer: :imaposer:
"Compared to, say, the class defining BMW R 1200 GS Adventure, the Africa Twin promises to be around 60kg lighter, and will feature ergonomics more akin to a real dirt bike than a large tourer. Those allow the rider to shift their weight towards the front or rear during athletic riding. You should be able to rail this thing around a banked turn like a motocross bike."
:imaposer: :imaposer:
Well I'm confused ???At best this thing is gonna be between the old Africa Twin and a Triumph Tiger ::)
(http://i.kinja-img.com/gawker-media/image/upload/t_original/bokrug8z0dvh12wdfdgl.jpg)
Does nobody here have a contact with HONDA to get us some proper info on when what and howLocal Honda dealers know zip. Only consenses is that it should be available 3rd quarter 2016.
So Honda is already making excuses for the fact that except for the styling, it will not be a hardcore adventure bike and they are blaming it on legislation and homologation issues, rather than admitting that posers present a more lucrative market than enthusiasts.
...but I can see why most people sell them again at2965kms.
2619kms
It can still work as a twin? Both the KLE500 and Versys 650 are both brilliant little twin motors, just need to get the whole packaging correct around it.
The 650 PT versys motor is a peach. Set it up for even more low down and mid range torque and power and will still have a 170 km/ h top. Less than the current 190. Easily cruising at 140. Has a big radiator though - needs it too.
Somebody give us a modern 800cc two-stroke DS.......
It can still work as a twin? Both the KLE500 and Versys 650 are both brilliant little twin motors, just need to get the whole packaging correct around it.
This is, as far as I am concerned, where the secret to a near-perfect D/S bike lies, a compact and peppy twin of no more than 650cc, in a chassis that is similar to a 690, but
with more thought put into luggage space and fuel.
:drif:
dan is much too old for a 800cc t-stroke :biggrin: :peepwall:
he is eyeing this red rocket gives you wings bike....
So Honda is already making excuses for the fact that except for the styling, it will not be a hardcore adventure bike and they are blaming it on legislation and homologation issues, rather than admitting that posers present a more lucrative market than enthusiasts.
Honda’s Head of New Bike ?Development Shinji Aoyama told MCN:
"To make a street legal bike today is pretty difficult to make it look real off-road and still be able to meet homologation regulations. This causes some big problems as it will not meet homologation and this is something that can be caused just by off-road tyres."
In spite of this, we can still expect the final production version of the bike to be heavily influenced by rally style.
MCN’s source close to the Japanese firm previously told MCN:
"This is an all-new bike and the idea is to bring out a bike that combines the newest technology, link it to the Dakar Rally bike but all the while keeping an eye on what the Africa Twin means for Honda and the history of that bike."[/i]
Don't want to spoil the wet dream here, but it seems to be just another heavy, hi-tech bike.
CRF1000L Africa Twin.
Sounds good does it not? ... that will shut the talking heads up that it does not exist.
Can't wait to see it in the flesh!
CRF1000L Africa Twin.
Sounds good does it not? ... that will shut the talking heads up that it does not exist.
Can't wait to see it in the flesh!
Fixed it for you.
Glad they stuck with the Africa Twin name. Some may call it sacrilegious but to me it just means they have a legend to live up to; they should (and hopefully will) do a proper job of it.
I really have to test-ride this machine... just hope it is not over-computerised...
Look, it will not be light. 1000cc's and comfort comes with a weight penalty.
It has some very, very stiff competition in the likes of the GS LC, the gaggle of 1000cc-plus KTM's. Triumphs, 800GS, Superten.
Will be interesting.
Unfortunately Honda has a reputation for building overweight bikes especially when it comes to their adventure bikes.
The parallel twin should be lighter than the Vs and boxers.
That was also my thinking. Then if you take the standard clutch option you also save weight.
In my mind it is much like a 800GS increased to 1000cc.
Take the 180kg dry 800gs and add weight for the 1000cc engine (not much) and add honda engineering weight then would also predict (or hope for) around 200-220kg
Unfortunately Honda has a reputation for building overweight bikes especially when it comes to their adventure bikes.
This is unfortunately true.
On the plus side; their bikes are usually well engineered.
If they can make it weigh no more that 220 kg I'll be surprised. If they can keep it at around 200 kg (what a 990 weighs) I'll do cartwheels.
I dont think a 990 weighs 200.
More like 220 dry or something like that. My 950 is kakswaar. :biggrin:
I dont think a 990 weighs 200.
More like 220 dry or something like that. My 950 is kakswaar. :biggrin:
Yip, Mine came in at 247kg with 2/3 fuel and a friend's R weigh 240kg with full fuel.
Both with crash bars and pannier racks.
Wonder what the dry weight would be.
In Honda's patent application drawings (which I can't find now) it became apparet that they have moved the air box up and forward; it actually sits half way outside of the frame. The fuel tank then takes the place of where an air box normally goes; low, further back and between the frame spars.
Apparently this allows the rider to sit much further forward which will improve handling on loose surfaces.
My next bike methingks
.....one of the kids aint going to varsity >:D
That was also my thinking. Then if you take the standard clutch option you also save weight.
In my mind it is much like a 800GS increased to 1000cc.
Take the 180kg dry 800gs and add weight for the 1000cc engine (not much) and add honda engineering weight then would also predict (or hope for) around 200-220kg
Anyone notice on the engine diagram that the valve train is the old school adjuster screw and nut style and not shims. Interesting!!!
I actually can't think of any modern bike that doesn't use shims?
Anyone notice on the engine diagram that the valve train is the old school adjuster screw and nut style and not shims. Interesting!!!
Wrong picture in the right context. That pic is from the NC700/750 range and a totally different engine.
They only call it an Africa Twin to sell more of them.
Other than that I cannot fathom why it's called that.
Its what they said... a revival of the name. Its not a revival of the bike... it can never be, unless they take the old AT and modernize it.
The new bike is beautiful though, but its just another big tourer.
Its what they said... a revival of the name. Its not a revival of the bike... it can never be, unless they take the old AT and modernize it.
Agreed, although I believe they're punting this as a very off-road oriented machine. Note which bikes shared the stage with it at the concept unveiling.The new bike is beautiful though, but its just another big tourer.
Beautiful yes, but I don't believe this will fit in the same mould as the GSA or SuperTen. That would put it too close to the CrossTourer.
I foresee shorter gearing, smaller tank, longer suspension travel, shorter rake and possibly a girly, lightweight subframe. Basically an enduro bike capable of distance on highways rather than a sport tourer capable of some off-roading.
:drif: imagine with that inline motor they keep the weight to 180-200 kgs... collective wild dog shit yourself, then sell your kids/wife.
Looks the bomb, but I am sure it is probably going to be a R160k bike stock.
Agreed, although I believe they're punting this as a very off-road oriented machine. Note which bikes shared the stage with it at the concept unveiling.The new bike is beautiful though, but its just another big tourer.
Beautiful yes, but I don't believe this will fit in the same mould as the GSA or SuperTen. That would put it too close to the CrossTourer.
I foresee shorter gearing, smaller tank, longer suspension travel, shorter rake and possibly a girly, lightweight subframe. Basically an enduro bike capable of distance on highways rather than a sport tourer capable of some off-roading.
Yes... love it or hate it...another F800GS.
:drif: imagine with that inline motor they keep the weight to 180-200 kgs... collective wild dog shit yourself, then sell your kids/wife.
Isjy JAGS????? 800GS my gat man :imaposer: :imaposer: :imaposer:
Yeah but a 2015 tech F1000GS. I'm in :thumleft::drif: imagine with that inline motor they keep the weight to 180-200 kgs... collective wild dog shit yourself, then sell your kids/wife.
:spitcoffee: Flip it I laughed at this post. "Collective Wild dog shit yourself" - :imaposer: So true. If they got this thing under 200kg with switchable ABS, 21" front wheel and good subframe they might as well call it the Honda Wild Dog.
Isjy JAGS????? 800GS my gat man :imaposer: :imaposer: :imaposer:
Looking at what Honda are innovating of late, I'd say this bike is going to be awesome and it certainly looks the part. Keep in mind the NCX series is exactly what it was meant to be and arguably the best at it. Honda have depicted some clear intent with this model and I for one think they will live up to it.
Speculation:
Weight: 185kg dry
HP: 115 - 130hp
Decent subframe - welded metal.
Not all 800's are alike. Look at the Triumph and GS800, direct competitors but the bikes are very different both with advantages in their respective corners.
When the original Africa Twin was born, it was the dakar racer's influence that drove the design and now history is repeating itself, Honda are at it again with the Dakar and I believe this bike will be top of it's game again, potentially unrivalled in a class of it's own. If KTM would build a 750 V-Twin Rallye Replica, I think they too would do very well with it. At heart, everyone wants to be a racer. What wins on Sunday, sells on Monday....
Looking at what Honda are innovating of late, I'd say this bike is going to be awesome and it certainly looks the part. Keep in mind the NCX series is exactly what it was meant to be and arguably the best at it. Honda have depicted some clear intent with this model and I for one think they will live up to it.
Speculation:
Not all 800's are alike. Look at the Triumph and GS800, direct competitors but the bikes are very different both with advantages in their respective corners.
When the original Africa Twin was born, it was the dakar racer's influence that drove the design and now history is repeating itself, Honda are at it again with the Dakar and I believe this bike will be top of it's game again, potentially unrivalled in a class of it's own. If KTM would build a 750 V-Twin Rallye Replica, I think they too would do very well with it. At heart, everyone wants to be a racer. What wins on Sunday, sells on Monday....
Speculation:
Honda always gives curb weight. So 200kg's wet will be awesome. (NON DCT i assume) DCT will add an extra 20KG's - Although...this went from kak idea to - ok they added an anti-stall now, it's pretty cool...kinda like a Rekluse.
Guess on price? R170 000?
Speculation:
Honda always gives curb weight. So 200kg's wet will be awesome. (NON DCT i assume) DCT will add an extra 20KG's - Although...this went from kak idea to - ok they added an anti-stall now, it's pretty cool...kinda like a Rekluse.
Yep I recon you in the ballpark. i would say around the 155 to 160k mqrk as in intro price
Speculation:
I can't speculate on price at all, I have no idea.
I spoke to Honda Sandton this morning and the sales oke told me they would be available in February next year but I bet if I phone again tomorrow, it will be a different date so I'm not holding my breath. I'd sure like to own me a big ass CRF though... ;D
I like the vids
Speculation:
This is not the first time this type of speculation raged on the forum.
When the Super Tenere was on the horizon we heard exactly this same argument.
And then the KTM 1090 also turned out to be fatter and roadier.
I found this comparative table:
http://www.advpulse.com/adv-bikes/new-honda-crf1000-africa-twin-adventure-bike-for-2015/ (http://www.advpulse.com/adv-bikes/new-honda-crf1000-africa-twin-adventure-bike-for-2015/)
Jip.
Although impractical from a luggage point of view, those rally pipes looks the shit.
Jip.
Although impractical from a luggage point of view, those rally pipes looks the shit.
They also melt numberplates
Two teaser pics combined
Is it just me........ or does that exhaust box/pipe looks a bit like an after-thought?
Just like the original Africa-twin.......
...pics...
All we have so far are the concept model, artists’ impressions, “leaked” information, photoshopped images, speculation, some teazers from Honda that don’t divulge any real information, and several different official launch dates. Nobody has seen the actual bike or knows what the real specifications are. I’ll wait for Honda to release the facts before getting excited.you don't buy the you tube video of the actual bike being ridden?
At the moment it is still as real as the Honda EVO6 and the Yamaha 900 Teneré.
All we have so far are the concept model, artists’ impressions, “leaked” information, photoshopped images, speculation, some teazers from Honda that don’t divulge any real information, and several different official launch dates. Nobody has seen the actual bike or knows what the real specifications are. I’ll wait for Honda to release the facts before getting excited.
Pictures sneaked from some patent application. The prototype design got me really interested, this one leaves me a bit underwhelmed with the stepped seat, silly high back end and seating position inside the bike, rather than on top. I also do not fancy crashing this thing - I have to say Tenere has much better thought out protection with those plastic bumpers on the side.
All we have so far are the concept model, artists’ impressions, “leaked” information, photoshopped images, speculation, some teazers from Honda that don’t divulge any real information, and several different official launch dates. Nobody has seen the actual bike or knows what the real specifications are. I’ll wait for Honda to release the facts before getting excited.you don't buy the you tube video of the actual bike being ridden?
wish i was on the honda marketing team. sit back and watch it go viral. :biggrin:All we have so far are the concept model, artists’ impressions, “leaked” information, photoshopped images, speculation, some teazers from Honda that don’t divulge any real information, and several different official launch dates. Nobody has seen the actual bike or knows what the real specifications are. I’ll wait for Honda to release the facts before getting excited.you don't buy the you tube video of the actual bike being ridden?
I don't have any doubt that the bike is real. I was the first to report the rumours of its existence
http://www.wilddog.za.net/forum/index.php?topic=151443.0 (http://www.wilddog.za.net/forum/index.php?topic=151443.0)
All I'm saying is that most of what we know about it at this stage is based on speculation.
A comparative table:
http://www.advpulse.com/adv-bikes/new-honda-crf1000-africa-twin-adventure-bike-for-2015/ (http://www.advpulse.com/adv-bikes/new-honda-crf1000-africa-twin-adventure-bike-for-2015/)
Seems like $13 800 US......
(http://i93.photobucket.com/albums/l73/rlkat/crf_others_zpsr2jklscj.gif) (http://s93.photobucket.com/user/rlkat/media/crf_others_zpsr2jklscj.gif.html)
(those huge GS type ships are just OTT and for people needing to compensate),
Pictures sneaked from some patent application. The prototype design got me really interested, this one leaves me a bit underwhelmed with the stepped seat, silly high back end and seating position inside the bike, rather than on top. I also do not fancy crashing this thing - I have to say Tenere has much better thought out protection with those plastic bumpers on the side.
::) I beg to differ ! That to me looks like a very well thought-out design - a real off-road capable bike with high ground clearance combined with a lower "inside" seating position is what most people were begging for for years! One of the most popular criticisms against the original AT was exactely the flat uncomfortable seat... :deal: :thumleft:
Interesting to read through the posts. It seems that the bike most describe here and would like to see must be a Honda branded BMWGS800, or the XCX.
:laughing4: :laughing4: :imaposer: :imaposer: :laughing4: :laughing4:
Oh wait, were you serious? ???
Nope ...not what we are looking for by a long shot.
I think looking at this picture that the current 800 in both BMW and Triumph stables will be more what you guys are after.:deal:
I understand that everyone here is hoping for a KTM990 with reliability, but have anyone ever here tested a KTM990 back to back with a post 2012 GS800 or a XCX? I have spoken to a guy who rode the XC straight after selling his 990 (maybe he is here on the forum - Jaque? ) and he liked the XC more and said there is not much between the 990 and the XC - But I recently read a comparitive test between the GS800 and the XC (Before XCX) and according to the 'tester 'not much between the GS and the XC...!!!!
I would of course also love to have the new AT, and I could not care less if it come close to a 990 or not as I do not have the talent to ride the bike like a pro -
I understand that everyone here is hoping for a KTM990 with reliability, but have anyone ever here tested a KTM990 back to back with a post 2012 GS800 or a XCX? I have spoken to a guy who rode the XC straight after selling his 990 (maybe he is here on the forum - Jaque? ) and he liked the XC more and said there is not much between the 990 and the XC - But I recently read a comparitive test between the GS800 and the XC (Before XCX) and according to the 'tester 'not much between the GS and the XC...!!!!
Fuck you and tell the tester to get a life. :peepwall:
Nah, only joking. Yeah there has been talk about reliability but I would say reliability of a 990 is fairly high. (950 maybe a bit less but still good imho)
Yes I have swapped back and forth on one ride between a 800GS and my 990. Worlds of difference. To me the 800 does not come close to the 990 in performance, suspension and giving you a hard on. ;)
Some say that the 800 has advantages like less weight and they feel it has a lower cog.
Bottom line is that we don't know yet what the AT will be like or how good the suspension will be or how the engine power will feel, etc.I would of course also love to have the new AT, and I could not care less if it come close to a 990 or not as I do not have the talent to ride the bike like a pro -
You don't have to be a pro to appreciate a well designed machine. As an example a novice hitting something smallish in the road with two different bikes the one with good suspension will give him the better chance of dealing with the situation and walking away.
Nah, only joking. Yeah there has been talk about reliability but I would say reliability of a 990 is fairly high. (950 maybe a bit less but still good imho)
Well I am no expert but I like a bike to be as light as possible, with as little weight over the front and enough power to get to the fun rides quickly but still have a chuckable, flexible bike. The BMW and Triumphs (as well as my Wee) all push a lot of weight forwards (great for high speed stability).Certainly I'm no expert either..but in reading the quoted line, then you should in fact love the characteristics of the F800GS.
The whole difference on the F800GS between the Vstrom - (I also had one) The Triumph 800XC (rode one on highway traffic and some dirt (sandy)) and Transalp (I had one) a 990 (rode 2) and some other bikes is the fact that the weight sits low and center and not at all over the front and on top like those other bikes you mentioned. Also the newer 2013 and up bikes has the WP front suspension and if you are not overweight has a very good feeling suspension and compared as well to all the bikes with the exclusion of the 690 and 990, which both imho did have better feeling suspension for the rough stuff. it feels very neutral and flickable for it's size.
In fact even with the F800's 21" front wheel I feel it corners and changes direction much better than my Vstrom or Alp ever did. Tar or Offroad ,and don't get me wrong, I'm a huge Vstrom and Transalp/AfricaTwin fan.
If the new Africa Twin, has the suspension and grunt of the 990 and the weight distribution and narrow feeling as well as the seating position (for me anyway) of the F800GS- then the Africa Twin will sell a boatload and the others have a competitor on their hands, cause it looks good as well.
Really some ridiculous; subjective and perceptive posts ..... ::)
Rather stay with your 800GS's & the like - the new AT maybe too much bike for you.... :patch:
Any WDer ordered one yet ?
Speak up please, lets hear your motivation why you did so.
I've tried but they're not taking orders just yet. Our names are just on an "I'm very interested" list...which we hope will be transferred to a proper waiting list in time.
I've "ordered" based on:
- I'm a bit of a Honda fanboy but the CrossTourer was not for me.
- Honda's intention to make this a fairly lightweight off-road oriented machine.
- I've been looking for a modern, taller, bigger bike but 1200cc just seems a bit much.
- The numbers we (think we) know so far: 100hp, 200kg, R170k.
I would only confirm an order with a lot more detail and preferably a review. They're hitting the EU a good 3 months before they get here so I'm sure I'll have plenty reading material in time ;D
I've tried but they're not taking orders just yet. Our names are just on an "I'm very interested" list...which we hope will be transferred to a proper waiting list in time.
I've "ordered" based on:
- I'm a bit of a Honda fanboy but the CrossTourer was not for me.
- Honda's intention to make this a fairly lightweight off-road oriented machine.
- I've been looking for a modern, taller, bigger bike but 1200cc just seems a bit much.
- The numbers we (think we) know so far: 100hp, 200kg, R170k.
I would only confirm an order with a lot more detail and preferably a review. They're hitting the EU a good 3 months before they get here so I'm sure I'll have plenty reading material in time ;D
Mmmmm. Sounds good, the 200 kg empty ? no fuel ?
I'll have a look at ADVrider forum, ek wonder wat ook daarop gese word.
Is it just me or are the latest DS bikes all starting to look the same...
Got to love it!
Is it just me or are the latest DS bikes all starting to look the same...+1 Looks very much like a Triumph or Tenere
Really some ridiculous; subjective and perceptive posts ..... ::)Indeed.... esp from the extremely informed people that has ridden this new Africa Twin already...... oh..... wait.......
Rather stay with your 800GS's & the like - the new AT maybe too much bike for you.... :patch:
There has never been such a buzz around a new bike, and Honda has dragged it out for as long as they have, I really hope it is worth the wait when it eventually arrives at our shores.... Personally I think they have overdone the whole marketing thing, other manufacturers launch exciting models all the time but for some reason Honda created this hype and I see no bike yet. Patience my ass!
Amateur Photoshop
I think this is what it may look like
And below, what I would do to it:
Paint front mudguard traditional solid white
Paint rear plastics white
Fit knobblies
Add rally slip-on
Amateur Photoshop
I think this is what it may look like
And below, what I would do to it:
Paint front mudguard traditional solid white
Paint rear plastics white
Fit knobblies
Add rally slip-on
A few more.
Paint it orange
Fit WP suspension
Insert a 950cc carburetor V-Twin motor.
Oh wait...
Paint it orange
Fit WP suspension
Insert a 950cc carburetor V-Twin motor.
Oh wait...
Realistically the bench mark is the KTM950SEOh please Glenn, as a adventure bike, really ..... what's next Dom gonna tell us the HP2 is a substitute for a GSA. SE is a completely different animal, in no way can you compare them.
I dont honestly think it will reach it
But....
The question is how close they get.
I am hoping they get close.
Oh please Glenn, as a adventure bike, really ..... what's next Dom gonna tell us the HP2 is a substitute for a GSA. SE is a completely different animal, in no way can you compare them.
Realistically the bench mark is the KTM950SEOh please Glenn, as a adventure bike, really ..... what's next Dom gonna tell us the HP2 is a substitute for a GSA. SE is a completely different animal, in no way can you compare them.
I dont honestly think it will reach it
But....
The question is how close they get.
I am hoping they get close.
Oh please Glenn, as a adventure bike, really ..... what's next Dom gonna tell us the HP2 is a substitute for a GSA. SE is a completely different animal, in no way can you compare them.
Define adventure. I wouldn't want to ride to Cape Town on an SE, but if I had a week and was avoiding roads altogether then sure.
We don't know how off-road oriented this machine is actually going to be. They can't market it too closely to the Crosstourer, which is softer than the GSA/Superten/Explorer, but if they aim at those bikes they'll still be too close. So, MORE off-road than those...1190R? Still too close to keep the Crosstourer safe.
I think this bike will sit between the HP2/950SE and the 1190R...I hope.
i think its all in the name. CRF already tells you what it is going to be, like the rest of the CRF family. now the adventure part? hmmm subframe might solve adventurising issues. i mean it certainly wont be taken around the world by anyone soon im sure but aggressive fun with reasonable touring, and for that you only need a twin to be comfortable in my opinion. then it may just be a honda SE kind of thing.
i think its all in the name. CRF already tells you what it is going to be, like the rest of the CRF family
guess you couldn't have picked the CRF450... no its easier to be dour. :deal: :imaposer:i think its all in the name. CRF already tells you what it is going to be, like the rest of the CRF family
It will probably lean towards the CRF250L in that family...... Soft and heavy
I reckon this bike has generated more duplicate threads on WD than the 1200LC and 1190 combined.
guess you couldn't have picked the CRF450... no its easier to be dour. :deal: :imaposer:
I belief by comparing it to the 950SE we are speculating more correctly - it will most probably be a 950SE, but just adventurised, ie more practical, more comfort, more loadable, more range, more protection, more safety and off course more technology AND lower maintanance...
Ja-ja, we all know new Hondas leak (oil, water, brake-fluid, etc.) so what's the big deal? :pot: :peepwall:
I see another Varedero.
Maybe replacing the Varedero but in no means close to being the same class of bike.I see another Varedero.
Highly unlikely. The Crosstourer is the new Vara.
Fair enough. My point was that they can't design/market this as another Vara as it would be far too close to the Crosstourer. Only BMW can get away with that shit.Maybe replacing the Varedero but in no means close to being the same class of bike.I see another Varedero.
Highly unlikely. The Crosstourer is the new Vara.
See the new model does have similar slots in the side as the Crosstourer, so maybe they have already provided for a the Twin to use the same paniers as the Crosstourer.
:sip: Lyk nie veel anders as my 650 TransAlp nie, wat hoogte en profiel betref>
I get a distinct feeling of Déjŕ vu about this bike. Before Honda released the NR750, there was also a protracted period of leaked information, spy shots, artists’ impressions and general speculation. Everybody knew for certain that the bike would have oval pistons, eight valves per cylinder, 200hp, weigh 180kg and would top 300kmh.
When it was eventually released, it weighed more than a Hayabusa, had less power than a modern 600 and battled to do more than 250. I will wait until the bike is on the showroom floors before believing anything I read.
Don't know what all the moaning is all about, it doesn't for a fact look like a CRF but it definitely looks similar to the familiar Africa Twin shape.
first new AT wheelie pic ;D
also hope it is weighed down to max spec because it looks LOW
In that pic it looks like it should be compared with the new Strom rather than the 990.
It looks crap
Me
I cant believe people are putting down their names on heresay, unconfirmed stats and no proper pictures of the bike !? Is it just me ?
WTF?
The seat height and clearance looks terrible!
Name. Off. List.
In that pic it looks like it should be compared with the new Strom rather than the 990.
::) ::)It looks crap
Yes - almost as crap as a 950/990 KTM; Adventure/S/R or SE ....Me
Yes, me too, but I'm afraid between the few of us the sales wouldn't make the development profitable to the manufacturer...
well at least it can do a wheelie ;D
WTF?
The seat height and clearance looks terrible!
Name. Off. List.
:thumleft: I see a bad wing rising... after all the hype. Reminds me of the 'New African Twin' claims of the CT? With its ST1300 motor... :deal:
I cant believe people are putting down their names on heresay, unconfirmed stats and no proper pictures of the bike !? Is it just me ?
Question is now: Will it be better than the 800xcx at the same price?
Well ok then, heard before of deposits that must be paid to be first in lineI cant believe people are putting down their names on heresay, unconfirmed stats and no proper pictures of the bike !? Is it just me ?
Putting names down is not the same as putting a deposit down. I'm first on the list at Honda Sandton but if the bike turns out to be a lemon there's no obligation to purchase.
However if the bike turns out to be a peach then I'm first on the list... :deal:
Well ok then, heard before of deposits that must be paid to be first in line
That's true. The problem is Honda ZA doesn't have confirmed pricing yet so they can't take deposits :-\
I was assured that the sales guys will be working their way through their current list the moment they get pricing; after that then yes, first to pay deposit is ACTUALLY first on the REAL waiting list.
I see, you are into google images. Let me play along for a bit:laughing4: :imaposer: :lol8: :o ;D :biggrin:
(https://scontent-fra3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpf1/v/t1.0-9/p180x540/1912282_913421592052172_4854761995162745837_n.jpg?oh=7680fdbb963affb57fe9ce560b4cdf77&oe=56015F29)These magazines make me laugh sometimes. Pic look familiar?
These magazines make me laugh sometimes. Pic look familiar?
Is it just me as I cannot see any photo's in that post..?
Moet fout wees joukant.
Ek sien alles.
Morning WD's...
Here is the link for those that cannot see the pics....
http://www.motorcyclenews.com/news/new-bikes/2015/may/africa-twin-spied-on-the-road/ (http://www.motorcyclenews.com/news/new-bikes/2015/may/africa-twin-spied-on-the-road/)
I want and will have one ..... Cannot have a 660 Tenere next to my 650R...
Regards
Joe
Honda man ..... and proud of it.... 8) 8)
Kyk, lapnaai jy doptril .... copy and paste van motorcyclenews.com
I test-ridden the VFR1200X, twice, before I bought the GSA. Lovely bike but priced the same as the GS but offers less in terms of electronics, etc. Bike also felt smaller than the GS and I wanted a bigger bike for touring. Comparing aftersales on Honda and BMW is like chalk and cheese...Morning WD's...
http://www.motorcyclenews.com/news/new-bikes/2015/may/africa-twin-spied-on-the-road/ (http://www.motorcyclenews.com/news/new-bikes/2015/may/africa-twin-spied-on-the-road/)
Regards
Joe
They may not be the most exciting manufacturer - BUT QUALITY IS THE LASTING IMPRESSION - always striving for perfection !!! No other bike manufacturer comes even close!!!
The beautiful but totally over-looked VFR1200X is a classic example ... :deal: Unfortunately people buy bikes on perceptions/badge and spec-sheets ...
I test-ridden the VFR1200X, twice, before I bought the GSA. Lovely bike but priced the same as the GS but offers less in terms of electronics, etc. Bike also felt smaller than the GS and I wanted a bigger bike for touring. Comparing aftersales on Honda and BMW is like chalk and cheese...Morning WD's...
Regards
Joe
They may not be the most exciting manufacturer - BUT QUALITY IS THE LASTING IMPRESSION - always striving for perfection !!! No other bike manufacturer comes even close!!!
The beautiful but totally over-looked VFR1200X is a classic example ... :deal: Unfortunately people buy bikes on perceptions/badge and spec-sheets ...
cocky + computers = cockupIs it just me as I cannot see any photo's in that post..?
cocky + computers = :lamer:
I do not see Honda releasing a HP2 / 950SE contender as long as I have whatever I was trying to remember.... 8)
A few photoshops from the interwebz. I really hope they make a Rothmans Special version, but it's highly unlikely as smoking is now just about punishable by stoning. ;)
(http://www.motorrad-bilder.at/slideshows/291/012742/Honda_CRF1000_Africa_Twin_white.jpg)
(http://www.motorrad-bilder.at/slideshows/291/012742/Honda_CRF1000_Africa_Twin_brown.jpg)
(http://www.motorrad-bilder.at/slideshows/291/012742/Honda_CRF1000_Africa_Twin_black.jpg)
(http://www.motorrad-bilder.at/slideshows/291/012742/Honda_CRF1000_Africa_Twin_oldschool.jpg)
(http://www.motorrad-bilder.at/slideshows/291/012742/Honda_CRF1000_Africa_Twin_Rothmans.jpg)
I want one in black please!!!! :drif: :drif: :drif:
(https://scontent-iad3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xft1/v/t1.0-9/11427241_848037271899130_5216956961302545792_n.jpg?oh=45f94fb3fc306b364ee4b17ecbd525b6&oe=561E96E6)
Here is a link to ADVrider.com. The video further down has been edited to remove all the talking.
Mods, please, couldn't you just bring the big thread from the Honda section back to the General one? It will prevent duplication and confusion and anyway this bike is not out yet, and the discussion can make for good traffic here.+1
I think it would simplify things greatly.
Mods, please, couldn't you just bring the big thread from the Honda section back to the General one? It will prevent duplication and confusion and anyway this bike is not out yet, and the discussion can make for good traffic here.
I think it would simplify things greatly.
My Tenere at about 210 kg wet is already way too heavy, I've hoped Honda will match it. If those weights are right, I'm most probably out - will still have a look, but may need to start looking elsewhere (common Yamaha!)
210kg wet and 1000cc? Good luck with that.
XRV750 - 218kg wet
Transalp 700 - 214kg dry
F800GS - 214kg wet
KTM 1050Adv - 230kg wet
I could go on but you get the point.
210kg wet and 1000cc? Good luck with that.
XRV750 - 218kg wet
Transalp 700 - 214kg dry
F800GS - 214kg wet
KTM 1050Adv - 230kg wet
I could go on but you get the point.
yeah, it's coming in too heavy.
Don't forget what magic the test riders have. They make it look easy on those big pigs.
Why couldn't AT weight at about F800 GS level? It's what - 8-9 years more modern, power-wise in the same ballpark (9 hp more) and how much does the additional 200 cc of air weight?
English Honda rep doing interview, Frenchman is the test rider and the Japanese engineers who can speak a single word of English. No wonder when everyone asked for "light", "dirt worthy" and "off road" some things fell through the cracks or am I being too harsh :peepwall:
http://www.advpulse.com/adv-bikes/heres-what-its-like-to-ride-the-new-africa-twin/ (http://www.advpulse.com/adv-bikes/heres-what-its-like-to-ride-the-new-africa-twin/)
About the weight why make it a 1000cc ? Bike of that size will never be light or or be off road capable for us average joe's. They should have built a 650 or 750 twin and save at least 30 kg's.
They are building cars with smaller engines, more frugal and weighs less but it seems when it comes to DS bikes the guy with the biggest displacement and HP wins :P And don't say it's so you can do tar and pillion then please go and buy a Honda Crosstourer :deal:About the weight why make it a 1000cc ? Bike of that size will never be light or or be off road capable for us average joe's. They should have built a 650 or 750 twin and save at least 30 kg's.
I'm with you - I would gladly go for one but nobody makes one (Yamaha can you get your ass moving on XT700z, please). There was a speculation that radically low weight (for a 1000cc) would be the game changer Honda talked about. If those published weights are correct, it is not. The game changer seems to be a Playstation gearbox with no clutch overdrive - really dandy for commuters and tourists.
Lightweight, affordable, affordable. Pick two.Why couldn't AT weight at about F800 GS level? It's what - 8-9 years more modern, power-wise in the same ballpark (9 hp more) and how much does the additional 200 cc of air weight?
14kg apparently ;D
I'm assuming more oil, bigger tank, bigger alternator, beefier oil pump, hopefully beefier forks, probably bigger frame and subframe...it's just an altogether bigger bike than the F800.
Also the F700GS is nearly 10kg lighter than the F800GS and they have the same motor. What's that about?
They are building cars with smaller engines, more frugal and weighs less but it seems when it comes to DS bikes the guy with the biggest displacement and HP wins :P And don't say it's so you can do tar and pillion then please go and buy a Honda Crosstourer :deal:
1. Lightweight and reliable for me please.
2. Old R1200GS with a drive shaft is dry 203 kg and 229kg wet with 200 cc more. Where is those 14 kgs?
Look, if the weight doesn't bother and you like this bike, go for it and enjoy. I will have to continue looking for something to modify - or just ride my Tenere until something more suitable comes up.
They are building cars with smaller engines, more frugal and weighs less but it seems when it comes to DS bikes the guy with the biggest displacement and HP wins :P And don't say it's so you can do tar and pillion then please go and buy a Honda Crosstourer :deal:
Any noteworthy weight savings on modern cars come from building engines from lighter materials, switching to monocoque construction and making body panels from Aluminium or plastic rather than steel, and even in those cases you're saving single digit percentages.
It IS to do tar and a pillion...and luggage...and off road...
If a bike can focus on one thing then it can make sacrifices and be lighter. What does a double cab weigh compared to a 3 series or Willies Jeep?
The stupidly advanced BMW S1000RR weighs 197kg dry with frighteningly fragile carbon, magnesium and aluminium all over the place.
15kg extra gives you spoked wheels, an actual subframe, a metal bashplate, a pillion seat made for actual people, suspension with three times the travel and designed to take a beating. Not bad in my books.1. Lightweight and reliable for me please.
2. Old R1200GS with a drive shaft is dry 203 kg and 229kg wet with 200 cc more. Where is those 14 kgs?
Look, if the weight doesn't bother and you like this bike, go for it and enjoy. I will have to continue looking for something to modify - or just ride my Tenere until something more suitable comes up.
1. Better start saving
2. No ABS so you're comparing to the 208kg Africa Twin but still, BMW did bloody well keeping that bike light. Engine + frame + wheels. Done.
Weight certainly does bother me but we have to be reasonable. Honda could throw a magnesium and carbon fibre at this thing and get it under 200kg but it would cost at least R30k more and no-one would buy it.
No reason a bike like the XT660Z should weigh the same as a KTM 950 twin. Modern bikes can be made to be lightweight, it is just not a priority for most it seems. Fact remains lighter weight gives you more confidence and makes the bike more enjoyable offroad. When the fun stuff starts it means I would have to turn around or stuff up the bike and myself. I just dont see why all new dual sport bikes needs to be 1000 and or be a fatty.They are building cars with smaller engines, more frugal and weighs less but it seems when it comes to DS bikes the guy with the biggest displacement and HP wins :P And don't say it's so you can do tar and pillion then please go and buy a Honda Crosstourer :deal:
Any noteworthy weight savings on modern cars come from building engines from lighter materials, switching to monocoque construction and making body panels from Aluminium or plastic rather than steel, and even in those cases you're saving single digit percentages.
It IS to do tar and a pillion...and luggage...and off road...
If a bike can focus on one thing then it can make sacrifices and be lighter. What does a double cab weigh compared to a 3 series or Willies Jeep?
The stupidly advanced BMW S1000RR weighs 197kg dry with frighteningly fragile carbon, magnesium and aluminium all over the place.
15kg extra gives you spoked wheels, an actual subframe, a metal bashplate, a pillion seat made for actual people, suspension with three times the travel and designed to take a beating. Not bad in my boo1. Lightweight and reliable for me please.
1. Better start saving
2. No ABS so you're comparing to the 208kg Africa Twin but still, BMW did bloody well keeping that bike light. Engine + frame + wheels. Done.
Weight certainly does bother me but we have to be reasonable. Honda could throw a magnesium and carbon fibre at this thing and get it under 200kg but it would cost at least R30k more and no-one would buy it.
Curious about the "Unicam System"Been in the CRF 450 for ages
http://powersports.honda.com/experience/articles/090111c0811a9fc2.aspx (http://powersports.honda.com/experience/articles/090111c0811a9fc2.aspx)
I don't think they will be able to do that at under R100k as the 660Z must be over R100k by now or close. The price of the twin motor will push the price up by quite a bit. I like the idea though.
Is that adjustable suspension I see....?Yup, the Showa front forks are described as being "fully adjustable", while the rear only has "hydraulic spring-preload adjustment".
Im liking this bike. Looks good. R140K puts it right into 800GS and Tiger 800 bracket
<words of wisdom>
Yes! Thank you! Finally someone with their head screwed on straight. I think the price/weight/power/torque numbers are all spot on and, as you say, if any of those numbers were significantly better then there would have been a price and/or reliability sacrifice.
I'm just amazed at how everyone was "Ya ok" with the KTM 1050Adv which has the same power, torque and weight and 45mm less suspension travel, but the AT attracts this criticism.
P.S. Tri-colour with gold wheels for me please, and I'll be ticking the "Performance silencer" option >:D
Sorry - but I really do not understand all the criticism about Power & Weight... as if we are the industry experts!! ::)You have a CRF1000L as your avatar and hence totally biased :biggrin:
To me the spec's says 3 things:
1. It's a Honda - so it must be basically unbreakable....
2. If it was lighter it would either have been "weaker" or too expensive!!
3. If it was more powerful it would have been less reliable - KTM/BMW LC'ish ya know... (although experience have taught me that 1 Honda hp is usually bigger than 1 standard hp ... :peepwall: :peepwall:)
I'm sure the aftermarket will easily extract much more power from that motor, but meanwhile 99% of us wouldn't even be able to exploit remotely everything it has in standard form... :patch:
SO yes - typical Honda they have a conservative approach putting safety; reliability; ease of use and off course quality above "boyhood - wish lists"... O0 ...and by the sound of things at this stage they've added economy and an adrenalin rush that will probably shock the spec sheet brigade ... :peepwall: :pot:
I want the CRF Rally colours in standard spec please!!! :drif: :drif: :drif:
Is that adjustable suspension I see....?Yup, the Showa front forks are described as being "fully adjustable", while the rear only has "hydraulic spring-preload adjustment".
This bike is not better or "new" than any dual sport we have seen to date. To me it looks just like a Triumph or GS 800, cant see why people will fall over there feet to run to the Honda dealership. Yes it's going to be reliable but so is a Toyota Corolla. On the plus side the dash looks pretty rad.
Give that man a Bells :thumleft:This bike is not better or "new" than any dual sport we have seen to date. To me it looks just like a Triumph or GS 800, cant see why people will fall over there feet to run to the Honda dealership. Yes it's going to be reliable but so is a Toyota Corolla. On the plus side the dash looks pretty rad.
I think this is the point most are missing.
We are not saying it's kak. But the press, Honda...etc have been touting this thing as the second coming and the gift to adventure bike kind for a long time now.
Yet...looking at capability and spec other than DCT (Which I still think will be kak for offroad....how do you feather this thing in slow 1st gear type of stuff? Unless is it like a Recluse clutch...in that case I can dig it) it's competing with a 8-9 year old bike thats lighter, almost as powerful from a 200cc less engine, and one thats cheaper to buy and probably cheaper to run in say a 5 year ownership period with A LOT more aftermarket and spares available.
The Honda fans is creaming their pants at the specs saying this is like a whole new offroad marvel...I read it...then re-read it to see what I'm missing.... yeah it's a cool bike and I'm also excited to have more competition and it will be good but...really,....it's kind of a same old same same bike imho.
The ONLY thing that makes me sit up and say yeah man thats cool, is the adjustable forks and the looks.
So unless you absolutely HAVE to have a Honda.... other manufacturers BMW, KTM, Triumph have similar bikes in their pen for years.
Honda played catchup...and ONLY did that.
They caught up. They didn't surpass anyone here.
Do I want to ride one. Hell yes. I esp like the White one.
P.S. Tri-colour with gold wheels for me please, and I'll be ticking the "Performance silencer" option >:D
We are not saying it's kak. But the press, Honda...etc have been touting this thing as the second coming and the gift to adventure bike kind for a long time now.
There just was something special about the previous AT. Yes it was undersprung, heavy, slow-ish, etc. But the whole package, taken together, was very very special. Emotionally stirring, even. Remember, we are not talking race bikes, we are talking travellers. Bikes you can live with every day. You WANT to ride every day.
Paper tells you facts, but facts does not tell the whole story.
If Honda has managed to put the ghost into the machine like they did with the old generation AT, then this bike gets a big thumbs up from me.
And another point to consider is dealing with HondaSA and the stealers' KAARK attitude towards aftersales service.Give that man a Bells :thumleft:This bike is not better or "new" than any dual sport we have seen to date. To me it looks just like a Triumph or GS 800, cant see why people will fall over there feet to run to the Honda dealership. Yes it's going to be reliable but so is a Toyota Corolla. On the plus side the dash looks pretty rad.
I think this is the point most are missing.
Yet...looking at capability and spec other than DCT (Which I still think will be kak for offroad....how do you feather this thing in slow 1st gear type of stuff? Unless is it like a Recluse clutch...in that case I can dig it) it's competing with a 8-9 year old bike thats lighter, almost as powerful from a 200cc less engine, and one thats cheaper to buy and probably cheaper to run in say a 5 year ownership period with A LOT more aftermarket and spares available.
The Honda fans is creaming their pants at the specs saying this is like a whole new offroad marvel...I read it...then re-read it to see what I'm missing.... yeah it's a cool bike and I'm also excited to have more competition and it will be good but...really,....it's kind of a same old same same bike imho.
The ONLY thing that makes me sit up and say yeah man thats cool, is the adjustable forks and the looks.
So unless you absolutely HAVE to have a Honda.... other manufacturers BMW, KTM, Triumph have similar bikes in their pen for years.
Honda played catchup...and ONLY did that.
They caught up. They didn't surpass anyone here.
Do I want to ride one. Hell yes. I esp like the White one.
Looks like the bashplate and hand guards will be after market - there is pics with the bike without them - I liked the old AT with the built in bashplate - the world is heading after market profits so no revolution there - this is gonna up the price some more on this bike - the old AT was pretty much travel ready
On Motorrad.de there's a short article and they mention a price has been confirmed for the non ABS version at 12 100 Euros - that's R163K at an exchange rate of 13.5
My XR which cost me R60K with all mods included and weighs 149kg with a full tank
The new AT at R163K weighs 228 kg with a full tank
XR - R 60 000 divided by 149kg = R 402.68 per kg
New AT - R 163 000 divided by 228kg = R 714.91 per kg
Which bike would you rather pick up when it falls over? So it looks like I'm gonna be on my XR for a while longer :ricky:
On Motorrad.de there's a short article and they mention a price has been confirmed for the non ABS version at 12 100 Euros - that's R163K at an exchange rate of 13.5
My XR which cost me R60K with all mods included and weighs 149kg with a full tank
The new AT at R163K weighs 228 kg with a full tank
XR - R 60 000 divided by 149kg = R 402.68 per kg
New AT - R 163 000 divided by 228kg = R 714.91 per kg
Which bike would you rather pick up when it falls over? So it looks like I'm gonna be on my XR for a while longer :ricky:
... it looks like this AT is more Solveig than Dianne or Nikki
So the Showa suspension vs the WP suspension on the XCX - Power to weight already better on the XCX......The bike every one wanted the AT to be is already available.
I like it - a lot :thumleft:
Except for that exhaust - that looks ridiculous - and leaves no space for panniers, etc - can't fit a tank bag either
But fit an aftermarket can and give it a tail tidy and you've got the best looking bike
Totally with you on the servicing story. Honda have generally been good to me but there have been enough complete and utter failures that my confidence in them is waning.
After sales service counts for a lot.
HoweverSo the Showa suspension vs the WP suspension on the XCX - Power to weight already better on the XCX......The bike every one wanted the AT to be is already available.
How often do you use full power on any adventure bike? When was the last time you took your Transalp to red line?
Everyone is so focused on max power and it means little to nothing, especially on a bike like this.
The Africa Twin has nearly 25% more torque to weight than the Triumph. 10% better than the surprisingly light F800GS too.
In fact the only bike with better torque to weight and <1200cc is the 990.
That, plus the additional suspension travel and ground clearance make this a much better off-road machine.
Showa vs WP is a debate all on its own; I think they're close enough to be called the same unless you're a professional rider of some sort.
In a sense, this shows how difficult it is to get a DS bike below 220kg, the fact that BMW and KTM got their 1200s around 230kg is actually an achievement
This is because riders have moved away from the pure essence of D/S bikes, to the complicated world of electronically complicated multi-cylinder machines.
It is actually very easy to get way below 220kgs, but not if you want a twin/triple or 4cylinder.
This is because riders have moved away from the pure essence of D/S bikes, to the complicated world of electronically complicated multi-cylinder machines.
It is actually very easy to get way below 220kgs, but not if you want a twin/triple or 4cylinder.
I was very interested in this new AT as Honda was making noise that this is going to be a game changer - which I hoped to be lightweight (I'm no expert on Honda - I actually seriously dislike the brand - but my understanding it that they have made revolutionary lightweight 900RR CBR, or something like that - and by the way that bike was mentioned in one of the early Honda AT videos). I didn't expect miracles, but if it would match or slightly beat my current bike - awfully heavy Tenere at 208 kg wet, there wouldn't be much to think about.
The way I see it now, Honda didn't change the game, just added another bike into already crowded segment - it has things going for it (wheel size, looks and maybe suspension), but they didn't change the game - just entered it matching more or less what is out there.
I have Tenere now, and for a next bike would be perfectly happy if Yamaha keeps it the same except, give us 700 cc engine (which they have been using in quads for ever), lose that idiotic high rear end, put in real suspension and 18 inch wheel, and lose 10 - 15 kgs. That would be perfect just perfect.
Sadly I think it is not going to happen, as it didn't happen with this AT.
Well anyway, for those who like new AT and are going to buy one - enjoy it.
If they gave me a go at building an adventure bike :
2015 KTM 690 R rolling chassis
Lynx type fairing but oem not aftermarket
Evo 2 Tank kit
XR650R motor with e-start and 6th gear
Tadaaa, 165kg ready to ride :ricky:
Adventure riding on tar ? Jokes, the Lynx would do the job of a windscreen, the seat were better in the later models and if they can be ridden around the world (see London to Sydney) they will do just fine for us Wilddog adventurers. Offcourse everyone has a different view of what a DS should be, for me it's getting off the beaten track and exploring the back rounds. The 690 hybrid will do that no problems with more than enough oomph for the open road.If they gave me a go at building an adventure bike :
Evo 2 Tank kit
and comfort seat, and touring windshield, and...here's the point of contention, one of them - I would like a twin, parallel or V if you're going to do some good touring on tar as well (and of course, that brings in a lot more weight)
yeah, sure, everyone's idea of adventure might not be the same. Singles are just not cut out, for me, to tour at highway speeds, not so much a power thing, but a smoothness thing. in the end, perhaps it's best to have two bikes.
at least it doesn't have a beak :)
:lol8: You have to love all the opinions about a bike that no-one here has even laid eyes on, nevermind ride.
One thing to keep in mind about the weight, is the distribution thereof. Puts me in mind of this: all these women weigh the same amount – 70kg. From the photos and the videos, it looks like this AT is more Solveig than Dianne or Nikki :pot:
(http://www.fitgirlcode.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/Schermafbeelding-2014-09-30-om-15.18.59.jpg)
(http://www.tourenfahrer.de/fileadmin/_migrated/pics/bmw_f800gs_03.jpg)
(http://images.motorcycle-usa.com/photogallerys/2015-Triumph-Tiger-800XC.jpg)
(http://www.advpulse.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/07/2016-honda-africa-twin-specs.jpg)
Fact of the matter, this bike weighs the same as the old Africa Twin, despite having an extra gear and a bunch of nifty electronics. It is also a fair bit more powerful despite being detuned, and can be expected to be more fuel efficient. The suspension travel looks really good from what I can gather. Overall, it looks like a well-balanced package.
yeah, sure, everyone's idea of adventure might not be the same. Singles are just not cut out, for me, to tour at highway speeds, not so much a power thing, but a smoothness thing. in the end, perhaps it's best to have two bikes.
two bikes is the answer
Ride on your mile eater to somewhere interesting and rent some plastic bike to kill in a river bed - best of both worlds
If they gave me a go at building an adventure bike :
Evo 2 Tank kit
and comfort seat, and touring windshield, and...here's the point of contention, one of them - I would like a twin, parallel or V if you're going to do some good touring on tar as well (and of course, that brings in a lot more weight)
There is nothing wrong with the new Africa Twin. It was always going to be heavy because it has a 1litre engine and it needed to be tough.
In a sense, this shows how difficult it is to get a DS bike below 220kg, the fact that BMW and KTM got their 1200s around 230kg is actually an achievement
What is the essence of DS riding? To each the definition will differ.
Working man: Something that gives kicks both on tar and he can do gravel and maybe something more. Looking for more than just riding. Cuppa-chino at his local dealer. Accessories. Enjoying discussions with buddies with similar bikes.
Advanced or dedicated DS rider: Many on the forum here. Those that want to do more or only gravel, etc.
Tourer: Those going through Africa. Require simple and reliable bike.
Enduro DS rider: Those that want to go ride enduro terrain but want to combine it with legal/DS riding.
What is the essence of DS riding? To each the definition will differ.
Working man: Something that gives kicks both on tar and he can do gravel and maybe something more. Looking for more than just riding. Cuppa-chino at his local dealer. Accessories. Enjoying discussions with buddies with similar bikes.
Advanced or dedicated DS rider: Many on the forum here. Those that want to do more or only gravel, etc.
Tourer: Those going through Africa. Require simple and reliable bike.
Enduro DS rider: Those that want to go ride enduro terrain but want to combine it with legal/DS riding.
Sure, this diversity of needs is obvious. The problem is that bikes offered on the market do not reflect it at all (even if you are ready to modify the bike quite a bit as I am) and that I think is the main source of frustration here for the people who hoped that AT may at least to an extent fill obvious gap - at least for me.
All the bikes currently on the market and discussed here (with exception of 690) are on the soft side of the adventure riding, emphasizing comfort and two up abilities rather than ability to do spirited long distances in on dirt - and by that I meant dirt roads and sandy riverbeds like Kaokoland or Kalahari cutlines, not Road to Hell rock climbing. Sure they may provide lots of thrills on tar (like in 160 hp), but will limit to great extent thrills on dirt. New AT IMO falls fully into this category - it's more on the dirty side of things than let's say V Strom, but still a tourer that I wouldn't like to drag through Hoanib river (that said I still reserve right still to do so in the future though ;D).
There is nothing - and please correct me if I'm wrong here - that fills the gap between 690 (which I contrary to sidetrack do not believe can be made to great long distance spirited dirt tourer because of it's enduro geometry - and I know cause I've done that with my Husky 630, which has Lynx, big tank and luggage racks) and the heavies (the only one that comes to mind kind of is 800GS and I just don't like that bike). I hoped AT based on initial indications (21/18, hints of game changer) and looks (the bike looks great, slim for good handling off tar), may aim for that gap, which it didn't. I'm sure it is going to be great bike in what it is, but that is not what I and it seems quite a few others were looking for. My ideal bike for this (I have other bikes for other stuff, but agree with LuckyStriker that I like to do trips on one bike) would be KTM690RR, with proper stable geometry for high speed on dirt, reasonable weight (about 200 kg) and enough power - I'm perfectly happy with single.
Now I think the counter argument will be that there are too few of us to justify costs of manufacturing such a bike. I agree that there is much bigger market for the big soft-roaders. However, as far as I can see that market is already awash with many choices, and AT is up against some stiff competition and may have tough time against them due to its bigger wheels and lower power (way more than enough for me, but maybe lacking for two up or dick swinging contests). So even from business perspective (and this is of course my dumb ass analysis) I'm not sure if aiming for that smaller, but basically empty gap wouldn't make more sense.
But hey, it is what it is, I'm sure many people will enjoy new AT and us weirdos will have to wait for something else, or I'm afraid rather build the bike we need ourselves. Anybody knows by any chance about dirt cheap XT660R - ideally with 700 cc conversion ;D.
Yet the 950 was lighter and also a twin and plenty of them still around so surely they were tough enough :deal: Ten years down the line technology could have improved on that recipe ?
There is nothing wrong with the new Africa Twin. It was always going to be heavy because it has a 1litre engine and it needed to be tough.
Well said.
MorsigReminds me of the XT660Z promo shots from Morocco back in 2008, we all wet our pants but then it landed ..... all 200 plug kilograms of it
Can also only think of the BMW 800. But if I understand correctly it is a good seller?
Maybe with all the big bikes getting bigger (1190, 1290, 1200) Honda aims to fill the opening 1000cc bracket (discontinued 990 etc.)
clocksHope that screen is scratch resistant, gonna look crap when you have wiped off Africa dust a couple of times :pot: Ok I'll stop maybe I'm sure it will sell by the thousands and the owners will be real happy when they buy their Triu .... BM ... mean Honda AT.
Yet the 950 was lighter and also a twin and plenty of them still around so surely they were tough enough :deal: Ten years down the line technology could have improved on that recipe ?
MorsigReminds me of the XT660Z promo shots from Morocco back in 2008, we all wet our pants but then it landed ..... all 200 plug kilograms of it
No, I haven't - I have ridden 2010 I think with the fairings and tanks. Does the newer one has different geometry? I knew it has bigger engine.
I need to make a plan to try one...
Can also only think of the BMW 800. But if I understand correctly it is a good seller?
Maybe with all the big bikes getting bigger (1190, 1290, 1200) Honda aims to fill the opening 1000cc bracket (discontinued 990 etc.)
That would only make sense only if it would be significantly more powerful than 800's and/or significantly lighter than 1200's. Which it isn't. I don't see any gap there.
800GS seems to me to be unloved bastard child of BMW, that they build only as a lure to the more premium 1200. Sure, they finally bolted a suspension on it a year or two ago, but I still think they are not keen on pushing it further - as evidenced by that, for me pointless 800GSA contraption.
Yes and the first technical stuff I did I dropped it about 10 times, if my mates were t there I would still be sitting in that mountain pass. I had to choose between it and the 690, think I made the wring choice for my type of ridingMorsigReminds me of the XT660Z promo shots from Morocco back in 2008, we all wet our pants but then it landed ..... all 200 plug kilograms of it
True, and yet somehow both of us ended up on one ;). Given the type of riding you guys are doing, I was quite surprised to see you buy Tenere. Can I ask why? Is it just because of the lack of choices?
The 690 was a game changer yet no-one is bothered about trying to equal it - never mind beat it!!!
Can't see any reason for Honda or anyone else to make another game changer - they can all do it but the bean counters tell them different.
690 only recently caught up with XRR Honda of 15 years ago >:D
Good discussion about a bike that will not fill the gap that many of us been waiting for.
In a world where bean-counters rule and rationality has taken over from passion, I don't see any change in direction from any bike manufacturer.
How many people would part with R 200k to build that light and off road capable 700-800cc twin bike that could become the holy grail for some of us?
I happen to own a custom built 1000cc bike weighing in at 190kg (dry), with the best possible suspension, which covers 95% of my riding perfectly. It's for the other 5% of my riding when I am lusting for a lighter, more capable bike.
No twin cyl bike could cover that gap, unless it's filled with Helium :biggrin:
I had a chat with a guy at Honda.
They expect this bike around January 2016.
He only has one concern, he says with all the talks with Honda, it seems like SA will only get the clutchless version.
He says its gonna be a deal breaker if that happens.
I had a chat with a guy at Honda.
They expect this bike around January 2016.
He only has one concern, he says with all the talks with Honda, it seems like SA will only get the clutchless version.
He says its gonna be a deal breaker if that happens.
Do you mean we only get the ABS & Standard versions? Or that we only get the DCT version?
Only the DCT versions.
He said it wont work for technical riders, and Honda will make a big mistake.
Honda did not confirm this as yet, but he says all talks with Honda Headoffice points to DCT only for SA.
I spoke to the Owner of the Dealership, not a Salesman.
...it seems like SA will only get the clutchless version.
Only the DCT versions.
Honda did not confirm this as yet, but he says all talks with Honda Headoffice points to DCT only for SA.
Only the DCT versions.
Doesn't make sense at all !!! :eek7:
Only the DCT versions.
Doesn't make sense at all !!! :eek7:
Cross-posted reply here from my comments on Motorrad.de. My original post here: http://www.motorradonline.de/news/neue-honda-africa-twin-kommt-ende-2015/658890 (http://www.motorradonline.de/news/neue-honda-africa-twin-kommt-ende-2015/658890)
Bei 149kg vollgetankt auf meiner XR650L (modified) spare Ich mir 79kg gegenueber der (no ABS) CR1000L jedesmahl wenn das Dickschiff mal auf der Seite liegt. Schaut auch so aus als ob da nicht mehr als 210mm Federweg vorne/hinten zusammenkommen. Schade eigentlich. Habe keine Probleme mit meinen 1.78 metern mit der XR (Sitzhoehe 940mm) im groben Gelaende umzugehen und mit knappen 300mm Federweg v/h buegelt die softe XR auch die groebsten Strecken glatt. 250mm v/h bei 210kg vollgetankt haetten drinn sein sollen. Soichiro san - Stehe auf mein Junge und sag den pencilpusher accountants in der Corporate Devision mal bescheid wie man sowas besser macht. Eine DL1000 im schoenen roten Kleid brauche ich nicht. Da bleibe ich glatt bei meiner XR und sehe zu das meine pseudo HPN R80G/S (1000ccm) bald wieder auf die Strasse kommt.
I'm sure the CRF1000L will be a super bike for many. And that is where the focus is at for any of the large bike manufacturers - A bike for many so that the bike may sell well. What Honda has forgotten to address is that the more hardcore fraternity of riders are looking forward to something that bridges the gap between a Suzuki DL1000 and a KTM 950SE. That would be the sweet spot for me. I volunteer to travel to Japan - taking some unpaid leave to advise on how esteemed Honda Corporation could wow the international motorcycle market by introducing an 'R' version of the CRF 1000 L.
I have managed to turn my XR 650 L into what I would think is the closest to an R version of the L. 12kg lighter than the day I bought the bike new from Honda Umhlanga and much better for it. Someone pay my return plane ticket to Japan and I volunteer to be an advisor and test rider on how to save 20kg of mass and install 250mm of front and rear wheel travel into this beautiful machine. Hey Motorrad.de - do you have any ideas how this may be achieved? As I mentioned my time is free and I am capable of turning a beautiful bollard into a singing swan. 25% of the potential buyers need a CRF1000L to be a CRF1000R.
regards,
Thorsten Wanoth
Confirmed unconfirmed prices from a dealer :peepwall:
Retail Pricing for CRF1000L
Standard R155 000.00
Traction Control / ABS R168 000.00
DCT T/C and ABS R182 000.00
Shipment and official launch Jan 2016
Looks like the after market suppliers will have a field day for spill/crash protection bars/covers/plates.
Good for them and owners.
Ek wonder wat Honda op hulle rakke gaan dra.
Is daar al iets al te siene ?
800GS ADV or a base AT. I know which one I would have
Confirmed unconfirmed prices from a dealer :peepwall:
Retail Pricing for CRF1000L
Standard R155 000.00
Traction Control / ABS R168 000.00
DCT T/C and ABS R182 000.00
Shipment and official launch Jan 2016
Standard version for me , not on price but I don't want ABS or the dual clutch model
800GS ADV or a base AT. I know which one I would have
Don't leave us in suspense....which one?
:imaposer: :peepwall: :pot: :ricky:
the excitement died down a bit? don't judge a book by it's cover. we have to wait and see what it's like, Honda wanted to make something the embodies what the old AT was. If you like the old AT, you will probably like this more
Ja there is big following in Europe. I have seen a lot of older African twins about in Spain and France.
Wouldn't mind picking up one of those after everyone wants to replace them with their "new" models.
Adventure Bike Models HP Torque (lb.-ft.) Wet Weight (lbs.) Ground Clearance (in.) Seat Height (in.) Fuel Capacity (Gallons) 2015 KTM 1190 Adventure R 148 92.2 518 9.8 35.0 6.1 2016 Honda Africa Twin (STD) 93.9 72.3 502 9.8 33.4 5.0 2013 KTM 990 Adventure R 113 74 502 11.9 35.0 5.3
...Honda now says that ABS and TC (or HSTC, for Honda Selectable Torque Control) will be standard on both versions of the Africa Twin when it debuts here late this year as a 2016 model. The DCT will add automatic functions including a incline detection system that changes the shift parameters for climbs and descents...
I wonder how that is going to effect pricing , I guess the lower price of R155 000 for the standard is out the window ?
That is the way I read it as well, and it reminds me about the big hype a couple of years ago when the 1200 BMW eater Cross tour'er was announced. It came in overwrought, overpriced and as a road bike dressed as a DS.......and here on Wilddogs I read all about the excitement that turned into silence.
It will be ok'ish, but pricey. The bike the guys described from page one which they wanted to see exists already, just under another Brand name: Its called Triump XCX and ll included at R140K
Specs, HP, Price, DCT, front brakes ... it's all just details, details .... this thing looks good, will be well built, thus reliable, might not be the cheapest, quickest, flashiest, with anti this or pro that ... and in 10 years time will still have a great resale price.
94HP - thank you.
232kg's - fine by me.
Seat hight? - 850mm - perfect.
20lt tank - that will do nicely, thanks!
So is the extra R13 000 for the ABS model over the standard model worth it ?, I have never ridden a bike with ABS and have no inkling of what HSTC is - can this help me on the dirt highways that if I bought this bike I would be using it for ?
How reliable are modern ABS systems or is this something that might fail after a serious dose of corrugations and dust day after day ?
I have always thought the more gizmo's added on the more problems but maybe modern ABS etc are very reliable - I am not sure here .
It's quite a bit more to pay for these added extras - is it worth it ?
If one was going too purchase this as a long distance traveller would it not make sense to just get the bog standard one ?
So is the extra R13 000 for the ABS model over the standard model worth it ?, I have never ridden a bike with ABS and have no inkling of what HSTC is - can this help me on the dirt highways that if I bought this bike I would be using it for ?
How reliable are modern ABS systems or is this something that might fail after a serious dose of corrugations and dust day after day ?
I have always thought the more gizmo's added on the more problems but maybe modern ABS etc are very reliable - I am not sure here .
If one was going too purchase this as a long distance traveller would it not make sense to just get the bog standard one ?
Why is this relevant ? - Cause it's a bike that is still relevant and competitive in this modern day and age!! You will never see a well-ridden AT being left behind by any other DS bike, unless you're cruising 200+ on tar ... ::)
Roughrider are you sure with the :laughing4: :laughing4:...?
Valid questions.
I have a Varadero that is non ABS, and a S10 with ABS. Leaving aside their obvious differences off road, purely on road they are similar in ways and having done many thousands of K's two up fully loaded on both, it's for that matter alone I would always go for the ABS version. Absolutely.
For me it boils down to this; the day you need ABS is the day the cost involved will be the furtherest thing from your mind.
A - is anyone familiar with this kind of pannier attachment ? Will this mean that one can only use Honda racks or panniers .
B - All these hollow areas in the tail area , won't they fill up with mud ?
QuoteB - All these hollow areas in the tail area , won't they fill up with mud ?
Not if you use the tyres in the picture.....
A - is anyone familiar with this kind of pannier attachment ? Will this mean that one can only use Honda racks or panniers .
Here is some questions that maybe you guys know the answer too .
In the attached image -
I really like it, but it's still not (IMHO) what most people were hoping it would be. I'm going to wait for the KTM 690 Adventure rather.
You might just grow old disappointed.Very true unfortunately.
I really like it, but it's still not (IMHO) what most people were hoping it would be. I'm going to wait for the KTM 690 Adventure rather.
what were most people hoping it would be ? - it seems like a kick ass long distance dirt road tourer to me , exactly like its predecessor ( we will see ) , that's all a Africa Twin can be . Did you want it to be a dirt bike for a MX course ?
You might just grow old disappointed.Very true unfortunately.
what were most people hoping it would be ? - it seems like a kick ass long distance dirt road tourer to me , exactly like its predecessor ( we will see ) , that's all a Africa Twin can be . Did you want it to be a dirt bike for a MX course ?
I was hoping it would be sub-200kg with more ground clearance... I still believe there is a market for a real hard core adv. bike. Sub-200kg, capable long travel suspension, high ground clearance. Don't get me wrong Shanti, it's still a nice bike, it's just that the early marketing sloop lead me to believe it would be more sort of "race replica-ish".
Tell Dave I say howzit :thumleft:
Hi I think the most important thing about the new AT is going to be were it starts delivering its Torque and how even the torque comes in ie straight line torque. The lower the torque the easier it is to put down on the road and also easier to ride slowly. You will also notice it is not a high revving engine. So this tells you the engine is more about torque than HP.
Agreed, a parallel twin is all about that torque, the V-twin might have more cc for cc but it weights slightly more too.
It will certainly be interesting to see the new AT on the road.
Welcome by the way, and a short introduction would be advisable here or you will be eaten with a sheapshead as a starter.
;)
Hi
I am Dave from Honda Knysna. Howzit Andre. I have been told by Honda head in SA that Honda believe that over 85 HP is almost unusable off road. Note The first AT that won the 4 Paris Dakars were between 55 and 65 HP. Low down torque gives good acceleration and lets you use all your HP quicker. It also allows short shifting and allows you to ride in higher gears for fuel economy. I think this bike (and also hope) will be good for the for the not so confident riders as well as the expert who will be able to exploit its limits confidently. What I want is a reliable. highly capable comfortable bike. I really hope this is the bike. I have ridden the KTM 990 Adventure and love it. But this bike only comes into its own when ridden briskly. To say that it is user friendly would be wrong according to me when it really gets tight it is a bit of a handful.
Pop in and say howzit.
... I have been told by Honda head in SA that Honda believe that over 85 HP is almost unusable off road. ...
Hi
I am Dave from Honda Knysna. Howzit Andre. I have been told by Honda head in SA that Honda believe that over 85 HP is almost unusable off road. Note The first AT that won the 4 Paris Dakars were between 55 and 65 HP. Low down torque gives good acceleration and lets you use all your HP quicker. It also allows short shifting and allows you to ride in higher gears for fuel economy. I think this bike (and also hope) will be good for the for the not so confident riders as well as the expert who will be able to exploit its limits confidently. What I want is a reliable. highly capable comfortable bike. I really hope this is the bike. I have ridden the KTM 990 Adventure and love it. But this bike only comes into its own when ridden briskly. To say that it is user friendly would be wrong according to me when it really gets tight it is a bit of a handful.
Easier explanation without getting horny! :lol8::laughing4: :laughing4: :laughing4:
Some new videos, nothing super exciting (would have enjoyed longer videos and maybe more technical terrain maybe) but have a watch:
https://www.youtube.com/v/dOed6Osrj4E
Marc Marquez's views:
https://www.youtube.com/v/dp2NJMbUyzg
And Joan Barreda's:
https://www.youtube.com/v/wq5s3npzEek
Some good pics - and a great line up of older Honda bikes
https://www.youtube.com/v/wMmShk1lJ9M
That's tomorrow!!! :biggrin: :drif:
This looks to be the business
I jist hope it lives up to its reputation
I am going to get one when they come out , I am under no illusion as to the capabilities of the bike and see it as something I can use for long distance ridding - trips around southern Africa , shooting down to CPT to visit my son etc - my bike garage will be complete with a smaller bike to ride more technical and tough rides .
This is what I would like to see in my garage in the next few years
- a CT110 for visiting neighbors on nearby farms ( max range 15km ) - have one that I am fixing up .
- CRF1000L for my long trips - when it ever gets released............
and as yet to be decided a sub 500cc bike for rough play and single track exploration - probably either a XR400 or a CRF250L
Coming from a KLR which is a bit of a jack of all trades I am looking forward to a bike that can handle long stretches of slab and desert highways - lets see
I am going to get one when they come out , I am under no illusion as to the capabilities of the bike and see it as something I can use for long distance ridding - trips around southern Africa , shooting down to CPT to visit my son etc - my bike garage will be complete with a smaller bike to ride more technical and tough rides .
- a CT110 for visiting neighbors on nearby farms ( max range 15km ) - have one that I am fixing up .
and as yet to be decided a sub 500cc bike for rough play and single track exploration - probably either a XR400 or a CRF250L
Coming from a KLR which is a bit of a jack of all trades I am looking forward to a bike that can handle long stretches of slab and desert highways - lets see
You obviously a Honda fan in the mould of the classic ToyotaHiluxcandonowrongeventhoughallthestatstellsyouotherwiseandyoudon'tevenknowthatyoupayingR20000morefortheprivilegeofriding15yearoldtechjustbecauseitsayToyota fan .... maybe can I suggest widening your horizons and look wider than the red blinkered view ... yes a Africa Twin bike is going to be good but a postie ... jees try maybe a TW and make old 2SD hart warm or go and try a BMW -- ok I agree you can only ride a postie for 15 km ... you win ... ok you mentioned also a KLR in your post ... no you Da Man .. i got you totally wrong ... ok not :imaposer: :imaposer: :imaposer:
Jeez thats a lot of presumption - whats my star sign ? Talk about rambling in a circle :)
trying a BMW ? why ? I am not 50 yet
Jeez thats a lot of presumption - whats my star sign ? Talk about rambling in a circle :)
You you got me ... over 50 ... but giving you advise your dad should have given you ... broaden you horizons early :biggrin:
My Dad would have had me on a Norton - but then he had fond memories of fixing his bike on the side of the road .
It might live up to its reputation but it can't live up to the hype.
I'm sure it'll be a disappointment to those who want it to be both a GS and a KTM slayer. This bike will be yet another option in the big trailie market. It'll be a compromise like the GS, the Superten, the 1190, etc.
I for one am very interested but I don't expect it to be an overpowered XR650R. It'll probably be more like a fat XR650L
It might live up to its reputation but it can't live up to the hype.
I'm sure it'll be a disappointment to those who want it to be both a GS and a KTM slayer. This bike will be yet another option in the big trailie market. It'll be a compromise like the GS, the Superten, the 1190, etc.
I for one am very interested but I don't expect it to be an overpowered XR650R. It'll probably be more like a fat XR650L
Sensible stuff there Lucky.
One should take the marketing material with a bit of salt. It's meant to make the bike look cool. But bikes in this class is not built to be jumped, raced and slid around every corner.
One should see the bike for what it is: Honda's version of a 1liter DS bike. It will be most happy when cruising tar and good dirt roads, as that is what it will be used for 99.5% of the time.
Some new videos, nothing super exciting (would have enjoyed longer videos and maybe more technical terrain maybe) but have a watch:
https://www.youtube.com/v/dOed6Osrj4E
Marc Marquez's views:
https://www.youtube.com/v/dp2NJMbUyzg
And Joan Barreda's:
https://www.youtube.com/v/wq5s3npzEek
Ok the video's don't show on my side so here are the links as well:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dOed6Osrj4E (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dOed6Osrj4E)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dp2NJMbUyzg (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dp2NJMbUyzg)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wq5s3npzEek (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wq5s3npzEek)
Hi Guys
I tried to post earlier obviously didnt do it right follow link for latest Honda Press release. ;D
http://world.honda.com/news/2015/2151016eng-crf1000l.html?r=m (http://world.honda.com/news/2015/2151016eng-crf1000l.html?r=m)
Can you imagine how GS's and KTM's will flood the second hand market after the AT is released?
I would love to agree with you, but the GS and KTM following respectively is very strong! :patch:
The AT will have to be at least twice as good plus Honda will have to bless it with a lot of snob & life style appeal to be a threat to the "system" ... :-\
Sorry it wont post file to big.
http://www.adventurebikerider.com/news/1221-honda-crf1000l-africa-twin-press-launch-confirmed.html (http://www.adventurebikerider.com/news/1221-honda-crf1000l-africa-twin-press-launch-confirmed.html)
Hi Guys
Press Release from Honda SA. Looks Like the Bike is going to be launched Internationally in SA. 8)
http://www.adventurebikerider.com/news/1221-honda-crf1000l-africa-twin-press-launch-confirmed.html (http://www.adventurebikerider.com/news/1221-honda-crf1000l-africa-twin-press-launch-confirmed.html)
Hi Guys
Press Release from Honda SA. Looks Like the Bike is going to be launched Internationally in SA. 8)
So Honda is doing it here for the cheap party :) I'll take one of the bikes that has had a journalist on it for a few Km's
Any price indication?
Good news - hope they have it here in the Southern Cape - Baviaans; Hell and so on ... :peepwall: :3some:
Any price indication?
I think if you look somewhere in this thread they were talking around R155k for the base model and all the way to R185k for the DCT, Abs and what what model
That is going to cost them big time.....shipping thebikes back to Europe. I just wonder why this model gets delayd over and over again.....i hope there will not be any teething problems once the bike is released. However, Honda has got a very good reputation on reliability and lets hope the bikes will be all good frombthe start
Sent from my SM-J110F using Tapatalk
[/quot
How can there be delays if Honda themselves never officially set a launch date?
Lets just hope they get it right first time.
Yawn! I will be riding my XR650L, XR650R and NC700X in the interim and be happy for it. By the time the new AT gets here which is probably in mid 2016
the ZAR would probably have taken another nosedive into being able to afford the new AT @ R180K for the base model. I could never warrant trading two
sweet XR's and a boring NC commuter and still having to put in R45K cash to arrive at a one bike solution. If I was a rich fucker I would buy the new AT on
the spot right now. Reality confirms this is not so, so my multi bike approach will have to suffice for the moment. Gotta get rid of some of the old german and
japanese relics in the garage first.
Looking forward to the first Ride Reports and reviews by the international press in the SA launch too. Should be a Cracker!
Any price indication?
I think if you look somewhere in this thread they were talking around R155k for the base model and all the way to R185k for the DCT, Abs and what what model
With the current exchange rate I suspect there is little chance of a R155K base price. I'd estimate R165K minimum. Hell the Tiger XCx is now R150K and climbing :o
I also dont understand why the base model is without ABS? In 2016? ABS should be mandatory. You can always turn it off.
This bike has really grown on me, but there's no way I could afford one now. What I'd like to do over the next few years is build one like this - the next best thing. I was going to do a Marlboro Rallye replica of a R800GS, but then I rode one, and changed my mind immediately ::):drif:
Africa Twin it's real ..........
Any price indication?
With the current exchange rate I suspect there is little chance of a R155K base price. I'd estimate R165K minimum. Hell the Tiger XCx is now R150K and climbing :o
I also dont understand why the base model is without ABS? In 2016? ABS should be mandatory. You can always turn it off.
Mate of mine said he might have seen one all camouflaged here in Cape Town with a bunch of sensors and tape on. he may or may not have been seeing things.
Why is he known to have a little ting a ling and then exaggerate after surfing :ricky:
True, this is on everyones lips in every bike shop and water hole where the bikers meet. I hope it will live up to the expextation. Must say the new twin is photo genic atleast. Not many bikes are for example the new Dl1000 strom. Looks much better in real life. A lotbof talk also about a 500twin ds bike from Honda
Sent from my SM-J110F using Tapatalk
That's a BAD photoshop....
:biggrin: Nope this bike is real and You can built it from a kit by Rallyraid in the UKd
pity our Rand is so weak
:biggrin: Nope this bike is real and You can built it from a kit by Rallyraid in the UKPointless, you are going to spend 40k or more for the kit over and above the bikes price and then still sit with a heavy bike with limited off road capability
pity our Rand is so weak
:biggrin: Nope this bike is real and You can built it from a kit by Rallyraid in the UK
pity our Rand is so weak
Word has it that 300 international journo's has been invited for this launch somewhere in the Western Cape ... :peepwall:
Am at EICMA for the week, will try and snap some pics of the launch, and post them here.
Chris
It is definitely NOT ugly.
A couple of pics out there
tail tidy , different exhaust , rear side panels , footpegs , engine guard , seat , rear rack - a mere 4000 euro's of bling - aftermarket is going to have a field day
Honda learned BMW lesson and pulled in Touratech to prepare tons of accessories (most of them useless IMO) already for the launch. To my untrained eyes these will make the bike look plain ridiculous (like crashbars), but the options will be there:
Looks great but nothing the average rider on a Vespa can't do.
Yawn!Yes, I'm excited, in Milan at the launch, have not YET even got to the Honda Stand, but there is a new AT on the Touratech stand, and it looks them business, though more '1200 size' than '800 size', if you get my drift.
We have been waiting for a long time now for the Honda PR machine to deliver the goods. Anyone getting excited about this?
only thing i dont like is the digital speedo - it is so 1980s back to the future ::)It seems you like a dash with needles too? I hate these running numbers on the speedos. :biggrin:
1000cc paralel twin
100hp
200kg wet
20l feul
250mm suspension
I like.
1000cc paralel twin
100hp
200kg wet
20l feul
250mm suspension
I like.
So basically 990 specs? +-
The bike is good looking.
It is definitely NOT ugly.
I agree. I actually feel a little emotional looking at those pics
1000cc paralel twin
100hp
200kg wet
20l feul
250mm suspension
I like.
1000cc paralel twin
100hp
200kg wet
20l feul
250mm suspension
I like.
Also thinks it falls nicely in the gap that the 990 leaves open.
200kg wet? not likely. maybe 200kg dry yes.
That engine and bash plate looks very wide on the photos.
that would be around the 240kg mark, wet?
what was the 950 wet?
drowned :peepwall:
that would be around the 240kg mark, wet?
what was the 950 wet?
I've been ignoring this thread with purpose, but I just cannot resist any longer. Please give me the short version.
I understand there are two models. What are they ?
The pic above, which model is that, because its the one I want.
I've been ignoring this thread with purpose, but I just cannot resist any longer. Please give me the short version.
same sentiment here.
any idea's on when and how much in SA?
i also want the red and white one with gold wheels and forks.
anyone know the seat height? my 950 was a bit difficult to remain stationary on...
:pot: You can thank me later... :biggrin:I've been ignoring this thread with purpose, but I just cannot resist any longer. Please give me the short version.
same sentiment here.
any idea's on when and how much in SA?
i also want the red and white one with gold wheels and forks.
anyone know the seat height? my 950 was a bit difficult to remain stationary on...
The above model is blinged out with different seat, pipe, side panels and bashplate - so will cost above standard, but looking IMO as it should.
As far as I remember there are three models:
- Standard/basic: no ABS, no Traction Control, no automatic transmission (that is the one I would get if I would be into this bike - and that one is roughly those 230 kg wet).
- medium (or whatever is it called: ABS and traction control (somewhat heavier)
- top: ABS, traction control and auto transmission (wet weight about 245kg if I remember correctly)
Yep, the same bike as far as I know. The best one looking IMO is the one on the picture above. Other colors will not have golden rims.
:thumleft: Also the colours I would like in the basic model, but I heard only the up-spec ones comes with the pretty colour schemes and the basic will only be one one or two mono colour variants.
Funnily enough, that is not what was originally indicated. It was actually the tri-color one that was the basic one, but you never know what will marketing in Honda still decide. They seem to be pretty weird though - on advrider people said that they will bring only the Red/white and grey (ghastly one) to USA. Why would they do it is beyond me.
And people who sat on it in EICMA commented that the seat is surprisingly low, but it feels top heavy (the guy rides 1150GSA, so I guess compared to that any bike with non-boxer engine would feel that way).
Now that is a thing of pure beauty :drif:
Being un-packed at the moment for the launch...
The above model is blinged out with different seat, pipe, side panels and bashplate - so will cost above standard, but looking IMO as it should.
- Standard/basic: no ABS, no Traction Control, no automatic transmission (that is the one I would get if I would be into this bike - and that one is roughly those 230 kg wet).
- top: ABS, traction control and auto transmission (wet weight about 245kg if I remember correctly)
The basic does have ABS as far as I know. EU specs dictate all bikes greater than 600cc have ABS.
Any idea where they having the launch,could be nice to see it in the flesh.
The basic does have ABS as far as I know. EU specs dictate all bikes greater than 600cc have ABS.
Nope, basic is without ABS - at least that is how it was on the originally leaked specs from Portugal (dry weight std 208 kg, ABS 212 kg, DCT 222 kg):
(http://i0.wp.com/www.hondaprokevin.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/07/leaked-2016-honda-africa-twin-crf1000l-specs.jpg)
Ek hoor die enigste SA joernalis opbdie internasionale launch is Trailrider. Vir die wat hom ken en onthou.
Nee, daar gaan 'n paar Suid-Afrikaners wees
https://www.youtube.com/v/LREzZyukVgY
Since the launch is this weekend, when will they be in the showrooms?
I'm a bit under the weather at the moment, with a slight fever. Now you know when you want to sleep you have this fever dreams that go round and around... I dreamt about this bike all night last night. The one in HRC colours :drif:
Well - there's only one cure for the "fever" and the "staying awake dreams", and that's to see this when you open your cold dark garage's door: :pot: :ricky:
One day tar and one day gravel
But on these launches they will sometimes allow you to ride when and wherever you want
LS are you there for the launch??
I will be
So what tires for this bike for a Namibia trip ? That would be the first place I would head too and the OEM tires look like they are very tar road bias
Is that what you use on your 990 ?
they pretty much on a par the bikes (looks up for lightening ) - ok safe , whats your mileage ?
Don't know if there were forums in the early nineties, but it would be interesting to know what the discussions were about the then released AT, and what we know today :biggrin:Yes that would be interesting as the pre runner to the AT as we know it was that V 750 aircooled shaft bike they only built 500 of and sadly I think the worst bike mechanically Honda has ever built. (i nearly bought one)
Don't know if there were forums in the early nineties, but it would be interesting to know what the discussions were about the then released AT, and what we know today :biggrin:
Don't know if there were forums in the early nineties, but it would be interesting to know what the discussions were about the then released AT, and what we know today :biggrin:Yes that would be interesting as the pre runner to the AT as we know it was that V 750 aircooled shaft bike they only built 500 of and sadly I think the worst bike mechanically Honda has ever built. (i nearly bought one)
BTW which was first then the AT or the Yamaha 750 Super Tenere? If the Tenere was built first we'd know what the discussions would have been about.
1990?
Wil nou nie hoes, poep of paniek saai nie.
Maar, dis sekerlik een van die mooiste fietse nog ooit gebou!
:thumleft: Honda
Pity that in some markets they make 'dictate' that the base model is only available in one color, to get the sexy colors you may have to stump up for more options, but that is their prerogative - all in all a very impressive machine 'in the flesh'.
another pic, in everyone's favorite color...
(finally, I took a pic without the dreaded cellphone 'shake'...!)
Like thsi bike a lot, but not the right side of the engine.
Too cluttered there as if the engineers could not find enough space to fit stuff and then bolted all on the one side.
Is it only me?
Thanks XRRX :thumleft:
I see the Africa Twin logo on the colourful bikes is in the paintwork itself and it seems that with the black version the logo is just stuck on , I like the black version but it just seems a bit tacky to do that on such an expensive bike - LuckyStriker if you are off to see the bikes in person could you confirm this please ?
Damn .... now I am all confused ...
The nice Red one or the cool White one, ... Eish!
I see the Africa Twin logo on the colourful bikes is in the paintwork itself and it seems that with the black version the logo is just stuck on , I like the black version but it just seems a bit tacky to do that on such an expensive bike - LuckyStriker if you are off to see the bikes in person could you confirm this please ?
I will make a point of it
I see some has stepped seats, not just the Touratech one and some straight flat seats like a 990?
As I have it the stepped seats are stock, the flat one the Touratech
That I think is the Touratech one. Very confusing the different models.
As I have it the stepped seats are stock, the flat one the Touratech
The HRC is a beauty, but it will be a novelty bike if I were to buy one. I have the bikes that fill my purposes as well and see no need to change.G will you clean the garage for this bike? Meaning you'll this have ONE UNO bike to do all your riding with sell all others?
But this new AT does get my juices flowing.
Okay, the launch starts in two hours.
I'm off.
I'll post pics and comments whenever I can - signal, wifi and sobriety permitting (those moto journos are often party animals).
I'll make my way to the venue on a KTM 950, which I suspect is the closest thing to a spiritual equal to the AT. Should be an interesting comparison.
Little smaller than I expected
The HRC is a beauty, but it will be a novelty bike if I were to buy one. I have the bikes that fill my purposes as well and see no need to change.G will you clean the garage for this bike? Meaning you'll this have ONE UNO bike to do all your riding with sell all others?
Too soon to tell?
Nee ek sal nie...ek mag nie die 1150 verkkop nie, en wil nie die ou AT verkoop nie, maar toe gooi vroutjie die gauntlet neer... as ek ophou rook vir 'n jaar kan ek 'n nuwe AT kry. Sy sal wag met haar kar.
Eish !
So, what colour is it going to be? :lol8:The HRC is a beauty, but it will be a novelty bike if I were to buy one. I have the bikes that fill my purposes as well and see no need to change.G will you clean the garage for this bike? Meaning you'll this have ONE UNO bike to do all your riding with sell all others?
Too soon to tell?
Nee ek sal nie...ek mag nie die 1150 verkkop nie, en wil nie die ou AT verkoop nie, maar toe gooi vroutjie die gauntlet neer... as ek ophou rook vir 'n jaar kan ek 'n nuwe AT kry. Sy sal wag met haar kar.
Eish !
So, what colour is it going to be? :lol8:The HRC is a beauty, but it will be a novelty bike if I were to buy one. I have the bikes that fill my purposes as well and see no need to change.G will you clean the garage for this bike? Meaning you'll this have ONE UNO bike to do all your riding with sell all others?
Too soon to tell?
Eish !
Too soon to tell?
Eish !
Too soon to tell?
Eish !
Would love to know where they saw 210km/h coming down Gydo Pass.cthere is realistically one spot you might get it right,but not so sure you would on a bike DS bike.Can't comment or argue the point - as I have absolutely no experience of Gydo Pass and obviously neither of the bike ... :-\
After all the hype really keen to hear what it is like in the real world. Top end is immaterial to me when it comes to DS bikes.
Really hope it is good off the black stuff.
Well these guys attending the launch really have us eating from their hands in suspense!!! :peepwall:
Now, my "informant" has sent me the basic info I wanted - but now I am not allowed to re-post it ... :patch:
His thorough in-depth report will be available on his personal website in a day-or-two with - as I know him - great pictures! (I will then post the link here...)
Well I guess I may give my personal summary of what he has given me:
1. It is great on tar; fast; predictable and safe - but no 1200 eater in a straight line on tar - if that is what you want!
2. It is absolutely amazingly brilliant off-road, incl. sand, loose rocky climbs & descends, river-crossing, "tweespoor roads" and even quarry riding!!!
Apparently Honda tried to give them almost every conceivable riding condition available - and everybody made it through with not even one fall or incident !!!
And then quite amazingly: The DCT seems to be the weapon of choice off-road!!! :eek7: ???
I agree. I want to know if it can go hard en fast on dirt. Is it more 990 or more 1200 GS???
In my books it is already established that it is more 990 than 1200. The specs actually fit the 990 bracket in the market like a glove.
As for hard and fast on dirt. Suppose suspension quality is going to be the question here. Will it be more 800gs or 990?
Hope the report back from the launch touch on this subject.
In my books it is already established that it is more 990 than 1200. The specs actually fit the 990 bracket in the market like a glove.
As for hard and fast on dirt. Suppose suspension quality is going to be the question here. Will it be more 800gs or 990?
I think with the feedback already available, the only question should be: "How much better is it than the 990!!" ... :peepwall:
Really no need to worry about any 800's anymore ... 8)
Thank you , its most appreciated - your impressions on the finish of the standard bikes compared to the ABS and up bikes would be great , somehow it seems that all the attention has been given to the more expensive models and the plain ones seem like an afterthought .
LS, if you can get some pictures of how the aftermarket headlight guard is mounted, I'd appreciate it....
BTW - I'll take any colour !! :drif: But - 1st choice - RED !!
LS sę net een ding , hoe klink hy?
http://theworldaccordingtoluckystriker.blogspot.co.za/ (http://theworldaccordingtoluckystriker.blogspot.co.za/)
The venue for the launch was to be held a little over 100 km from my home and so I declined a lift in the media shuttle. Instead I asked a friend if I could borrow his KTM 950S. I could have gone on my own bike but I reasoned that the KTM 990 was probably the closest to the Africa Twin I was about to test.
Un autre avis, celui du patron de Touratech USA. Les 6 raisons:Yes it definitely can!
1. This bike can do it in the dirt
2. Traction control modes can be changed on-the-flyYes, but ABS can not
3. Honda reliability is legendaryYes, apparently
4. She's a lookerYes
5. It's little in the middle?
6. This motor screams! If you rode it blindfolded you might think it was a KTM.I wouldn't go that far. It sounds a lot different to me
After all the hype really keen to hear what it is like in the real world. Top end is immaterial to me when it comes to DS bikes.
Really hope it is good off the black stuff.
1. It is great on tar; fast; predictable and safe - but no 1200 eater in a straight line on tar - if that is what you want!Yes, very good on tar and very forgiving. A 1200GS will certain kill it, and a 1190. But it really does handle very well
2. It is absolutely amazingly brilliant off-road, incl. sand, loose rocky climbs & descends, river-crossing, "tweespoor roads" and even quarry riding!!!One should use the word amazing a bit more sparingly. It is very good on technical terrain but amazing is a bit strong
Apparently Honda tried to give them almost every conceivable riding condition available - and everybody made it through with not even one fall or incident !!!There were a number of close calls, but yes, I don't know of any offs
And then quite amazingly: The DCT seems to be the weapon of choice off-road!!! :eek7: ???It was my favourite and a number of others, but not everyone agreed.
Yes, it can go hard and fast on dirt. It's more 990 than 1200, but it's no match for a 990's suspension and sheer thrill. I'd choose the AT over a GS any day of the week when it comes to dirt, but the 1200 may be a better long distance tourer.
The Africa Twin is certainly playful and fun, but the power is very linear and predictable whereas the 990 sometimes want to kill you - which is actually hillariously awesome
I wrote my impressions of the past weekend on my blog, with some pics. The attached pic is of yors trooly
http://theworldaccordingtoluckystriker.blogspot.co.za/ (http://theworldaccordingtoluckystriker.blogspot.co.za/)
It's probably an incoherent mess because i wrote it in the space of two hours and I haven't even checked the grammar and spelling yet.
I'll probably rewrite many parts of it tomorrow.
The final version you'll see in Weg (http://weg.netwerk24.com/) magazine will be better written, with stats, less spelling errors and a new angle. All because I'll put a bit more effort into it ;D
Unfortunately the article will only appear in the march issue (on shelf mid-february), but fortunately before the first bikes hit the showroom.
You may copy the text here if you like and ask me questions (again, if you like)
Sorry, I didn't touch on it enough on my blog
If I had a 990 I wouldn't trade it for anything in the world right now, unless I wanted to change the type of riding I want to do.
The AT cannot kill a 990 on dirt - at least, I don't think so.
But the AT is a lot easier than a 990 to live with. the 950S I borrowed to go to the launch is a nasty piece of work, impressive, but nasty. Very primitive and crude but you feel like a kind when you ride it
Sorry, I didn't touch on it enough on my blog
If I had a 990 I wouldn't trade it for anything in the world right now, unless I wanted to change the type of riding I want to do.
The AT cannot kill a 990 on dirt - at least, I don't think so.
But the AT is a lot easier than a 990 to live with. the 950S I borrowed to go to the launch is a nasty piece of work, impressive, but nasty. Very primitive and crude but you feel like a kind when you ride it
Thanks for that feedback. Now I will enjoy my 990 even more.
How does it compare to the 950 in terms of weight while stading stil and moving?
Hoe was die kos by die launch? ;) >:D
LS, you have just made the next three months of my life hell ! Just sold my 800 Adv, now the waiting starts. Thanks for all the meaningful info. :thumleft:
Hoe was die kos by die launch? ;) >:D
Reken die riel sou seker meer ingepas het ;)Hoe was die kos by die launch? ;) >:D
Oraait, maar daar was Zulu-dansers met elke aandete wat baie weird vir die Touwsrivier-distrik is.
Thanks LS for the great feedback :thumleft: Can you lift the front wheel on the DCT for going over obstacles?
LS, please tell us how the motor feels at 120-140 in regards to vibrations ? Perhaps comparing to the 800 BM's
Thank you , its most appreciated - your impressions on the finish of the standard bikes compared to the ABS and up bikes would be great , somehow it seems that all the attention has been given to the more expensive models and the plain ones seem like an afterthought .
The roundel with the Honda wing is a plastic disc with a clear resin finish very similar to the roundel on a BMW.
I'm not sure how it is affixed, probably a small bolt and silicon glue
All the versions have this badge. All the bikes have the same trim level and finish. The higher models simply have more tech (like ABS and auto dual clutch transmission)
Give us your impressions on that hot-water-geyser they added as a pipe. I know you said you'd fit an Akro, but how is the original? Does it purr, snarl, growl, scream, roar, whimper? It does look a bit big for the bike, but I suppose that's just for emission laws and such-like crap?
What aftermarket accessories would you suggest for it?
Did they have some of the plain bikes there ? The black one and the silver one ? Is so any impressions of them , I am swaying between the black and the white bikes .
Thanks for the write up, enjoyed it.
The one positive with regard to the step seat is when you pillion.
Did anybody pillion at the launch?
Thanks for the write up, enjoyed it.
The one positive with regard to the step seat is when you pillion.
Did anybody pillion at the launch?
No. That would've been too weird. ;D
If there is one thing motorcycle journalist obsess about, it's their manliness.
plus there were no girls willing to ride pillion with us
What aftermarket accessories would you suggest for it?
Geez, I don't know.
I'm fairly tall (1.8-something meters) and I didn't meerkat very comfortably, so risers would be my first expense.
Then a luggage plate and a headlight protector.
Everyone has different needs. I, for example, am not bothered by crash bars
Im loving the looks and now even more positive after reading the few reports, I would like to add this as a long distance comfortable mile eater to my stable but I dont think it would replace the XRL....both have their place! :thumleft:
If you like concept art as much as i do, then take a look at these from the launch presentation.
It gives you some insight into the thoughts of the developers.
Did they have some of the plain bikes there ? The black one and the silver one ? Is so any impressions of them , I am swaying between the black and the white bikes .
They had a black one on static display in a conference room. It looked very, very good.
Unfortunately I don't have a pic
There were no silver ones to view
The HRC colour scheme is actually metallic. Metallic red and blue on pearl white. It is stunning when sunlight falls on it.
The red is traditional Honda red, not metallic.
The black is gloss and satin black, very nice as I said. The black obviously also makes it look smaller, until you stand right next to it.
I guess the question to ask you would be - if you decided to purchase the new AT which one would you go for - non-ABS , ABS or DCT/ABS ?
On that line of thought would the more features that the bike has ultimately effect reliability ? I get what Honda was saying about having a steel sub-frame that can be welded together anywhere from Kinshasa to Vladivostok but are there sufficient mechanics to fix a DCT gearbox on that dusty road - or maybe Honda has got it right with a very durable gearbox , that one only time will tell .
Thank you very much for the info, LS. Great write-up on your blog too. Must say I really like this bike from your and Donovan's reports on another thread. Even if it is a Honda. To be able to cruise at 140 on tar (or more, if need be) without killing the engine and then have the Honda's apparent ability on dirt, sounds just right. Like I said on the other thread I am glad that Honda did not get involved in the horsepower war.
Hmmm, ja, ok, financial ruin at this stage...
Nou MOET BMW n nuwe HP2 maak
N LC HP2 is nie n slegte idee nie :thumleft:
XRRX daai boonste foto is n photoshop...
Trailrider meerkat NOOIT :deal: ;)
Die bike moet dan klein van gestalte wees, want dit lyk nogal of hy staan :lol8:
TR's report also very cool.
Am I missing something? Other than the photos I don't really see the report on his FB page? Basically just an intro to a report. Then he says he's off to Moz so will finish later?
Open the pictures, he has posted quite a comments with each picture as well
Yep each picture has a little write up. Echoing very much what LS said in his blog.
Another local write up.
http://www.zabikers.co.za/2015/12/01/first-ride-honda-africa-twin/ (http://www.zabikers.co.za/2015/12/01/first-ride-honda-africa-twin/)
Another local write up.
http://www.zabikers.co.za/2015/12/01/first-ride-honda-africa-twin/ (http://www.zabikers.co.za/2015/12/01/first-ride-honda-africa-twin/)
Thanks - the best one yet!! :thumleft:
Another local write up.
Thanks - the best one yet!! :thumleft:
Agreed.
Throw all the stats you want. Only once you've ridden the bike will it either touch your soul or not.Don't doubt you.I look forward to that day.
Throw all the stats you want. Only once you've ridden the bike will it either touch your soul or not.
I shouldn't come back to this thread.
After reading the latest ZAbiker report, I might also end up with an Africa Twin early next year ;)
If it sounds too good to be true, it usually is.
I want to try one & then decide if I go 690, or AT.
By the time you've thrown all the goodies on a 690 to get the same range as an AT & a bit more power, the cost is close to being the same as an AT.
I'm sure the AT will be better for slabbing for the longer trips too.
But this is the dilemma we sit with in D/S bikes, on the one end of the scale
you get the KTM300 enduro bike for extreme offroad, and on the other end the Yamaha R1, superbly fine-tuned for tar roads. How and where do you match these two extremes?
But this is the dilemma we sit with in D/S bikes, on the one end of the scale you get the KTM300 enduro bike for extreme offroad, and on the other end the Yamaha R1, superbly fine-tuned for tar roads. How and where do you match these two extremes?
A 650 is a wonderful bike but its main drawback is when you want to do long tar stretches, say 1000k's a day with luggage and you want to sit comfortably on the tar at around 140 km/h at below 5000 rpm with something to spare when you have to overtake trucks and such. With this capability and apparent dirt bias, the new Honda seems to fit the bill rather well.
A 650 is a wonderful bike but its main drawback is when you want to do long tar stretches, say 1000k's a day with luggage and you want to sit comfortably on the tar at around 140 km/h at below 5000 rpm with something to spare when you have to overtake trucks and such. With this capability and apparent dirt bias, the new Honda seems to fit the bill rather well.Agreed. And in my case add a pillion every now and then. That's why the 990 is difficult to beat, until this AT that is..
Agreed. And in my case add a pillion every now and then. That's why the 990 is difficult to beat, until this AT that is..
A 650 is a wonderful bike but its main drawback is when you want to do long tar stretches, say 1000k's a day with luggage and you want to sit comfortably on the tar at around 140 km/h at below 5000 rpm with something to spare when you have to overtake trucks and such. With this capability and apparent dirt bias, the new Honda seems to fit the bill rather well.Agreed. And in my case add a pillion every now and then. That's why the 990 is difficult to beat, until this AT that is..
Both those are in the bracket between the 650 class and the big bikes. They do however fall outside the more technical terrain that 2SD would like to ride.
That is why I mentioned the v-strom engine. Think the twin engine will be good at touring and cruising your 140. Would make the bike a bit heavier though.
The 800 bmw is also a good one although it needs to lose a bit of weight. (As in the 800gs enduro thread)
My point is there is not much in this bracket and people go for the heavier bikes rather than the smaller ones.
I find this makes for interesting reading.I think the Honda looks brilliant but not miles in front of the BMW?(Plse don't kill me)
Agreed. And in my case add a pillion every now and then. That's why the 990 is difficult to beat, until this AT that is..
You belong on a Honda mate.
Hello to all those familiar faces btw!