Wild Dog Adventure Riding

General => General Bike Related Banter => Topic started by: KiLRoy on February 02, 2006, 11:30:31 am

Title: testing
Post by: KiLRoy on February 02, 2006, 11:30:31 am
just to see if i can post with my phone\pda. now you can stay on the forum even on a trip  :lol:  

Hein
Title: testing
Post by: JourneyMan on February 02, 2006, 11:38:47 am
Nice idea. Have not thought of doing this.

Can one access internet even if you don't have roaming enabled on a trip outside SA?

Normally I "spunge" on other peeps roaming for emergencies. :oops:  My phone bill will ruin me on roaming if I go outside SA. One pays for incoming calls as well, if I got it right.
Title: testing
Post by: wino on February 02, 2006, 11:41:25 am
my phone is not roaming enabled, and i can also access site and post. i use my phone often for the internet and the cost is low.
Title: testing
Post by: JourneyMan on February 02, 2006, 11:44:37 am
Quote from: "wino"
my phone is not roaming enabled, and i can also access site and post. i use my phone often for the internet and the cost is low.


Outside SA? GPRS will still be working even if your phone does not receive signal for calls?
Title: testing
Post by: KiLRoy on February 02, 2006, 11:46:48 am
I suppose you need to specify where outside SA?

You'll need either a fix line connection (like internet cafe) or some form of mobile capability - most mobile service providers nowadays offer internet access either via gprs, 3g, etc.  You'll pay mostly for the size of the data package eg R20 for 10megs etc

If you have internet access a cheap way of phoning is with voice over IP technologies like Skype.

I just added internet access to my vodacom account - R20 for 20megs per month - setup the phone and account and voiya

Cheers
H
Title: testing
Post by: JourneyMan on February 02, 2006, 11:51:29 am
I'm thinking Desert Run.

Once over the border, (well technically but definately further into Namibia), you must have international roaming activated on your phone otherwise you won't be able to make/recieve calls.

Question: Does GPRS/Internet ability on the phone go hand-in-hand with international roaming? Layman's terms: If you don not have international roaming enabled on the trip, your GPRS will also not work?
Title: testing
Post by: KiLRoy on February 02, 2006, 12:21:40 pm
So what you're saying as The Dude so elegantly put it in The Big Lebowski - "I still prefer to jerk off manually"  :lol:

H
Title: testing
Post by: KiLRoy on February 02, 2006, 12:25:43 pm
ITO the roaming, just check with your SP, but my guess is it would not be a problem since the internet connectivity use the same communication protocol (gprs) as the voice.

Maybe Nam's infrastructure is not yet upgraded to cater for this though?

Cheers
H
Title: testing
Post by: JourneyMan on February 02, 2006, 12:38:10 pm
Worth checking out. But I agree with Michnus as well.

Part of the Namibian trip is to get away from it all for a week or so. I can remember the last one. It was bliss with nobody being able to get hold of you. One did do the regular check up at home just to make sure everything is OK.
Title: testing
Post by: funacide on February 02, 2006, 02:18:40 pm
If you don't have international roaming activated on your phobe, you can't use GPRS as the phone will not be able to connect to the LOCAL network....

Watch out for the charges when in other countries. My one week in Nigeria cost me over R4500. Was it fun opening that bill?????

NOT
Title: testing
Post by: JourneyMan on February 02, 2006, 02:56:11 pm
Quote from: "funacide"
If you don't have international roaming activated on your phobe, you can't use GPRS as the phone will not be able to connect to the LOCAL network....

Watch out for the charges when in other countries. My one week in Nigeria cost me over R4500. Was it fun opening that bill?????

NOT


 :shock:  :shock:

Mind made up now, thank you!