Is the 300km range requirement for the rallye class same as last year? Most home built jobs like front/rear tank KTMs and 3 tank 690s are capable of 275km. Not even sure my CRF450X with 25 litres will get to that. I certainly never got more on an Amageza stage. An RR will do 300km without breaking a sweat.Hi Bill
What happens with the rally quads?
Hoe voel ek na 300km op my 300..dit sal 'n 1ste wees :peepwall: :peepwall:
Sounds like a really well organized event. So sorry I am half way across the world. :(Married?? :peepwall: not just yet :imaposer: end of the year only..
Looking forward to hearing all about it though!
Dewald - Pissies will never be heroes. :laughing7: Married life is making you fat? ;) Kom nou boet. :ricky:
To update after weekend - this longer loop will stay at 270km. :)Is the 300km range requirement for the rallye class same as last year? Most home built jobs like front/rear tank KTMs and 3 tank 690s are capable of 275km. Not even sure my CRF450X with 25 litres will get to that. I certainly never got more on an Amageza stage. An RR will do 300km without breaking a sweat.Hi Bill
Thanks for the feedback it is most welcome, saying 300km to be safe but it currently measures about 270km with some technical sections slowing things down. We want to keep the Rally class as close to real as possible and will check it out with two friends on kitted Rally bikes. We do have the option of allowing a refuel at the last refuel - will keep in mind.
Maybe I should come tag along with the 950....malle-moto. :peepwall:Rickus it would be great to have you down from Koes - some places would be a little Super Enduro on that big 950 however you guys would make it :)
As most will know, I am a rabid Tankwa DS rider, and have been up there many a time, always scoping out the vast landscape with longing, seeing awesome riding spots in a window shopping way... a bit like walking past a bike shop with an empty wallet :'(I am old fashioned and do no like to log on and register to things if not ABSOLUTELY necessary.
Check out the Dropbox link Clive shared in the post above (hint: if you have trouble downloading it, create a free dropbox account of your own, and under options, instead of downloading it, choose "Copy to my Dropbox" - it is instand - and you then download from your personal dropbox.)
If there is one ride you should do this year, whether you are a racer, or just a proficient plastic rider, this is it, the one, the must do.
My only comment, and you can ignore if you are a hard core racer, but this can be much more than a race, you need to bring yourself and your bike and do 500km of stunning riding over 2 days - to look after yourself and your bike and finish, you will also do well in the race standings.
Consider yourselves informed, ignore at your own cost, you will be sorry.
As most will know, I am a rabid Tankwa DS rider, and have been up there many a time, always scoping out the vast landscape with longing, seeing awesome riding spots in a window shopping way... a bit like walking past a bike shop with an empty wallet :'(
Check out the Dropbox link Clive shared in the post above (hint: if you have trouble downloading it, create a free dropbox account of your own, and under options, instead of downloading it, choose "Copy to my Dropbox" - it is instand - and you then download from your personal dropbox.)
If there is one ride you should do this year, whether you are a racer, or just a proficient plastic rider, this is it, the one, the must do.
My only comment, and you can ignore if you are a hard core racer, but this can be much more than a race, you need to bring yourself and your bike and do 500km of stunning riding over 2 days - to look after yourself and your bike and finish, you will also do well in the race standings.
Consider yourselves informed, ignore at your own cost, you will be sorry.
The preparation by the organisers is PHENOMENAL - I was privileged to catch a glimpse of it (and of the route) ...
If you are a half decent rider with a rally bike or lighter (I wouldn't make it on my F650GS Dakar) go for it! [if you can still get an entry] :thumleft:
TANKWA X 500 RALLY
22 - 24 SEPTEMBER 2017
SPYSKAART
Awesome that means I can pack super light. I might have missed it, but will there be a bar too? :peepwall:
Maybe next year I'll have enough time to prep then the BRP can take part in the race
I'm DYING for some news!!
How did it go??!!!
This was my digs for the weekend. I basically parked my bakkie, took out my bike kit and threw a mattress and pillows in the back and I was sorted :thumleft: Honestly, what more does a man need? ;D
:drif:
. . . one day . . .
Am I just digitally challenged or are the final results (per class) posted in an obscure place . . .?
:drif:
. . . one day . . .
Am I just digitally challenged or are the final results (per class) posted in an obscure place . . .?
Hi Herman
sorry I forgot the results can be found at www.zatiming.co.za under ESKM section
Next year.... 750km for off-road bikes & maybe1000 for Rally
Herman - we are thinking about including adventure bikes next year where they would exclude some technical sections (if there is enough interest ??? Dave (Beserker is keen to help manage that section). Will start posting early 2018 to see interest.:drif:
. . . one day . . .
Hi Herman
sorry I forgot the results can be found at www.zatiming.co.za under ESKM section
Next year.... 750km for off-road bikes & maybe1000 for Rally
Thanks Clive! I checked out the results :thumleft:
. . . you nearly killed me on an easy day of track setting, barely giving me hope that one day I could enter the race . . . and then you klap me with the news of a 750 -1000 km!!!
SOUNDS AWESOME!
Herman - we are thinking about including adventure bikes next year where they would exclude some technical sections (if there is enough interest ??? Dave (Beserker is keen to help manage that section). Will start posting early 2018 to see interest.
... we are thinking about including adventure bikes next year ...
That Ellis bloke knows how to ride, no doubt about it! :laughing7:
This sounds hugely interesting, hopefully we'll see some of those Honda Quest boys on the line showing us what that Africa Twin can do in a race >:D
Comes with lessons learnt the hard way:
Fence Strike: https://www.facebook.com/Dyfie/videos/10213067713190776/ (https://www.facebook.com/Dyfie/videos/10213067713190776/)
Overcooking it: https://www.facebook.com/michaelmichaelellis/videos/10159445905685704/ (https://www.facebook.com/michaelmichaelellis/videos/10159445905685704/)
David Ellis did well to walk away from those two spills, he was sore but continued throughout that weekend. There was a point that weekend I thought we should have taken medics with as Kevin wrote of his quad (at 130km +) also riding for the camera he was very lucky to survive it after completely destroying his YFZ450..... will post the footage once Michael has a chance to edit.
Rickus - I've seen you handle that BIG KTM, you make it look so easy, using the bikes power to work for you..... For sure we will cater for adventure bikes 2018 also Kobus Potgieter helped and will be involved 2018 again so more sections for Rally Bikes too. We learnt a lot and will take it to next level 2018. Provisional Date 21-24 Sept 2018.
This sounds hugely interesting, hopefully we'll see some of those Honda Quest boys on the line showing us what that Africa Twin can do in a race >:D
I really hope you include the Adventure bike segment.....I am sure at least 1 fat oke from Nam will join the fun :peepwall:
Comes with lessons learnt the hard way:
Fence Strike: https://www.facebook.com/Dyfie/videos/10213067713190776/ (https://www.facebook.com/Dyfie/videos/10213067713190776/)
Overcooking it: https://www.facebook.com/michaelmichaelellis/videos/10159445905685704/ (https://www.facebook.com/michaelmichaelellis/videos/10159445905685704/)
I really hope you include the Adventure bike segment.....I am sure at least 1 fat oke from Nam will join the fun :peepwall:
From what I heard, this "1 fat oke" is sandbagging :peepwall:
Rickus, I believe that a certain HPN rider is also interested. Now all we need is a S10 and a AT.
ps: Sandbagging Definition: To conceal or misrepresent one's true position, potential, or intent especially in order to take advantage.
From what I heard, this "1 fat oke" is sandbagging :peepwall:
Rickus, I believe that a certain HPN rider is also interested. Now all we need is a S10 and a AT.
ps: Sandbagging Definition: To conceal or misrepresent one's true position, potential, or intent especially in order to take advantage.