Wild Dog Adventure Riding

Technical Section => Make / Model Specific Discussions => BMW 1200 LC => Topic started by: Donniepat on September 20, 2017, 02:37:44 pm

Title: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Donniepat on September 20, 2017, 02:37:44 pm
My bike se agterwiel pressure monitor gee n intermittent reading op die dash. Partykeer vat dit verewig om die lesing te gee. Partykeer vat dit so lank dat ek warning van pressure kry en dan ander tye gaan dit aan soos normaal.... Batterye in sensor of miskien n fault code wat reset moet word? Enige iemand dit al ondervind?
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: HermanH on September 20, 2017, 03:10:51 pm
Ek het dieselfde gehad. Terug gegaan BMW toe, hulle het die agter sensor vervang en alles calibrate weer.
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: JABO on September 21, 2017, 10:52:34 am
Ook dieselfde gehad.
Is n geseelde unit so hy moet vervang word.
Wonder wat gaan gebeur as almal se batterye begin pap raak.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Esplin on October 30, 2017, 04:05:46 pm
I was told to disconnect them. Never work properly.
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: TheBear on October 31, 2017, 12:49:46 pm
My bike se agterwiel pressure monitor gee n intermittent reading op die dash. Partykeer vat dit verewig om die lesing te gee. Partykeer vat dit so lank dat ek warning van pressure kry en dan ander tye gaan dit aan soos normaal.... Batterye in sensor of miskien n fault code wat reset moet word? Enige iemand dit al ondervind?

Klink soos 'n battery wat pap word.

Ook dieselfde gehad.
Is n geseelde unit so hy moet vervang word.
Wonder wat gaan gebeur as almal se batterye begin pap raak.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

It is possible to replace the batteries.  Less than R10 for two at Dischem. 

There is a video on YouTube of someone doing a RT.  I used the video to replace two on a GS successfully.   The main issue is getting them out and back in as the tires need to be removed.
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Donniepat on December 05, 2017, 09:59:51 pm
For some reason - its back online as per normal....
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: TheBear on December 08, 2017, 10:22:40 am
My front wheel did the same a week or so ago.  Weird, but my guess remains a battery on the way out.  My wife's 09 did the same a few years ago.  Failure became more frequent until it stayed dead.
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: GSLaaitie on December 14, 2017, 11:48:16 am
Mine does exactly the same (2014, 42k km). New units are crazy expensive, so I've just gotten used to is.
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Esplin on December 28, 2017, 02:53:57 pm
If you buy tyres from BMW would they automatically change the batt or do you have to ask?
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: OomD on December 28, 2017, 09:26:16 pm
If you buy tyres from BMW would they automatically change the batt or do you have to ask?
Being a sealed unit, BMW do not replace the batteries. They only replace the whole sensor. Therefor Bear's DIY option of replacing just the batteries.
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Antois on January 12, 2018, 10:01:00 am
My 2015 GS start with the same problem 2 weeks ago, which is ridiculous if these batteries only  last 2-3 years this is  then a money making thing considering the cost to replace them at the agents. Could there be other problems, any other advise?
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: TheBear on January 12, 2018, 10:04:13 am
My 2015 GS start with the same problem 2 weeks ago, which is ridiculous if these batteries only  last 2-3 years this is  then a money making thing considering the cost to replace them at the agents. Could there be other problems, any other advise?

Usually these symptoms indicate that the battery is going flat.  The TPS and ECU can loose comms with each other for a period, but that does not happen often.
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Donniepat on January 16, 2018, 01:04:21 pm
Got a quote this week - R2200 per sensor plus labour.
They did mention that it could just be calibrated. I should be so lucky ....
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Antois on January 16, 2018, 03:09:37 pm
Phoned Bavarian today and got the same answer
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: zebra - Flying Brick on January 16, 2018, 03:41:33 pm
video 1
https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=replacing+battery+sensors+BMW+1200+GS


video 2
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q-_LSzdH3U8

You need remarkably few tools, but DO need a simple GLUE gun (hot melt type).
Chris
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Jughead on January 19, 2018, 09:32:44 am
video 1
https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=replacing+battery+sensors+BMW+1200+GS


video 2
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q-_LSzdH3U8

You need remarkably few tools, but DO need a simple GLUE gun (hot melt type).
Chris

Both those videos are complete hack jobs.  You stand a very good chance of pulling the copper tracks off the circuit board below the battery.

At position 3:19 in the second video he is lifting the side of the battery where the lower tab attaches to the board.  He is just lucky the tab broke off the battery side.  9 times out of 10 it will break the board side as that is the weaker position.

The correct way to do it is to remove the surrounding sealer all the way around and then desolder the battery from the board.  Then replace with a new battery with the solder tabs, not the ones he is using.

These are the correct batteries to use.
(http://img.everychina.com/nimg/8c/79/daf012f68a42c94cc6a48eb55f61-600x600-0/lithium_cr2032_battery_with_solder_tabs_pins.jpg)

I do them like that all the time and very rarely have them fail soon again.  Did one for Mickey recently.  AFAIK it is still working well.

Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: zebra - Flying Brick on January 19, 2018, 09:36:18 am
thanks, Jughead, appreciate it.
Chris
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Mikie on January 19, 2018, 09:41:35 am
video 1
https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=replacing+battery+sensors+BMW+1200+GS


video 2
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q-_LSzdH3U8

You need remarkably few tools, but DO need a simple GLUE gun (hot melt type).
Chris

Both those videos are complete hack jobs.  You stand a very good chance of pulling the copper tracks off the circuit board below the battery.

At position 3:19 in the second video he is lifting the side of the battery where the lower tab attaches to the board.  He is just lucky the tab broke off the battery side.  9 times out of 10 it will break the board side as that is the weaker position.

The correct way to do it is to remove the surrounding sealer all the way around and then desolder the battery from the board.  Then replace with a new battery with the solder tabs, not the ones he is using.

These are the correct batteries to use.
(http://img.everychina.com/nimg/8c/79/daf012f68a42c94cc6a48eb55f61-600x600-0/lithium_cr2032_battery_with_solder_tabs_pins.jpg)

I do them like that all the time and very rarely have them fail soon again.  Did one for Mickey recently.  AFAIK it is still working well.

Yep still working perfectly!!
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Jughead on January 19, 2018, 10:17:39 am
 :thumleft:
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Mikie on January 19, 2018, 10:43:17 am
My previously buckled front rim that you straightened for me is also still Mint,
I still think you need to move to Jozi, we need a TOP CLASS mechanic like you here
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Jughead on January 19, 2018, 10:47:27 am
..., which is ridiculous if these batteries only  last 2-3 years this is  then a money making thing considering the cost to replace them at the agents.

Note that these are Schrader TPMS units and not made by BMW.  They are the same units used in the BMW cars, Mercedes Benz, Audi, VW, etc, etc.

Same with the ABS pumps, made by FTE
Same with the brakes, made by Brembo
Even the oil cooler is made by (or for) KTM
The list goes on and on.
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: EssBee on February 05, 2018, 08:54:51 am
Ok, mine started some nonsense this weekend. I had been riding for about half an hour when the warning light came on. The pressure reading remained as is which was 2.3. I got to my destination and then when leaving it was fine, no warning, pressure same. Then, again, after some time the warning light came on. This morning coming to work same story, no warning and presure normal then after a shorter period of time the warning light came on.

Is this also a battery issue???
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Mikie on February 05, 2018, 09:31:13 am
Ok, mine started some nonsense this weekend. I had been riding for about half an hour when the warning light came on. The pressure reading remained as is which was 2.3. I got to my destination and then when leaving it was fine, no warning, pressure same. Then, again, after some time the warning light came on. This morning coming to work same story, no warning and presure normal then after a shorter period of time the warning light came on.

Is this also a battery issue???

Your bike is new enough, take it to your local stealer and let them fix it up
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: EssBee on February 05, 2018, 10:48:26 am
It's out of warranty.... :(
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Mikie on February 05, 2018, 10:51:32 am
It's out of warranty.... :(

Fark


Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: EssBee on February 06, 2018, 01:38:31 pm
Now it's behaving itself....well, it did this morning.
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Antois on February 06, 2018, 02:56:22 pm
Anyone know if the battery is 2050 or 2032
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Mikie on February 07, 2018, 07:30:05 am
Anyone know if the battery is 2050 or 2032

2032 as far as I remember
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: OomD on February 07, 2018, 07:42:08 am
Anyone know if the battery is 2050 or 2032

2032 as far as I remember
Yes  :thumleft:
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Antois on February 07, 2018, 08:25:54 am
Dankie, een wat ek uitgehaal het is 2050, lyk my die verskil is slegs die dikte 5.0mm of 3.2mm
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: OomD on February 07, 2018, 11:53:03 am
Dankie, een wat ek uitgehaal het is 2050, lyk my die verskil is slegs die dikte 5.0mm of 3.2mm
As jy 'n 5mm dik een kan inpas (ek praat nou van die battery ;) ) doen dit so, hy sal langer hou (dikker = meer kapasiteit... gewoonlik).
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: TheBear on February 07, 2018, 01:27:21 pm
Dankie, een wat ek uitgehaal het is 2050, lyk my die verskil is slegs die dikte 5.0mm of 3.2mm
As jy 'n 5mm dik een kan inpas (ek praat nou van die battery ;) ) doen dit so, hy sal langer hou (dikker = meer kapasiteit... gewoonlik).

Behoort redelik maklik the pas.
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: EssBee on February 20, 2018, 01:30:07 pm
Now it's behaving itself....well, it did this morning.

Playing up again...wtf....BUT it NEVER does it immediately after starting. It seems it 'needs' about half an hour of riding to start its warning, for instance on my commute which is 20 - 25 minutes, it hardly ever does it.
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Mikie on February 20, 2018, 02:33:17 pm
Now it's behaving itself....well, it did this morning.

Playing up again...wtf....BUT it NEVER does it immediately after starting. It seems it 'needs' about half an hour of riding to start its warning, for instance on my commute which is 20 - 25 minutes, it hardly ever does it.

Fucking electronics, you been to BMW yet?
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: GSLaaitie on February 20, 2018, 06:08:44 pm
Now it's behaving itself....well, it did this morning.

Playing up again...wtf....BUT it NEVER does it immediately after starting. It seems it 'needs' about half an hour of riding to start its warning, for instance on my commute which is 20 - 25 minutes, it hardly ever does it.
I have exactly the same problem. Sometimes it just gives a dash as a reading, sometimes it gives a believable value. Sometimes after riding for a while, it suddenly gives a warning. Sometimes it doesn't. I don't have money for a new one and don't have time or patience for a battery swop, so I've been riding in Enduro pro with TP off.
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Bundu on February 20, 2018, 08:16:28 pm
a friend of mine did his one TPM sensor battery replacement last week - similar sensor as BMW, but the KTM has a CR2050HR battery - looks like it has higher capacity and can handle higher temps than the standard 2032 batteries

Most of these TPMS are also available on AliExpress - IIRC around R250
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: EssBee on February 21, 2018, 08:46:28 am
@ Mikie...no, not yet.
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: EssBee on February 22, 2018, 08:04:47 am
This morning - change in pattern - the RED light came on a mere 5 minutes after leaving home!!!  :o Then, after about 20kms it changed to the 'usual' orange light. Pressure normal.

I think I am going to approach BMW even though my warranty has long expired ( they did, afterall, replace my FD in December...because my service history is 100% etc etc ).

PS...what is the difference in a RED warning light and an Orange warning light?
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Antois on February 23, 2018, 02:10:12 pm
Unfortunately I cannot find a 2050 anywhere, only the 2032. I have already replaced the battery on an old unit with a 2032 which was quick and easy, still want to take to BMW and see if their test instrument pick-up the signal. If that is successful then will do the original sensor and hope that do not require re-calibration.
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Mikie on February 26, 2018, 07:24:54 am
Unfortunately I cannot find a 2050 anywhere, only the 2032. I have already replaced the battery on an old unit with a 2032 which was quick and easy, still want to take to BMW and see if their test instrument pick-up the signal. If that is successful then will do the original sensor and hope that do not require re-calibration.

Shouldn't require re-calibrating
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Antois on February 26, 2018, 02:59:11 pm
Apparently when you remove the battery it loses its memory, hope not that is the case.
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: EssBee on March 02, 2018, 09:11:47 am
Ok, I give up.
Scoot was booked in for Monday morning.

Preceeding Friday, after slightly INFLATING the rear, on my way to work, NO warning, BUT, suddenly NO READING from the front!

So....Monday...BMW's diagnosis :
Rear - under inflated...."the K51's will show a warning at a higher presure than the older K25's" that I was used to....like 2.1 vs 1.9....and "temperature can also affect it" ( it was 2.2 and occasionally dropped to 2.1 hence triggered the warning ) Undertandable.
Front - battery is flat...and he showed me on his hand held device....ZAR2.3k for replacement? No thanks.

So off I went.....and since then IT HAS BEEN WORKING FINE....front and back....

Ek weet daarem nie.
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Antois on March 02, 2018, 03:25:46 pm
I took a TPS which I have done a battery replacement for testing, unfortunately it was not sending a signal. The mechanic told me 9/10 it will not work apparently the sensor is very sensitive and easily damage when replacing the batte
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Donniepat on July 17, 2018, 12:16:47 pm
Anyone know if the battery is 2050 or 2032

2032 as far as I remember

Did this yesterday and installed this battery into the rear sensor. Most efford in this job is to remove the tyre. The rest is relatively simple. Sensor is now back online and picks up a reading almost instantly. Thanx for the advise Mike.
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Donniepat on July 17, 2018, 12:18:03 pm
Apparently when you remove the battery it loses its memory, hope not that is the case.

Not the case...
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Daffyd on October 29, 2018, 08:59:43 am
can we get them recalibrated or does BM do that at a service (and charge an arm and a leg) my rear shows 2.2 but when at pumps its 2.5
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: OomD on October 29, 2018, 01:01:52 pm
I'd rather say the pump is out... way out. Garage pumps are not know for accurate pressure readings.

Edit: And, if I recall, the bike's sensor shows a temperature-corrected value.
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: TheBear on October 29, 2018, 03:19:01 pm
Ok, I give up.
Scoot was booked in for Monday morning.

Preceeding Friday, after slightly INFLATING the rear, on my way to work, NO warning, BUT, suddenly NO READING from the front!

So....Monday...BMW's diagnosis :
Rear - under inflated...."the K51's will show a warning at a higher presure than the older K25's" that I was used to....like 2.1 vs 1.9....and "temperature can also affect it" ( it was 2.2 and occasionally dropped to 2.1 hence triggered the warning ) Undertandable.
Front - battery is flat...and he showed me on his hand held device....ZAR2.3k for replacement? No thanks.

So off I went.....and since then IT HAS BEEN WORKING FINE....front and back....

Ek weet daarem nie.

Hulle doen presies dit as die battery begin pap word.  Werk aan en af.
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Antois on November 02, 2018, 02:51:01 pm
Sensors all read 2-4 below actual, no calibration
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Colinski on May 09, 2019, 12:53:15 pm
Revival of the painfull topic, but for what it is worth, Sasol garages have fitted digital tyre inflators.  Key in the pressure and it stops pumping when you get to what you selected.  Pretty accurate as well.  Tested with a separate gauge, spot on.
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Jughead on May 09, 2019, 02:15:34 pm
Sensors all read 2-4 below actual, no calibration

Actually there is a little trick to getting these things to display the correct (or very near correct) pressure.

Deflate the tyre completely.  When the tyre is COMPLETELY deflated, wake the sensor up with a wake-up tool.  It will now measure and reflect 0.0Bar.  Now reinflate and it should be almost spot on.
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: OomD on May 09, 2019, 02:32:11 pm
Revival of the painfull topic, but for what it is worth, Sasol garages have fitted digital tyre inflators.  Key in the pressure and it stops pumping when you get to what you selected.  Pretty accurate as well.  Tested with a separate gauge, spot on.
That's awesome. Long ago garages used to have this ability, but with mechanical gauges. Who can remember? You turn the knob till the needle shows the desired pressure, then it inflates and you listen for when the "ge-clang ge-clang" sound slows to a stop.
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Bundu on May 09, 2019, 10:11:41 pm
I'm a bit schizophrenic.... my cars tyres I top up at the filling station, but my bike I do at home when the tyres are cold
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Colinski on May 10, 2019, 08:49:54 am
Good move, will get the best life out of them that way.
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Antois on May 10, 2019, 11:51:24 am
Jughead what is this wake-up tool?
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Mikie on May 10, 2019, 12:24:09 pm
Jughead what is this wake-up tool?

One of these goodies

https://www.hexcode.co.za/products/gs-911/procedures/rdc
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: OomD on May 10, 2019, 12:38:51 pm
Jughead what is this wake-up tool?
I got me one from Banggood when I did my sensors batteries, I paid a whopping R189!

https://www.banggood.com/EL-50448-Auto-Tire-Pressure-Monitor-Sensor-Car-TPMS-Activation-Reset-Tool-OEC-T5-for-GMOpel-Motor-p-1046947.html?rmmds=search&cur_warehouse=CN
Title: Re: Tyre Pressure Monitors
Post by: Jughead on May 10, 2019, 02:58:11 pm
Jughead what is this wake-up tool?

One of these.  Ateq VT30

(https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/71Nn7wgisoL._SY450_.jpg)