Wild Dog Adventure Riding

Technical Section => Make / Model Specific Discussions => BMW 1200 LC => Topic started by: Daffyd on October 17, 2018, 12:51:42 pm

Title: Can you get Enduro pro plug aftermarket
Post by: Daffyd on October 17, 2018, 12:51:42 pm
Good day Gents, Iím looking at coming over to your side and getting a 1200 LC, the bike I am looking at only goes up to enduro. If at a later stage I want pro would I be able to get a  plug for it or am I stuck?

Thanks in advance

Dathyn


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: Can you get Enduro pro plug aftermarket
Post by: Frannarossi on October 17, 2018, 12:53:30 pm
The extra plug "dongle" should be under the front seat
Title: Re: Can you get Enduro pro plug aftermarket
Post by: Daffyd on October 17, 2018, 12:55:45 pm
The extra plug "dongle" should be under the front seat
Thanks I did check but itís not there


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: Can you get Enduro pro plug aftermarket
Post by: caconcepts on October 17, 2018, 01:00:03 pm
The extra plug "dongle" should be under the front seat
Thanks I did check but itís not there


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I have one for you..... :3some: :3some: :3some: :3some: :3some:
Title: Re: Can you get Enduro pro plug aftermarket
Post by: DavidMorrisXp on October 17, 2018, 01:15:20 pm
Good day Gents, Iím looking at coming over to your side and getting a 1200 LC, the bike I am looking at only goes up to enduro. If at a later stage I want pro would I be able to get a  plug for it or am I stuck?

Thanks in advance

Dathyn


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Try Joel at Continental Port Elizabeth, he is a member here - Joel@Continental_BMW_P

0837141575
Title: Re: Can you get Enduro pro plug aftermarket
Post by: Daffyd on October 17, 2018, 02:53:53 pm
The extra plug "dongle" should be under the front seat
Thanks I did check but itís not there


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I have one for you..... :3some: :3some: :3some: :3some: :3some:
Do you know if one can just plug it in and it will work? He said it is full spec. Pm a price please


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: Can you get Enduro pro plug aftermarket
Post by: OomD on October 17, 2018, 03:04:45 pm
Given the cost and development effort of these dongles I would be very surprised if you can plug an arbitrary one into your bike and have it work. Even the gear-shift is "married" to the bike it is installed on and won't work if you transfer it to another bike, as far as I know. It would probably be tied to the VIN of the bike it originally came with, and have encrypted comms, etc.

But, perhaps I am wrong and then you'll be in luck! Either way, let us know here what the outcome is.
Title: Re: Can you get Enduro pro plug aftermarket
Post by: Daffyd on October 17, 2018, 03:24:17 pm
Given the cost and development effort of these dongles I would be very surprised if you can plug an arbitrary one into your bike and have it work. Even the gear-shift is "married" to the bike it is installed on and won't work if you transfer it to another bike, as far as I know. It would probably be tied to the VIN of the bike it originally came with, and have encrypted comms, etc.

But, perhaps I am wrong and then you'll be in luck! Either way, let us know here what the outcome is.

Thatís what I thought but one forum a guy said that the ďplugĒ just bridges the wiring to activate and he just used a piece of paperclip to bridge the wires on the bike and it worked.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: Can you get Enduro pro plug aftermarket
Post by: OomD on October 18, 2018, 06:57:38 am
Given the cost and development effort of these dongles I would be very surprised if you can plug an arbitrary one into your bike and have it work. Even the gear-shift is "married" to the bike it is installed on and won't work if you transfer it to another bike, as far as I know. It would probably be tied to the VIN of the bike it originally came with, and have encrypted comms, etc.

But, perhaps I am wrong and then you'll be in luck! Either way, let us know here what the outcome is.

Thatís what I thought but one forum a guy said that the ďplugĒ just bridges the wiring to activate and he just used a piece of paperclip to bridge the wires on the bike and it worked.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
He's talking kak.
Title: Re: Can you get Enduro pro plug aftermarket
Post by: Daffyd on October 18, 2018, 04:06:59 pm
Turns out believe it or not, any plug will work, this was confirm by two separate BMW okes. Iím not about to try a paperclip but as long as it a full spec a ďplugĒ will work


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: Can you get Enduro pro plug aftermarket
Post by: DavidMorrisXp on October 18, 2018, 04:38:22 pm
I would get the right BMW one, I wouldn't want a ECU failure and BMW can say the dongle was the cause
Title: Re: Can you get Enduro pro plug aftermarket
Post by: caconcepts on October 18, 2018, 04:49:26 pm
Turns out believe it or not, any plug will work, this was confirm by two separate BMW okes. Iím not about to try a paperclip but as long as it a full spec a ďplugĒ will work


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Daffyd, mine is a a BMW plug off a 2014 GSA.
Title: Re: Can you get Enduro pro plug aftermarket
Post by: YoungGSer on October 18, 2018, 08:36:54 pm
Good day Gents, Iím looking at coming over to your side and getting a 1200 LC, the bike I am looking at only goes up to enduro. If at a later stage I want pro would I be able to get a  plug for it or am I stuck?

Thanks in advance

Dathyn


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Try Joel at Continental Port Elizabeth, he is a member here - Joel@Continental_BMW_P

0837141575
He doesnít work there anymore as far as Iím aware.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: Can you get Enduro pro plug aftermarket
Post by: K-9 on October 24, 2018, 12:39:36 pm
many written off bikes out there, find a friendly dealer to get a plug. 
Title: Re: Can you get Enduro pro plug aftermarket
Post by: Bravofox on October 30, 2018, 07:18:28 am
Saw on advrider forum that any wire works as it is just a circuit that is closed.

Anyway, my bike was delivered from the dealer with the plug installed. I removed it over the weekend to test the "normal" Enduro, as the manual states that Enduro PRO is suited for knobby tyres off-road, whereas normal Enduro is suited for stock tyres off-road. Normal Enduro felt better for my non-aggressive riding style, and I was making plans on how to keep the dongle out, but the dealer did not provide the cover to protect the exposed plug from dust an dirt. I ended up plugging it back in (so I cannot loose it) and I have setup the Enduro PRO to function like the Normal Enduro mode through the menus, which is allot better than fiddling with a plug.
Title: Re: Can you get Enduro pro plug aftermarket
Post by: OomD on October 30, 2018, 07:47:30 am
Saw on advrider forum that any wire works as it is just a circuit that is closed.

Anyway, my bike was delivered from the dealer with the plug installed. I removed it over the weekend to test the "normal" Enduro, as the manual states that Enduro PRO is suited for knobby tyres off-road, whereas normal Enduro is suited for stock tyres off-road. Normal Enduro felt better for my non-aggressive riding style, and I was making plans on how to keep the dongle out, but the dealer did not provide the cover to protect the exposed plug from dust an dirt. I ended up plugging it back in (so I cannot loose it) and I have setup the Enduro PRO to function like the Normal Enduro mode through the menus, which is allot better than fiddling with a plug.
Apart from enabling Enduro Pro (and also DYNA for road profiles) the other advantage is that it remembers your last settings, those related to ABS, suspension, Traction Control and riding mode. Without the plug it would be like to older aircooled bikes, you would have to switch off ABS each time you turn on the ignition, for example, when riding offroad.