Wild Dog Adventure Riding

Technical Section => Make / Model Specific Discussions => KTM LC4 400/610/640 & 690 => Topic started by: 777 on April 01, 2012, 05:12:14 pm

Title: 690 Mapping switch
Post by: 777 on April 01, 2012, 05:12:14 pm
Was fiddling with my bike after getting it back from service, took a look at the map settings, they say 3 is the best to have it on, but for the life of me i am not sure if this is acatully on 3  as i cannot see any real markingings or idicator as to show where the three must be placed, in this k@k pic  i took the pen show a sort of 'mark" that it is set at , is this correct?
Title: Re: 690 Mapping switch
Post by: PEET WEET on April 01, 2012, 05:34:01 pm
Was fiddling with my bike after getting it back from service, took a look at the map settings, they say 3 is the best to have it on, but for the life of me i am not sure if this is acatully on 3  as i cannot see any real markingings or idicator as to show where the three must be placed, in this k@k pic  i took the pen show a sort of 'mark" that it is set at , is this correct?

Just go and look carefully,there is a marking on the round black small knobb that the white one is connected on..It will show a marking on it and that will indicate the setting its on  :thumleft:

And you will want to be on setting 2, Thats advancad setting with very direct responsiveness !
Title: Re: 690 Mapping switch
Post by: 777 on April 01, 2012, 05:50:57 pm
Was fiddling with my bike after getting it back from service, took a look at the map settings, they say 3 is the best to have it on, but for the life of me i am not sure if this is acatully on 3  as i cannot see any real markingings or idicator as to show where the three must be placed, in this k@k pic  i took the pen show a sort of 'mark" that it is set at , is this correct?

I had it on two and found it very  snatchy , i do a lot of techincal riding and prefer 3, but wil put on 2 just to feel it again, i last had it on 2 about a year ago.
Title: Re: 690 Mapping switch
Post by: 777 on April 01, 2012, 05:52:57 pm
Was fiddling with my bike after getting it back from service, took a look at the map settings, they say 3 is the best to have it on, but for the life of me i am not sure if this is acatully on 3  as i cannot see any real markingings or idicator as to show where the three must be placed, in this k@k pic  i took the pen show a sort of 'mark" that it is set at , is this correct?

So must the white knob on the top line up up with the number 3 , or must the 3 line up up a marking on the black housing i show in my pic withthe pen?
Title: Re: 690 Mapping switch
Post by: PEET WEET on April 01, 2012, 06:55:53 pm
Was fiddling with my bike after getting it back from service, took a look at the map settings, they say 3 is the best to have it on, but for the life of me i am not sure if this is acatully on 3  as i cannot see any real markingings or idicator as to show where the three must be placed, in this k@k pic  i took the pen show a sort of 'mark" that it is set at , is this correct?

So must the white knob on the top line up up with the number 3 , or must the 3 line up up a marking on the black housing i show in my pic withthe pen?









 777

My key is pointing at the white mark that the 2/3 must align with  :thumleft:
Title: Re: 690 Mapping switch
Post by: 777 on April 01, 2012, 07:00:05 pm
Was fiddling with my bike after getting it back from service, took a look at the map settings, they say 3 is the best to have it on, but for the life of me i am not sure if this is acatully on 3  as i cannot see any real markingings or idicator as to show where the three must be placed, in this k@k pic  i took the pen show a sort of 'mark" that it is set at , is this correct?

Mine does not have the white mark, i must go relook then, it seem it is on that 'flat " part, appreaoite the trouble you went too

 777

My key is pointing at the white mark that the 2/3 must align with  :thumleft:
Title: Re: 690 Mapping switch
Post by: PEET WEET on April 01, 2012, 07:04:32 pm
Was fiddling with my bike after getting it back from service, took a look at the map settings, they say 3 is the best to have it on, but for the life of me i am not sure if this is acatully on 3  as i cannot see any real markingings or idicator as to show where the three must be placed, in this k@k pic  i took the pen show a sort of 'mark" that it is set at , is this correct?

Mine does not have the white mark, i must go relook then, it seem it is on that 'flat " part, appreaoite the trouble you went too

 777

My key is pointing at the white mark that the 2/3 must align with  :thumleft:

Ja that is very strange !!! Me and Bossiekop's 690's has the same Flat area with the white mark it the middel of it  ??? He has a Enduro and me an R....cant see why yours wount be the same...Youre 690 just an Enduro with an conversion...Right

Think if you put it pointing to the flat area on the round knob youwill be more ore less OK !!!Hope you get it sorted   :thumleft:
Title: Re: 690 Mapping switch
Post by: 777 on April 01, 2012, 07:17:28 pm
Txs
Title: Re: 690 Mapping switch
Post by: Jay-CR on April 02, 2012, 03:30:44 pm
Ok stupid question but where is the mapping switch and what does map 1, 2 and 3 mean/do?
Title: Re: 690 Mapping switch
Post by: 777 on April 02, 2012, 03:37:32 pm
Under the seat near the fusde box will have a round rubber cover , must pull of to expose the switch
Title: Re: 690 Mapping switch
Post by: Jay-CR on April 02, 2012, 04:02:40 pm
Thanks! :thumleft:
Title: Re: 690 Mapping switch
Post by: Blender on April 02, 2012, 07:20:42 pm
Position 2 is the HAPPY setting!!!   :ricky:

Map 0 is for poor fuel or something  ???
Map 1 is Soft / reduced performance
Map 2 is performance / advanced
Map 3 is standard performance. Lekker when you need a bit slower throttle control!

Map 4-9 is the same as 3.
Title: Re: 690 Mapping switch
Post by: 777 on April 03, 2012, 07:35:27 am
Found my switch was on 8, put it on 2 will be intresting to see if it make a diffrence,as i under stand 3 and 8 are the same, it must have bing on 8 for the past year or so??!!
Title: Re: 690 Mapping switch
Post by: SpeedMetal on April 06, 2012, 06:18:19 pm
Also used to always have mine set to 9, just changed it to 2 and doing a bit of a tech ride tomorrow. Will report back.
Title: Re: 690 Mapping switch
Post by: Bill the Bong on April 06, 2012, 07:50:20 pm
I use mine as an off-road only toy.  Where I live, off-road meand soft river sand or dunes.  I keep it on 3.  When I try to pull away in sand on setting 2, it just digs in. Monster bike  :ricky:
Title: Re: 690 Mapping switch
Post by: Bill the Bong on April 06, 2012, 07:56:53 pm
For what its worth, Leo Vince makes a remote bar mounted map switch for the 690.  Allows you to switch maps without taking the seat off, and as such, to react to different conditions.  The only problem is that its a shit blue and white colour.  Plug and play.  The rest of the KTM off-road range's on-the-fly map switch doesn't work on the 690
Title: Re: 690 Mapping switch
Post by: 777 on April 08, 2012, 01:44:27 pm
Put mine in 2 yesterday , after 10 km moved back to 3 , it is jusyt to "snacthy" to ride
Title: Re: 690 Mapping switch
Post by: SpeedMetal on April 08, 2012, 07:49:31 pm
Didn't enjoy mine on 2 either, must have stalled it about 10 times
Title: Re: 690 Mapping switch
Post by: Roadcat on April 17, 2012, 10:58:41 am
For what its worth, Leo Vince makes a remote bar mounted map switch for the 690.  Allows you to switch maps without taking the seat off, and as such, to react to different conditions.  The only problem is that its a shit blue and white colour.  Plug and play.  The rest of the KTM off-road range's on-the-fly map switch doesn't work on the 690

Unfortunately the remote switch doesn't really let you change on the fly. You still have to kill the motor when you change the mapping and restart the bike for it to take effect. All it does is save you 30 seconds popping the seat and the rubber cap.