I never ever considered that I would ever move to the USA. I had thought about Australia, because a good mate from school made the move and he seemed to adapt quite well. I even thought about moving to Botswana once, but that didn't happen either. Obviously

But then I met this really hot chick from the USA. And we hit it off big time. We even got married, thats how big we hit it off. But even then I didn't think that I'd MOVE to the USA. Visit, of course. Meet all her friends back home, see all those awesome places I'd only read about or seen on TV. But thats it, never MOVE to the USA.
But then one day, about a year ago she and I were chatting. I was doing my 9-week tax-rotation in Lesotho, and we were talking about how kak it is that I have to work out of the country in order to look after my family. And how I have to spend so much time away from home as a result. I mean, it's just not lekker, being away from home so much. It really puts a strain on the home life.
So we started talking about various options. But the only really viable one was that we move to the USA, and start over. With the provisio that whatever job I do over here, I live at home. No nightshifts, no away-jobs. Deal.
Another decision was WHERE in the USA? The USA is a pretty big place, and there are lots of different areas to live in. The wife was from Baltimore, Maryland. But after 3 winters in Lesotho I told her that there was no way I was going to live in a place where I could potentially freeze to death. It had to be warm. She told me that the only other place in the USA that she would like to live would be Florida. And not just anywhere in Florida, it had to be sort of around the middle, half-way up. And the east coast. And within a reasonable distance from the ocean. Close enough that we would be able to hit the beach weekends.
So she showed me a spot on the map of where she wanted to be. She told me about it, I googled it stukkend, and we made the decision. We would move to Florida. Brevard County. Somewhere in the vicinity of Melbourne...
The only snag was getting the Immigration Visa from the US Consulate. The website told us what we needed to do, and it sounded moerofa complicated. Endless reams of paperwork, medicals, payments... eish. But we knuckled down and persisted. Got all the papers that they wanted; Police clearance certificate, work qualifications, proof of co-habitation, UNABRIDGED birth certificate for me, UNABRIDGED marriage certificate, proof of previous divorce (had to get the Afrikaans version I got from the High-Court on the day pf the divorce Translated - the 'mericans dont understand Afrikaans) Etc etc etc...
We hit snags, that ended up costing us over R20k in extra expenses. But we persisted. We didn't lose sight of the goal. I will admit that I formulated a " plan B" for IF they decided not to accept me for an immigration visa. It involved a move within SA, down to the coast...
WE were saving too. Saving like crazy. Doing away with the lekker things in life, like braai's, and restaurants, and farkles for the bike. And not spending money on anything we didn't REALLY need.
Eventually we had all our paperwork done and submitted. And we got the interview at the consulate in JHB. Jissis I was nervous hey! Sweating like crazy... but it went well and the lady said that I would get an answer from them within about 10 working days. I got the email from them 36 HOURS later to say that I had been approved for an immigration visa!
I'll just say that that night I got rather vrot