Day 2: Prieska/Vanwyksvlei/Carnarvon via Meerkat projek
(R357/R361/Unmarked road/R63)
Wednesday the 15th of December...it had been raining the whole night. Something that hasn’t happened in Prieska in many months I’ve been told.
Everything is wet...and it’s overcast and cloudy.
Bonus of course is the temperature...it’s still warm and humid but as soon as you get going it’s actually kind of chilly...very welcome!
Tannie tumble dried all my clothes and she gave me a couple of black bags to re-pack my stuff...did I mention very friendly and helpfull people?
Only got away at 09:30 that morning.
I heard last night from a different tannie, that operates the River View Lodge with her husband, that adventure bikers frequently go straight down from Prieska to Carnarvon. So I’ll check it out...
Oh what a joy! The Karoo has finally began...and it is pretty!
Oh what a joy! I notice the first flaw in my character as well...and it’s less pretty!!
I get to the turn-off in the road that goes straight to Carnarvon. My original plan was to go Copperton, Vanwyksvlei to Carnarvon...so there the in-decision starts...got of the bike...had a smoke...checked out my road map...kicked a couple of stones...took some pictures....and off I went to my altered road, straight to Carnarvon.
Some pic-cha:

Now if you are traveling solo then in-decision is probably not such a big deal but even then for me it was! I’m in-decisive in the real world as well...but it never came out so much as on this trip.

So going about 10 km’s on this road, which was kak with all the corrugation, I turned around...eventually deciding to follow my original plan and feeling very proud of myself that it only took 10 km’s(20 km’s in total) to sort out my in-decision.
Bird hive:

Didn’t see Copperton...but did about 20km’s before the gravel started again...fun, fun, fun!!

Gravel was nice and wet but nothing to scary...and I settled in...
After about 10 km’s it started raining so on with the rain jacket...nothing too hectic just a pain as my crotch was getting wet again...standing helped as the water went down and past my private parts then...thank God for wide foot-pegs as, unbeknown to me, today I would be doing a lot of standing...

Some wild horses came to check me out as I stopped for a smoke...the one in front was really brave and as soon as she took a long hard look at my neon yellow rain jacket she decided I’m not from here and mad a run for it...

Some random sheep waiting for better days but I fear they won’t be better than this...

As I went on to Vanwyksvlei it gradually started pissing more...and more...
Some very round rocks, there were like gatherings of these every couple of kilometers...weird....

Is that the vlei at Vanwyksvlei in the distance?

Roads getting more interesting...and slippery....this was a mixture of mud 1(white) and mud 2(black turf)...

The vlei...more like a humongous mud bath if you ask me...

It’s actually mud and not really water at all...don’t know if in the middle somewhere the consistency changes.
These roads are really deserted...I didn’t see one single car from Prieska to Vanwyksvlei.

Also, with all the rain the muddy/slippery roads really keeps you on your toes...there are different kinds of mud in the Karoo...3 types to be precise...of these I will learn later on...
Turn to Vanwyksvlei:

Looking back the way I came:

It finally stopped pissing as I entered the bar at the now defunct hotel.
Had a very quite couple of beers because the local girl was not really interested in my stories...

Then the oom that runs the bar came along to close-up...I think it was lunch time. So I decided to have another beer with him and maybe he’s got interesting things to tell me.
He did, and I listened intently. The hotel is not functional anymore but he gets a lot of bikers up there and he lets them tent on his farm 40 km’s out. Then he shows them around the next day while in the evenings they braai and piss it up underneath the stars.
Nice!!
He also explained to me how to get to the Meerkat project. It was a bit out of the way but he assured me that where you go right to check the towers, you can go left to Carnarvon.
7 Radio towers are completed allready and I thought, what the heck, the rain has stopped so I’ll go check it out! I’ve got time...
So as I stepped out the bar it started pissing again...dammit!
This was not going to put me of...I have had a couple of beers and I’m in no mood for my plans to see the Meerkat being influenced by anything....dammit!
Off I went. Itook the Bloupoort, unmarked road:

....and then the heavens opened once more...what did I do wrong? Or what am I still going to do wrong?
Raining like there’s no tomorrow slap bang in the middle of the Karoo? I’m no expert but this for me was unreal...even more unreal than deciding to do a trip like this solo.
So there I am...fully loaded and I meet Karoo mud number 2...turf...and my, my, my....what a splendid introduction it was!
This kind of turf is especially slippery...not as dark as the stuff up here but it varies a little. The oom at the bar did warn me and said it can be very slippery...
Standing all the way I had to keep the bike round about 60 km/h just to have more forward than sideways momentum.
There were a lot of places that I almost lost it...believe me, a lot...

So eventually, without warning I’m off the road on the left, in the bushes heading for the fence wire. Funny enough, I wasn’t panicking...well, not yet! I just opened the throttle some more and went over a couple of bushes back into the shit that’s suppose to be a road.
Problem now is I’m going at an angle across the road and I need to straighten up...
By this time I had a smile on my face allready...and started laughing!
I was going to hit this silly stuff, it was just a matter of time!
So in trying to straighten out the bike I gave some more throttle and turned and the combination send the back wheel past me...or that’s what I think happened.
Luckily I was standing as I went down so I got thrown clear and rolled like a proper Ninja across the mudd...was doing about 70km/h at the time.
Mud monster 1 – Superdave 0
This pic is taken back the way I came:

The bike was so full of mud on the left side, had to first dug it out with my hands...afterwards, before the reality set in, I was on the bike again.
Didn’t bother with a smoke or anything, I just needed to get going...
Had a slight bruised right knee but nothing 2 serious.
Noticed as soon as I got going that the steering was out of line. Left hand side was bend up about a 1cm or so. Also, nothing serious...
So on I battled in the mud...all the while encouraging myself and telling myself it will get better....
It didn’t...about 5 km’s later I got my introduction to mud number 3 which I called Red mud(I like being original)....
This pic is taken in the direction to where I’m still going:

...and from where I came...

...don’t know what happened here but I’m sure it had to do with the mud!!
This stuff grabs your front wheel and doesn’t let go if you ask it to...even if you ask nicely.
Luckily this crash wasn’t such a high speed crash, but still, my confidence was quickly running out and I knew I still had a looooong way to go.
There is nothing and nobody on this road except mud and rain...and some more mud...and a whole lot of nothing-ness!
Picking up a loaded DS bike is no fun...doing this in slippery mud even less!
So this time I had a smoke and a lekker laugh after I dug out the mud from the engine again.
Ag, I was feeling good...nothing broken and I’m allright. I’ll just have to carry on, what else can one do? It’s not like there’s a nice B&B around the corner with cold beers and warm showers!
Off I went. The rain was relentless...and so was the mud...had a couple more close calls but luckily that’s what they stayed.
Eventually I got to the T-junction where left was Carnarvon and right, another 30 odd km’s, was the Meerkat project.
I chickened out. Decided that I’m not going to tempt fate. I still had another +/- 80 km’s to get to Carnarvon. So I had a quick shaken up beer and a smoke and stopped a lady in her bakkie and asked her how far till Carnarvon and what the road conditions where.
Being a lady she wasn’t sure how far but the road gets better...that for me was good enough news!
This was the only car I saw on the road till about 30 k’s from Carnarvon.
...so on I went...it didn’t stop raining, ever, but the road got better...

This looks bad but it really is a lot better than what I allready went thru. Here you could get your speed up to round about 80 again. Everything is allready wet so the rivers actually helped in cleaning me up a bit.
It was another 50 odd km’s of this and then I hit the tar for another 20 odd km’s.
Finally getting to Carnarvon Hotel...and the Blikkies Bar around 18:00...! Cost was R250 per night without breakfast if I remember correctly.
After getting most of the mud of myself and the bike, with some help from the locals at the hotel to wash my back, I took off all my luggage and went to my room for a much deserved shower.
Then the Blikkies bar!!!! Nice, cold, beers...and everything else under the sun!
The hotel has been in the family since it started like a 100 years ago. The owner then started a blikkie collection and was part of the American blikkie traders...or that’s what the girl(also family) told me. I was so busy rejoicing and drinking beer that I didn’t pay as much attention as I would have liked to.
I know there is about 4000 blikkies in the bar currently and another 5000 in storage.
Impressive!

Met some Joburgers and we had a blast!

So the next day the sun was out but it was still cloudy...and I had a moer of a hang-over!
So I decided to take the day as a rest day and let the roads dry up a bit!
Stayed in bed till about 12 and then went to the bar....again! Met some other bikers from Joburg and somewhere in the Cape but they weren’t so friendly so they are not worth mentioning....
Distance travelled:
+/- 250 km’s gravel
+/- 30 km’s tar
Bits and pieces:There was times that I felt for a moment that I’m not going to make it, I wanted the mud to stop...! I quickly replaced those thoughts with thoughts of the great experience this is turning out to be and that people are going to find it hard to believe that the Karoo can look like this, I know I did!
I’m sure you can’t plan this kind of riding in the Karoo so this will really stick with me for the rest of my days!