Die Hel - Leo and mates

Leo

BMW R1200GS HP2
Excalibur: “Duif Kuite”, Wat de fok bedoel jy Duif Kuite? “n Duif HET nie kuite nie”

Leo: “Nou Ja, Presies, jy ook nie”

Excalibur and I were having a discussion on his anatomy. As KilRoy always says – he is apparently the ultimate in flexibility and power.
We were sitting around the camp fire after a few sharpies too many and as is customary at that time of night, we have a great deal of fun thinking up new names for Excalibur. Names have varied from “Sif Sakkie” as he is always so dirty from riding at the back, “Midget”, due to his height, “Hoof Ys Smelter” due to his slow drinking habits up to Duif Kuite, the most recent one. There are also a few I dare not mention here as kids frequent this forum as well. At the end of the night we concluded with “Fokken Stywe Duif Kuite”

Once again I am getting ahead of myself so let me start from the front. Our regular speelgroepie headed down to Danabaai, nexto Mosselbay, where we would use Basil’s beach house as a base from where we could operate in and around the southern/western Cape. Basil’s wife was in the USA along with my G/F, so our outrides could not be everlasting as someone had to take care of the kids once in a while. Antonie’s daughter was also visiting him this Xmas, as was Excalibur’s son. We therefor decided to do a series of One Night Stands, as the elder kids should be able to take care of the younger ones for at least one night.
We arrived in Danabaai on 14 December with our bikes on stoeties and used the 15th to prep the bikes and get ourselves ready for the first trip starting 16 Dec. That Sunday evening we went to the Mosselbay Barnyard and had what can only be described as “The Party of the Year”. The Blues Broers were playing at the Barnyard, if you have never seen them in action, do yourself a favour and go check them out. Absolutely fantastic. Albert Frost is their lead guitarist and he is the South African version of Eric Clapton/Mark Knofler. Man what a pleasure to watch that guy play the guitar. After the show they kuiered with us till the Baryard management felt compelled to kindly request us to leave as it was well into Monday morning.

Die Blues Broers – Damn Fine Mojo

IMG_1224__zpsd50a9247.jpg

Miss Langkloof and Antonie got along very well.

IMG_1241__zps3d695d30.jpg

We pose with Albert Frost

IMG_1242__zps93dc3d7d.jpg

Well this put us in the right mood for our trip which was due to start the next day. Monday morning bright and early saw us heading for Die Hell via a route that we designed the previous day BEFORE we went to the Barnyard. The southern Cape has certainly seen lots of rain over the last few months which were evident from the level of water crossings and the wash aways on the roads. Lunch was had at the Yellow Wood restaurant where after we headed for Oudtshoorn and the local Spar to get ourselves a skaap rib which we planned to braai in the Hell that evening.

Lots of wildlife around.

IMG_0557__zps7de3f889.jpg

IMG_0561__zps087114e0.jpg

Strange colours

IMG_0566__zpsc01200d9.jpg

The pop up the Swartberg Pass was uneventful and before you could say public holiday, we were in the Hell along with another group of ± 11 riders all from Bredasdorp. Could not believe that small town could have as many DS riders, some of them are apparently here on WD’s, but names is but a distant blur as I type here. Nice bunch of okes I must add.

Botlierskop game farm

IMG_0567__zps58e6dad7.jpg

Basil doing great

IMG_0570__zpsf017fcd2.jpg

Lekker challenging section

IMG_0574__zps59390d54.jpg

Excalibur getting it wrong

IMG_0575__zps8eee4cbe.jpg

He was so pissed off, he sommer picked up his bike himself

IMG_0576__zps6242bcb9.jpg

Another river crossing

IMG_0581__zpsac0c2832.jpg

View from the restaurant

IMG_0582__zps66f37171.jpg

Good plate of boerekos for lunch

IMG_0583__zpsaa094e06.jpg

Evidence of floodings everywhere

IMG_0586__zps60185944.jpg

Lovely green countryside

IMG_0589__zps3469e83e.jpg

Happy rider

IMG_0591__zpsbc848ef3.jpg

Excalibur chilling

IMG_0599__zps55248609.jpg

Well we ordered coke and ice along with some wood from reception and started kuiering. Antonie brought along a bottle of Grunheim’s Potstil brandy which he tackled with a vengeance while the rest of us dug into our regular drinking juices. A skaap rib can only be done on its side if you want to do it properly, so we braaied the mother of all skaap rib and talked nonsense till Antonie had to submit to the Potstil and promptly passed out in front of my tent.
It was in the later stages of the evening that the conversation, as mentioned at the start of this article, happened. This was followed by me begging Antonie to get into his tent as he was blocking my passage into my own tent, I was in no condition to carefully step over him to get into my own place.

What a view

IMG_0601__zps2927721a.jpg

IMG_0344__zps5c4dd61c.jpg

Lovely roads leading to Die Hel

IMG_0602__zpsfd9291ca.jpg

Right machines for the job

IMG_0609__zpse52067cd.jpg

Been there, did not get the T-shirt

IMG_0611__zps42d51fca.jpg

Part of the original car the Marais oke carried over the mountains to use in the Hell. Imagine, every time he ran out of petrol, he had to ride by horse over the mountain to go fetch some more. Crazy man!

IMG_0613__zps54732778.jpg

This is how you must braai a rib

IMG_0616__zps1597f855.jpg

Antonie succumbs to the Potstil brandy

IMG_0619__zpsbc00a2cf.jpg

Excalibur still going strong

IMG_0623__zps8325d9a1.jpg

The sights and sounds of the Hell

IMG_0351__zps0ed87b6d.jpg

IMG_0350__zps85fb2633.jpg

IMG_0349__zps59a26872.jpg

IMG_0348__zpsb288f710.jpg

IMG_0346__zpsfbb2f9ab.jpg

IMG_0632__zps00816e9b.jpg

IMG_0631__zps0be53d24.jpg

IMG_0628__zps7620d06a.jpg

IMG_0627__zps2a2c9e62.jpg

IMG_0626__zpsd54ac0fa.jpg

I guess solar heating in the hell makes perfect sense

IMG_0630__zps3c64056c.jpg

The road out of the hell

IMG_0636__zps27e18238.jpg

Beauty and the Beast

IMG_0639__zps80e849b4.jpg

Yes my mom loves me  :thumleft:

IMG_0643__zps09e7f1bd.jpg

Proteas all around

IMG_0645__zps6db403ae.jpg

Excalibur

IMG_0646__zps902e6445.jpg

Swartberg Pass, down into Prins Albert

IMG_0648__zps62b65c8e.jpg

IMG_0649__zps3ee5954f.jpg

As a school kid, I used to work on this farm during December holidays.

IMG_0651__zps8ad5a2ee.jpg

Beware of this: Brand Slang

IMG_0654__zps6fa3c644.jpg

Bad taste

IMG_0663__zps648cc48b.jpg

Wine tasting at Grunheim

IMG_0664__zps1b330e85.jpg

Beware of the White Dog’s pee

IMG_0352__zps76380b8d.jpg

Well the next morning we were up bright and early – in December in the WC the sun is up by 05:10, so we packed and started the return journey via Prins Albert. Breakfast at the Prins Albert hotel gave us the fuel to head on to Oudtshoorn via Meiringskloof, with a quick stop at De Rust to do some wine tasting. The temperatures were soaring in the high 30’s, really not fun to ride in such hot conditions so after sampling some of the worst wines I have drank in a long time, fortunately washed down with some B&C, we headed for the Robberspass to catch the cool breeze off the ocean. By 3 pm we were safely back home, to see all the kids were still in fine form and all was good.

Thanks to the members of our speelgroupie for yet another awesome adventure. Basil glad you can tick that one of your todo list.  :3some:

Duif Kuite, thanks for the entertainment – as we say in Afrikaans, jy terg lekker. Antonie, glad your Potstil brandy which made you Stil Pot the next morning, didn’t last forever. Also thanks for not trying to jump over any of our tents.  :ricky:

Always a pleasure to ride with you okes.  :ricky: