Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register

Author Topic: German Bikers need assistance.  (Read 4420 times)

Offline Just Blip It!

• Forum Vendor
  • Bike: KTM 990 Adventure
  • www.adventureriderssa.co.za
German Bikers need assistance.
« on: April 02, 2013, 11:11:28 pm »
Today I met Marco Wahle from Germany, he and his girlfriend, Sylvia have been touring Southern Africa by bike, he on a KTM990 Adventure and she rides a BMW 650GS, their trip has been fantastic so far, they have toured Namibia and parts of SA down to Cape Town and back up to Limpopo.

Unfortunately a Sylvia was involved in a very big accident over the weekend on their way from Orpen Gate in the Kruger Park one of our infamous taxis did a u-turn somewhere near Bushbuckridge right in front of her, she t-boned the taxi full on and actually went through the side window, she was lucky to escape the accident with her life! Marco is a trained Ambulance Paramedic by profession and he stabilized her on the spot with his own medical kit, by the time the ambulance arrived she was already sedated and ready to be rushed to hospital. Apart from a broken wrist which was operated on and a few bruises she is fine and has been released from hospital. A miricle considering that she hit the Taxi at about 70km/h!
Sadly their trip has been spoilt and possibly cut short. The dilemma is that they have some serious medical bills to pay, they wanted to sell the wrecked bike to cover these funds, but it is not worth much and nobody wants to buy the wreck as it is registered in Germany so there would be duties involved etc.