Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register

Author Topic: Solo newby doing Botswana, Zambia,DRC,Malawi & Zim. Info needed  (Read 918 times)

Offline ZIMCO

• Bike: BMW R1200GS Adventure
Hi guys, I am new on forum. I have some riding experience but nothing in Africa. I am a pastor and have been asked to preach at various churches in Lubumbashi(DRC) and Zimbabwe. The initial plan was to go with the Pajero with a team of 4 in July 2013 but something they cannot make it anymore.
Now I am thinking this to be the ideal excuse to put my BMW1200GSA through its passes on a solo trip. What do you guys think? Is a solo possible for a newby? I would also like to travel as cheap as possible(tent). Any comments/ideas/suggestions would greatly be appreciated.

Offline Frohan Visser

• Bike: NER-A-CAR
Re: Solo newby doing Botswana, Zambia,DRC,Malawi & Zim. Info needed
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2013, 08:12:23 am »
If you stay on the tar its no problem, otherwise I hope your sand riding skills are good, lots of sand but definitely a trip one can do solo, just take tyre repair stuff and fill up where ever you can.

:thumleft:

Enjoy!!
1986 Suzuki DR 600, Confiscated in Egypt
1992 Suzuki DR 800, sold
1997 Suzuki DR 650, sold
2005 KTM 640 Adv, sold
201.. KTM 690 R in the next 2 years

Geotraveller

« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2013, 08:40:01 am »
Just make sure when you get to the Zambia/DRC border, I presume it will be Kasambulesa (as you are going to Lumbumbashi) you have all the docs in order. That place is a hellhole. See if you can find a "protocol" and get him to assist.

If you are going near Vic Falls, let me know. I have mates there.

Good luck, sounds like a great plan to me!

Offline Agriman

• Bike: BMW F800GS
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2013, 09:26:49 pm »
Well, if you coming via Malawi give me a shout and I will help where I can..enjoy
2012 BMW F800 GS
2012 KTM 300 XC-W

Offline ZIMCO

« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2013, 09:04:01 pm »