Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register

Author Topic: PTA to PE, best route?  (Read 790 times)

Offline 2Vulcans

• Puppy
  • Bike: BMW R1200GS Adventure
PTA to PE, best route?
« on: August 07, 2013, 09:58:16 am »
Hi everyone,
I am relatively new in SA so I don't know many roads.
I am supposed to drive down to Port Elizabeth from Pretoria in 10 days and I was wondering if you have suggestions on the route. I will have to come back after few days so I am ready to select a couple of routes from your suggestions.
I would also like to go through Lesotho but I am not sure how many hours it would add to it. I am also not an expert of off-road driving and I will have my lady as pillion so I would prefer not to do it, if I can avoid (at least for now).
Thank you!
Emiliano

Offline subie

• Local Mods
  • Bachelor Dog
  • Bike: Yamaha XT660
  • Liberalism is the ideology of Western suicide.
Re: PTA to PE, best route?
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2013, 10:18:55 am »
Hello Emilliano and welcome. :thumleft:
First let me suggest you buy some sort of map.
Road down to PE on tar is about 1100km.
From PTA it is all the way south on the N1 to Kroonstad - Bloemfontein then Colesberg. Just outside  Colesberg  (PE side) you leave the N1 onto the N10 going through Noupoort - Middelburg - Cradock and PE.
This is the main tar route.  As you are not sure about your abilities offroad probably best to stick to it.
As time washes by, our footprints are all for naught
The left is full of people who have been educated far beyond their intelligence

Online ClimbingTurtle

• Forum Vendor
  • Grey hound
  • Bike: BMW (all models)
  • Give It Horns - Save Our Rhino's
    • Majita Tool Supplies
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2013, 10:32:50 am »
Welcome!