13 to 5 REBELRUN - Zinyala 2013

Orangeswifty

KTM 950 SE
Another great success!
Day 1
Friday morning saw 13 eager bikers in piss poor weather at the garage, not knowing what to expect except for a few hardened zinyala runners.
Even before we had left Ploegskaar's bike had a flat and true to tradition the oke with the tyre business didn't have a spare 18' tube.
Luckily there were extras and in no time, blowing like a second hand hairdier and sweating streams he had his tyre fixed and ready.
The 2 Ingelsmanne BornB and Beyonce' ( to be explained later) arrived late and was promptly cast into the roll of underlings, dopgooiers and general labourers for the weekend. What sterling characters these boys turned out to be :thumleft:.............took every disrespectfull remark in their stride and fit in like true Rebels O0

I took the okes out onto a wet road and promptly turned off onto a stretch of deep sand leading onto the Moloto road......just to wake up the senses and make sure everyone is in good fighting spirit for the rest of the day! :pot:
The road to Hammanskraal was uneventfull, followed by a stretch of 20 or so odd k's on tar to the turnoff onto dirt at Pienaarsrivier.

The Pienaarsrivier road winds next to a streaam and turns right onto a huge stretch of dirt highway ending in a T Junction at Radium where Bud500, carrots and Schwarrie were preparing boerie's with a coupla beers! Great job boys!
Redrider turned up as well from Mabula where he and his family were for the weekend.
The next stretch of road to the Bela Bela - Thabazimbi road ended at Mabula service station with no fuel and we had to go back to warmbaths a coupla k's to get fuel at Mabalingwe! From there we flew down the Mabula dirt road, Redrider and myself testing his XR650's top speed.......................... flatbox at 150 / 160 at some stages. Arrival at Zinyala found the bakkie and entourage on top of the renowned hill.
Everyone made it over without any serious incidents and beers at the top was your reward.

Lots of laughter and by the fire stories and cameraderie to be seen that evening!
Its amazing what this place brings out in you!
ALLAN !
In the dead of night when you see the stars overhead like you will never see them in Joburg or P town you realize that you have discovered a piece of heaven on earth! A feeling of complete relaxation comes over you despite the blood, sweat, and tears to lug a 200+kg bike over a mere 250 meters of earth with loose gravel, rocks and a 40 degree in and decline while you blow like a beached whale.

Boer held his own with his new 21 inch conversion on his BOF and hats off to the dude for making it over!
It is said that you need 3 things to get over that hill: a bike you know well, the ability to ride it and big cahouna's!
Thanks to the back up team - Bud500, Carrots and his swarrie for taking all the food and booze to Zinyala
It is inevitable that Zinyala will take its toll on riders over the hill!

Even those of us that have never fallen on the hill saw their gatte this weekend
9 months of non maintenance on the roads and then 13 bikes witha 4x4 and trailer loosened up the roads to an extent that only 5 okes decided to make the journey the next day. There were 13 and then there was 5!
...........................but more on day 2 later!
feel free to add comments and photo's of the ride over the hill on day 1

The first photograph includes most of the group except for Redrider and Carrots who took the photograph.........ook ma goed met die lelike moer se bakkies! :peepwall:
F L T R - Arries, BornB, Ploegskaar, Honsekierie (back), Beyonce' (Front), Muddog, Gevarlik,  Boer(back), yours truly, Madmike, Bud500 (back), Cocky, Die ou wat Carrots se sussie spyker (Bombastic aka Tokkenfobie) en Minzi  

• 13.8.13 177.jpg
    13.8.13 177.jpg
    109.7 KB · Views: 598
  • DSC01344.JPG
    DSC01344.JPG
    147.1 KB · Views: 590
  • DSC01351.JPG
    DSC01351.JPG
    142 KB · Views: 583
  • 13.8.13 199.jpg
    13.8.13 199.jpg