DL 650 Ran with no oil

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DoisRodas

Puppy
Reaction score
Bike
Kawasaki KLR 650
Hi all,

It's my first time posting here and unfortunately it's with a heavy heart.

I bought my 2006 DL for a steal 3 years ago with 90 000 km on the clock, but the whole bike was overhauled by Bobby Scott Racing, and they did a fine job from what I could see.  Now it's got over 135  000 km on and it seems due for the 2nd motor overhaul.  I was riding on the highway, at 140...  I mean, 120 K/h around 6000 RPM when the bike suddenly lost power and started vibrating a tiny amount more than usual.  I got off the road as quickly as I could.  The motor turned over but the bike wouldn't run.  I thought it must be petrol feed or electronic as I had issues with the lights about a year ago.  I had the bike lifted home on a friends bakkie and parked it.

My DL always used a bit of oil, but lately the oil consumption seemed to have increased dramatically so I was monitoring oil consumption, checking the level frequently  to see more or less how much it was using.  I overfilled it one day trying to top up in a hurry, but I'd read many threads saying it won't cause damage to run it like that (and I was sure the bike would chew through the extra oil in no time).  But, before I could gather any useful info, the oil was finished and now I have big problems.