Quick ride report. First of all, thanks to Mark for organizing and for the great roadbook. Was lekker meeting you okes!
I did 565 km for the day, including the 435 km roadbook ride. Of the total I guess about 230-250 was tar, the rest dirt roads and tracks. All my equipment worked as it should (except my front tyre, eish). The navigation for the most part was ok, but got really difficult for me when there were almost no tracks and a lot of instructions close together (as in 50-300 meters). I had to navigate to the closest waypoint twice, still have to look on Basecamp if I missed any of them (will post a screen grab of the track).
The pace of Brett and Gavin (Wilddog name?) was impressive (check the clip below), and I lost about 1h:30 on them over the 435 km. What I knew beforehand was that I wanted to stop as little as possible and this helped keep the average speed up. I stopped once for fuel and twice to put plugs in and inflate. This will be key for me in the Amageza, to keep the wheels rolling, as my average speeds over the specials will be much slower than the 450's.
My front tyre needed about 8 plugs during various stages of the route, and is flat again. That tyre is clearly not intended for ralley/offroad, thin sidewalls and way too soft. It's coming off this week.
Great fun and a good learning exercise. Highly recommended for the other Gauteng Amageza chaps.
http://www.youtube.com/v/MiQlGQx5YRI&