SAND, SNOT & RUM, AN ADVENTURE THROUGH THE NORTHERN CAPE AND NAMIBIA

KTM 1090 Adventure R
Marnus and I have done some memorable trips together, and we felt it was time for another one!

I had some leave that I had to take, and Marnus also managed to organise some leave, so we decided to do a trip in an area that both of us really wanted to ride, but never had the opportunity to do. This was our chance. The route was planned so that we would meet up with friends along the way, and there were five things that we wanted to see/ride/do on this trip, they were:
• Verneukpan
• Sand road between Groenrivier mond and Hondeklip baai
• Richtersveld
• Southern Namibia next to the Orange River including the Gamchab Canyon
• Namakwa 4x4 Trail from Vioolsdrif to Pella

We managed to do 4 of them, and one additional very special one!

I want to give a HUGE thanks to Kamanya for helping me with tracks and great advice!!

Please excuse the bad writing, I am better with numbers and pictures than words……….

So here goes:

Day 1
Pretoria to Upington – 896km

I flew in from Lusaka and spent a few days in Pretoria prepping (well buying most of) my kit and camping stuff while my bike got a good once over from Martin (man on the moon) from Off Road Touring and Equipment. I also popped in at Pauli from GPS4AFRICA to get an extra fuel bladder. I would carry two of these on the trip. I also fitted a new TKC on the back.

New Rubba!!
10419051_10152742890988352_911541437586616558_n.jpg

Marnus arrived bright and early to pick me up as we would trailer the bikes to Upington. It was a long boring uneventful drive to Upington. We missed a turn-off just after Kathu because were talking too much kak, so we ended up in Postmasburg and had to take the dirt road to get back to the N14 just after Olifantshoek! I bet a few people have made that mistake before!! Lekker dof!!

Our weapons of choice….
10615996_10152815667688352_9175440431970888255_n.jpg

Stopping in Kathu
10557156_10152815667318352_8726465232405630754_n.jpg

10615347_10152815667328352_752014710022226739_n.jpg

10701961_10152815667323352_8716021678630015416_n.jpg

We arrived in Upington and settled in at the local O’Hagans for a few, and were entertained by the dronk locals…very funny stuff! It was a late Sunday afternoon after all!

Night-time over the Orange River
10678819_10152815667953352_8412310368431644955_n.jpg

We stayed at Affinity Guest House, and they were kind enough to us leave the bakkie and trailer with them for the 2 weeks….
10703535_10152815668198352_5352409246982395464_n.jpg

Lekker place to stay!! We went to bed very excited about what the next two weeks will hold…..