Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register

Author Topic: 690 Front left fork rebound adjusting screw  (Read 1005 times)

Offline G-Lock

• Bike: KTM 690 Enduro
690 Front left fork rebound adjusting screw
« on: February 09, 2015, 12:12:57 pm »
Howzit Guys, i was wondering if anyone could give me a bit of insight on a 690's front left fork rebound adjuster screw before i take her to the dealership. Im fairly new to everything bike so please excuse my ignorance on most things. i got a 690 second hand a couple of months back and decided to adjust the suspension as the front felt too stiff. In attempting to adjust the front left fork the screw just turned and turned and never came to an end point whereas the others worked out exactly as the manual stated. Is there a DIY way of fixing the problem (ordering the parts in to do at home) or is it best sending it to KTM (which takes far too long to have sorted out).

Greg

Offline Dux

Re: 690 Front left fork rebound adjusting screw
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2015, 12:44:31 pm »
The plastic adjusters can break if forced slightly , ally aftermarket screws are available to replace them , alternately an original can be purchased from the agents
Motoworx
motoworx1@gmail.com
073 232 5389
Unit 6 Viben square
8 Viben Road , Brackenfell

Offline G-Lock

« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2015, 03:59:14 pm »
I took the screw off and checked to see if it had been stripped but it is all in good order. When i turn the plastic screw the steel counter sunk screw turns as well which leads me to believe the whole mechanism is broken. would i be able to undo the bolt holding everything in and take it out to inspect? I worry because i dont want to damage anything or have a spring fly out at me in the process. Thanks for the reply.

Offline Dux

« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2015, 04:03:31 pm »