XR - Braapfest, done and dusted

HeeBs

Honda XR500
OK I'm gonna start this off, seeing as the other O's are being lazy  :biggrin: or some guys like Airguitar are still lazing on holiday !

Firstly, I really didn't take as many pics as I thought. Riding was a priority:

The day started nice and early, I left Edenvale at 6:30 and headed off to Rayton. The meetup at Rayton with Gary, Ross, Gerhad, Hardy & big Rob (hidden).

We rode off to Bronkies for a morning coffe and something to eat, we were a bit early so the poor Steers staff acttually had to start working immediately! A few of the other riders joined us and soon we were ready to go!
About 14 riders and at this point, I'm gonna apologize because there's no way I'll remember all the names.

Our resident DR riding kak stirrer, Stuart! Must admit to having a few good chuckles with this clown  :biggrin:

Herman on the biggest bike on the ride.

We were forced to slab it a bit because I picked up a nice nail through my rear tyre, so we lost an hour doing repairs!
I don't have pics of that event but make no mistake...they will surface !!

A coffee stop at the Engin one stop thingy - we decided to park our petrol to noise converters on the pavement for all to admire and gasp in awe!

620 Duke Motard that Ross stuck knobblies onto to join the ride! 17" rims proved a tough task on the dirt though ! He reckon he'll just keep it to wake up the neighbours - left hand kickstart doesn't help either!

Our spot at the Elangeni Resort. 2 single beds and a nice double for me and Ross to cuddle  :biggrin:
Ross decided "to hell with that" grabbed the cushion off the chairs and slept in the lounge - apparently he doesn't like beer breath kisses  :imaposer:

Fire !! and dop and braai.

Big Rob, standing at 2 meters. He's new to dirt riding and owns a nice new KLR but battles to stand on the footpegs because of his height. He needs handlebar raisers! He also got to enjoy a puncture!

More of the lodge

It's cold and Hardy is standing outside barefeet !!

On our way Saturday to the mine and Sappi forest ride - camera doesn't capture how beautifull it really is.

At the top of the hill, Derek had to go look for his Go-pro that fell off along the route. He lost his toolbag full of tools within the first 5 Kms of the ride - he found the Go-pro at least.
By the time he returned this group had solved world hunger and was just about to fix Eskom's problems.. but, alas, the ride had to continue and we'll have to suffer further loadshedding due to time constraints - sorry.

Some seriously nice tar twisties and then a smoke break just before heading into the forest.

Turned around and Mr Zog was posing with his 1981 Xl, scenery behind was too bad either.

Scenery on the pathway into the valley

More

A nice litle splash by Henk (chopperpilot). This man can stoot a bike too !

Happy dust trail

Stopped at the abandoned hut along the way, I think I could submit this to Cabinporn, what do you think?

View from the cabin

Gerhad, our coffee / wine connoiseur. Between Gerhad and Hardy, we had some awesome coffee, thanks gents.

Henk and one of his pretty daughters

Ross whom I thought would keep me from drinking too much and failed miserably  :biggrin:
I must confess to indulging waaay too much and having to call George on the big white telephone - I was the moering with myself because we had a long ride home ahead of us! but to hell with it, the time felt right and we were having a huge amount of fun !

Brian in front of his unit, he also brought his family along - brave man.

Unfortunately that's all the pics I took.

Important stuff:

Airguitar you're a flippen star for starting and organising the Braapfest, it is absolutely brilliant, although a winter sport for some reason, I wouldn't have it any other way. To get out of the house in mid winter take a little convincing but it's well worth the effort once you've committed !
In fairness the weather was brilliant for this time of year !!!

Gary, all the effort you put in on our behalf for medical reasons was very, very appreciated. Just knowing that you have somebody along with you that has medical knowledge is a huge comfort !

Thank Ross for the backup bakkie, chucking our kit on the back and riding a bit lighter was awesome.

I can't go through every name but a thanks to Hardy for taking us the back routes from Mpumalanga, I sense you are more a lone rider but saving us from slabbing the highway was a massive luck !
Gerhad for the coffee, the rest of the crew for just being an awesome bunch of guys - the ladies for bringing the Grandpa headache tablets and understanding that we're a bunch of roffgatte and putting up with our nonsense!

Thank you, thank you, thank you!