Oasis ribs tip - 990KTM,650Dakar & R1100GS

pitpaplo

BMW R1100GS
Day 1

The day finally arrived. Seemed to far away when I started stripping down bosvark (r1100gs). 
16473157_10154231379521717_512077643424166247_n.jpg

Meeting KaTooM.RSA in outshoorn we started heading out on the N2 towards eersterivier turnoff. Under the dark cloud cover we prepared to be soaked but once over the mountain on Kareedouw side we started to cook again.
16266066_10154230636411717_7317470959085049622_n.jpg
Quick stop in Jubertina for a dop and checking all levels and bolts op die ysterperde. Everything still checks OK. Onwards to Outshoorn
16387178_10154230653436717_1952884624900436542_n.jpg

In Outshoorn KaTooM.RSA, Dizzy Dolphine and I grabed a bite and head out towards seweweekspoort. Looking forward getting back to op-die-plaas seeing the friendly faces of Frits and Jonel.
16406804_10154230651731717_7899033809523930676_n.jpg
16473525_10154230666271717_8062471655710251486_n.jpg

The reel fun journey started as we climbed on the gravel road heading into seweweekspoort. Sweeping through the twisties and taking in the marvel of rock-formations in front of us with every turn. Out of the twisties we opened up. Oop keel al die pad tot op-die-plaas.

Jonel said we the only ones there. Die bordercollie val plat soos n wind sand en n boks oor hom slinger. Jonel offer ons die saal om in te slaap en met die spring ons na die geleentheid. No way i’m sleeping in a tent with a wind like that. I stressed about the bikes blowing over.
16387231_10154231391461717_4255477394074453652_n.jpg
16472850_10154230649981717_9166078784460330271_n.jpg

Started fire for supper. Downed my first cup of coffee and head out to the shower. This time we showering with no need to kickstart the old donkey. Gas-geysers fitted to showers. Donkey was n great feel for camping maar wie gaan kla solank mens warm kan stort.
16406423_10154231550746717_3566269207139535045_n.jpg
16406617_10154230669191717_5879562312992758809_n.jpg

The wind stated to pump even more and then the rain came down. Die reen op sink roof sounded like a flood was about to break loose. So glad that we not in the tents.

Day 2

Still raining and the air is fresh. No one is moving yet.

Someone mentioned coffee. UP and out of bed. Nou die planne van wat om te doen omtrent die reen. Breakfast and a couple of coffees and the rain seemed to get lighter.

With the first peak of sunlight from behind the clouds and still a light drizzle we started packing the bikes. Met die goodbyes en dankies aan Jonel we started our way out of the farm. Slippery slide towards the gravel road. #%@$@ nie nou nie. Clutch gone. Amper op grondpad. Now to tell the other two without stopping. Amper my stem weg geskree om Dizzy Dolphine te se and fort om KaTooM.RSA te beduie.

KaTooM.RSA het sommer gou verstaan. Now its all the way out towards Layingsburg and hope someone can assist. Answer was NO. naaste hulp sal mos nou 160km ver le in verkeerde rigting. Al die pad Worcester to heel uit die pad uit. Nou om die bosvark aan die loop te kry. can’t push start this vark. So I ask for a push to a reasonable speed. Hardloop my ou. With the engine running in ‘N’ I flipped the lever up and o’hell met n ruk of twee loop die vark nog en weg in 2de. Om die blok en terug op pad na Worcester.

@%$#%@, al weer my luck. Sal mos so werk, PADWERKE. Need a push again.  Naals kou in town. Eish, people had no idea what I was up-to. Stopped at a pompstasie. I ripped the cable out, Asked around and we got to the cableman.
16299005_10154230646796717_3539869921506167622_n.jpg
30Min and he handed me a new cable.

With the cable back in and the bikes filled up we got our sense of humour back. Time still good we heading out to Ceres.

Filling up at op-die-berg we carried on to Oasis.
16298968_10154230651101717_7511756933656868531_n.jpg
16473468_10154231427186717_7635383579283442452_n.jpg

Hitting the gravel roads again we constantly stopped to take some pictures. The beauty of the ceres mountains. This must be captures. Dry mountains and fields of rock. getting to Oasis is like riding into a fairytale story. Lush green grass and a swimming pool between these desert rocky mountains.  :drif:
16425993_10154231513806717_3433507607709323106_n.jpg
16473622_10154230573696717_6178083322214227456_n.jpg
16473212_10154231577901717_2126942947973879972_n.jpg

Parked the bikes and setup camp. We opted using their tents. That night we had the ribs that I was told about and the reason for being there. A long trip for ribs but hell it was worth the trip.  :biggrin:
16427401_10154231336516717_6961392858461031994_n.jpg

Day 3

We decided to have a chilled day seeing that this is a holiday. We stayed in oasis and only head out to the stadsaal caves late the afternoon. To get to the caves we had to ride some of the kakest corrugation i’ve ever been on. The caves was worth the ride. Stunning stunning stunning landscape. Back to Oasis
16473654_10154230680506717_6536084122313153293_n.jpg
16299129_10154231469351717_9163208411543031814_n.jpg
16298630_10154231426271717_864994621329058148_n.jpg
16406578_10154231465176717_2641351785237808157_n.jpg

Day 4

That morning we had some mean looking clouds threatening us. We all rushed to get our emergency coffee in with a bit of breakfast. We packed the bags and settled the account. Hitting the road we decided we will still go out to see the tankwa karoo padstal. Seems like we road out from underneath the clouds. Soon we reached a pass that looked like it will take us into heaven.
16386977_10154230593791717_3153157461058834731_n.jpg

view from katbakkiespas

Katbakkiespas, met n hoes en proes gaan ons oor. We so high. Stopped for a photo. Next stop padstal. Middel van niks en nerens. Tankwa Karoo padstal.
16388062_10154230616036717_9117202975795418442_n.jpg
16406637_10154231536696717_7838964000087558764_n.jpg
16299503_10154230596416717_2191397058329055064_n.jpg
16386977_10154230593791717_3153157461058834731_n.jpg
16388044_10154230607636717_6040158413301236867_n.jpg
16473180_10154231361916717_8782352579564833711_n.jpg
16299025_10154230501956717_5266244113523001584_n.jpg

Van hier was dit weer keel oop op n dood reguit stuk pad tot ons weer teer slaan. In Ceres gou iets geeet en weer op pad Cape Agulus toe. Was nie lank toe is ons papnat. All the way to Agulus we had to keep our distance and not much over taking. Cars driving with no lights in dark gloomy weather. This caused much more stress than any of the gravel roads traveled.
16388190_10154230623271717_8874255198771508694_n.jpg
16196009_10154230624806717_3102384670132352491_n.jpg
16406481_10154230540476717_3394804799929037626_n.jpg
16426163_10154230521261717_1689294881291561856_n.jpg

Backpackers it was for the night. Nie n hell dat ek n tentjie opslaan in die nat weer nie.

Hot shower, meal and a couple of thirst quenchers.

Day 5

16406763_165947677230691_6429707118337135196_n.jpg

we made some time to play

16299288_165608097264649_4720568477318577692_n.jpg

we wanted the bikes so badly in the pic with us

KaTooM.RSA want to cross a river by pont so the heading was Malgas. R20 a bike and we got the t-shirt. Lekker stuk grondpad en ons is op pad na Riversdal waar Dizzy Dolphine se ons die lekkerste milkshake kan kry.

16143118_10154230673526717_7382238461265474619_n.jpg

we had to stop and buy cableties. Dakar head unit was shacking. lost both bolts along the road

Daar val ons in by Nibbling Squirrel vir die milkshake. Scoops icecream en melk. Lekker af gegaan.
16426299_10154230579386717_7076466857230349079_n.jpg
16425754_10154230641416717_3447975369726115481_n.jpg

So back on the bikes towards wilderness. Bam! 100 000km slaan die GS oor. Nou is die motor eers ingery.

Just in-time to catch Wilderness nature reserve open. Setup camp. Pop out to spar for some meat and braai wood. KaTooM.RSA had the braai wel under control that night.
16387136_10154230634851717_3239417024851724374_n.jpg

Day 6

Sadly all holidays must end. With no rush we had our breakfast and started packing.
16406715_10154231557156717_6240775415405943896_n.jpg
I had a washing line going to get some of my clothes dry thinking it was Saturday. So lekker was die trip en het geen idee watse dag dit was. So we headed out towards home, PE.
I first popped in at my parents house on the way home. The shock came as we were corrected to what day it was. Damn, we realized that we needed to be at work the next day. Hahahahaaa....

lekker, heel van tyd vergeet. Hoeveel dae op die trip was ons amper laat omdat ons net slap le langs die pad....

16386886_10154230647156717_7371166234084018992_n.jpg

Total distance from PE was 2050km