Moving from an F800GS to a XT660Z

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dorsland

Bachelor Dog
Reaction score
Bike
Honda CRF-1000L Africa Twin
After just over a year following the sale of my 800GSA, I bought a mint white 2014 XT660Z Teneré last week. I've owned Honda, Kawasaki, Yamaha and BMW but strangely enough never a Suzuki since I started riding in around 1974. Yamaha has always had a soft spot with me, having worked at Main Yamaha in Johannesburg in 1981 after I finished my National Service, and part time at Linex Yamaha while studying.  I also raced a TT500 in enduro class for 2 years back then.  When speed was the thing I did for kicks in those younger days, I had an FZ750 that had been worked on a bit and for a while, it was the 750 to beat on the Pretoria/Krugersdorp highway Sunday morning drag strip. That short background then to present my credentials as a not so stranger to Yammie.

Before buying the Teneré last week, I had briefly sat on one once but never ridden one before last Monday.  I have always loved the looks of the Ten as being a quite business-like no nonsense type of bike. Being Japanese, their legendary reliability was a given and something I've always favoured over outright performance.

Anyway, to cut a long story short, I sold my standard 2010 800GS in 2012 after having enjoyed many trips with it and replaced it with a 2014 800GSA which I only had for about a year.  While I loved this bike too, the screen and my 6'2" height didn't go well together and I suffered a severely vibrating helmet peak on every trip that made it difficult to read road signs at any speed over about 100km/h.  However, this was not the reason I sold it.  I sold it because I realised one day that R140000 had been sitting in the garage for 7 weeks where I hadn't even seen it, never mind ridden it.  That capital could be more productively used on my farm.