Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register

Author Topic: 990 Adv R Speedometer/ Display  (Read 210 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline FlatSix

  • Member
  • **
  • Bike: KTM 990 Adventure
    Location: Gauteng
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
990 Adv R Speedometer/ Display
« on: June 19, 2017, 07:37:09 am »
Hi Guys, does anyone have a used speedo display for a 2010 990R. Mine has gone haywire, flashing temperature bars and showing speeds of up to 499kph.
6 weeks wait from RAD.
Yamaha MR50, DT50, Kdx200, IT465, Daytona 955, Duc 748R, GSXR1000, Daytona 995, Duc 1098, 950 Adv, Beta Evo 290, 990 Adv

Offline Grumpleton

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Bike: KTM 950 Adventure S
    Location: Western Cape
  • Posts: 504
  • Ja, Nee so is life , and then there is my bike.
    • View Profile
Re: 990 Adv R Speedometer/ Display
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2017, 05:19:37 pm »
Have you Tried to reset it .

had a car that the dash went all funny.

disconnect both terminals from the battery, once disconnected clock the terminals ( touch them together and hold them there for 30 seconds)

re connect battery , this some times resets the computer and sets every thing back to default.

and no I am not accepting responsibility if any thing else goes haywire. but it is electronic and has a memory chip and all you are doing is re-setting the memory chip, you may loose your your total mileage  and it may change  from Km/h to M/h but I do not think it will. and that is easy to set back.

try it and see.
Sun, Wind and Sail and for those colder days, My Bike.
Live for today, because yesterday has gone and tomorrow may never come.

Offline FlatSix

  • Member
  • **
  • Bike: KTM 990 Adventure
    Location: Gauteng
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
Re: 990 Adv R Speedometer/ Display
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2017, 09:04:08 pm »
Thanks Grumpleton, I'll try that tonight
Yamaha MR50, DT50, Kdx200, IT465, Daytona 955, Duc 748R, GSXR1000, Daytona 995, Duc 1098, 950 Adv, Beta Evo 290, 990 Adv

Offline Cracker

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Bike: KTM 950 Adventure S
    Location: Gauteng
  • Posts: 4,441
  • Top Biscuit!
    • View Profile
Re: 990 Adv R Speedometer/ Display
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2017, 10:34:51 pm »
These speedos can be fixed, there is a thread on it somewhere.

If you can't find it get hold of Factory Racing, they have done this before. Common problem with water/moisture getting in the wrong place.
Don't let fear hold you back ..... take it with you!

Offline DrDirt

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Bike: KTM 990 Adventure
    Location: Western Cape
  • Posts: 1,188
  • George - Southern Cape
    • View Profile
Re: 990 Adv R Speedometer/ Display
« Reply #4 on: June 19, 2017, 10:40:19 pm »
I opened mine contact spray and cleaned and it still works fine. Youtube vids

Offline FlatSix

  • Member
  • **
  • Bike: KTM 990 Adventure
    Location: Gauteng
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
Re: 990 Adv R Speedometer/ Display
« Reply #5 on: June 19, 2017, 11:11:26 pm »
Have you Tried to reset it .

had a car that the dash went all funny.

disconnect both terminals from the battery, once disconnected clock the terminals ( touch them together and hold them there for 30 seconds)

re connect battery , this some times resets the computer and sets every thing back to default.

and no I am not accepting responsibility if any thing else goes haywire. but it is electronic and has a memory chip and all you are doing is re-setting the memory chip, you may loose your your total mileage  and it may change  from Km/h to M/h but I do not think it will. and that is easy to set back.

try it and see.

No luck with the reset Grumpleton, I tried it once with ignition off, and once with ignition on. Thanks nonetheless.
Yamaha MR50, DT50, Kdx200, IT465, Daytona 955, Duc 748R, GSXR1000, Daytona 995, Duc 1098, 950 Adv, Beta Evo 290, 990 Adv

Offline FlatSix

  • Member
  • **
  • Bike: KTM 990 Adventure
    Location: Gauteng
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
Re: 990 Adv R Speedometer/ Display
« Reply #6 on: June 19, 2017, 11:13:25 pm »
I opened mine contact spray and cleaned and it still works fine. Youtube vids


Thanks DrDirt, that was the first thing I tried, there was no change.
Yamaha MR50, DT50, Kdx200, IT465, Daytona 955, Duc 748R, GSXR1000, Daytona 995, Duc 1098, 950 Adv, Beta Evo 290, 990 Adv

Offline Grumpleton

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Bike: KTM 950 Adventure S
    Location: Western Cape
  • Posts: 504
  • Ja, Nee so is life , and then there is my bike.
    • View Profile
Re: 990 Adv R Speedometer/ Display
« Reply #7 on: June 20, 2017, 07:25:21 am »
Have you Tried to reset it .

had a car that the dash went all funny.

disconnect both terminals from the battery, once disconnected clock the terminals ( touch them together and hold them there for 30 seconds)

re connect battery , this some times resets the computer and sets every thing back to default.

and no I am not accepting responsibility if any thing else goes haywire. but it is electronic and has a memory chip and all you are doing is re-setting the memory chip, you may loose your your total mileage  and it may change  from Km/h to M/h but I do not think it will. and that is easy to set back.

try it and see.

No luck with the reset Grumpleton, I tried it once with ignition off, and once with ignition on. Thanks nonetheless.


pity but was worth the try,
Sun, Wind and Sail and for those colder days, My Bike.
Live for today, because yesterday has gone and tomorrow may never come.