Love & War Tour

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Trailrider

Bachelor Dog
Reaction score
Bike
Honda TransAlp XL700V
Love & War

At last my wife and I get to take the Transalp on a long trip. ;D This will be her first pillion trip so I'll be taking it easy, varying roads and accommodation. Hopefully all goes well and this will become a more regular thing.
hope.gif
This trip will run over 12 days and 4 provinces.

TA.jpg

This will be a running Ride Report updated as we go along. Hopefully I will be able to update it daily. It's my first attempt at a "in Ride Ride Report". It's not as hardcore as some of the recent brilliant reports on WD. We will not be carrying water & fuel for survival and hopefully no-one will have near death experiences. ;D It'll just be me and my wife on a scenic ride through parts of the country I have not really seen up close before. I hope it goes down well.

October is the month of my wifeâ??s birthday and our wedding anniversary (12 years). To celebrate this we usually go on a trip which includes a show at Sun City.

This year we decided to take the bike and do a trip which would include Sun City, visiting family and attending the National Karate Championships in Bloemfontein where our son will be competing. Accommodation will include relatives & friendsâ?? lodgings, B&B's, hotels and camping. I will try and meet up with other Wild Dogs in the towns we visit and hopefully ride with them and share a beer or two.

The route also runs past some historic sites of the Boer War I hope to visit. Iâ??ve been wanting to see these and will incorporate the history of the war / battle fields as we visit them.

The Boer War

The Boer War was fought from 11 October 1899 until 31 May 1902, between the British Empire and the two independent Boer republics of the Orange Free State and the South African Republic (Transvaal Republic).