Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register

Author Topic: Losing my Solo Virginity  (Read 3198 times)

Offline Yefimovich²

• Bike: BMW R1200GS
  • R1200RT
Losing my Solo Virginity
« on: October 13, 2008, 02:55:51 pm »
Ever since I bought my first bike (the XTZ125) and joined the forum, reading all the wonderfull reports I've wanted to get myself a piece of that action! Just me, my bike and this magnifent country.

Now I've been on a few fun and memorable rides, but none of real substance. So the seed was planted, the firelighter was when a guy walked into our store selling map books, I purchased the 'touring atlas' and duly made up my mind that I would do some mountain passes that weekend.

I had sort of settled on doing a tar only route over the Long Tom pass untill I started playing around on google earth and found a gravel route from Belfast to Lydenberg. This would be a +-50km dirt route which satisfied me as this would be my first solo ride, I don't as yet own a prosthetic sense of Direction(GPS) and I didn't want to tickle fate's arse because she may just decide to spank mine resulting In me ending up at the bottom of a canyon  :o

Then Last week smithey posted a passes index and I spotted a pass between Schoemanskloof and Lydenburg which looked, from google earth at least, to be a dirt pass. Wooohooo! This route looked to be +-80km's through the plantations and over the mountains!! So with my questionable planning done, I packed on Friday night to leave on Saturday morning.

My Riding Gear:

Fly Viper Boots, Thor MX socks, Thor Googgles, Scott Goggles(In case), Spare lenses, Baaiker jacket, Helmet(thanks Runner), fong kong riding pants and first aid kit.

The In case Kit:

Mini pump, tyre weld(whatever), 24/22 spanners, valve tool(thanks ADV MX), Screwdriver with many bits(allen keys etc), pliers, tool inna can (thanks TravelGravel), insulation tape, chainlube and two large screwdrivers.

The Steed:

Yamaha XT600E

The Rider: