Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register

Author Topic: So today I had to ride my bike 30km with no throttle cable  (Read 622 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Skeltonsc

So today I had to ride my bike 30km with no throttle cable
« on: January 09, 2020, 05:05:04 pm »
So today I was on the highway when suddenly my throttle goes pap, and no power :o

ok so I pull off to the side of the road already knowing that the cable has snapped.

So now the thought crosses my mind how the hell am I gonna get the bike home now, first thought was choke but the bike is hot now so that just stalls it instead of raising the RPM to anything usable

I knew I could make a plan and swop the push pull cables and get some sort of throttle even though they are not the same but can be made to work in a pinch.

But heres the kicker I have not got any tools with me. :dousing: :dousing: :dousing: :dousing:

so I check below the carbs and find the idle screw and turn it up to around 4000rpm and turn the bike around and ride the 30km to the bike shop

when I finally got there they lent me some tools and I removed the broken cable but they never had a replacement that would fit. however they certainly helped in the fact that I could now swop the cables over and get the bike operational.

so I will be packing some tools on the bike again.

Also a big thank you to the lady at the bike shop not only are you HOT :pot: :pot: :pot: :pot: but very helpfull  :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: and seeing the KTM'S outside I really thought I was gonna pay a KTM price to borrow a few tools >:D >:D 

I then took a ride out to Graham DocKLR and got a replacement cable, will fit it tomorrow  :deal:

I'm not gonna name places because she is married and my misses will string me up.
 

Offline eberhard

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Bike: Moto Guzzi (all models)
    Location: Gauteng
  • Posts: 3,977
  • Thanked: 454 times
  • Time takes a cigarette...
Re: So today I had to ride my bike 30km with no throttle cable
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2020, 05:57:54 pm »
Great thinking there  :thumleft: on your feet wheels.

Iím glad you got sorted.
(donít make your missesí problem also other peopleís problem)
eberhard
Agostini 1000
R90S
R80/7
R75/5 Big Boy 150 Vuka 110
 

Offline superfoxi

  • Forum Vendor
  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Bike: Honda XRV 750 Africa Twin
    Location: Western Cape
  • Posts: 2,872
  • Thanked: 42 times
  • Professional motorcycle and suspension services
Re: So today I had to ride my bike 30km with no throttle cable
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2020, 06:39:44 pm »
I always carry one of those cable repair kits (and some basic tools) with me when I ride. Good enough to temporarily fix a throttle or clutch cable. If everything fails you can still hang yourself with one of  the cables...
They are R139 per set. I have stock if anybody is interested.
 
The following users thanked this post: goblin

Offline Ri

  • Bikermouse
  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Bike: Suzuki DR650
    Location: Western Cape
  • Posts: 3,195
  • Thanked: 521 times
  • DR650 Admirer
Re: So today I had to ride my bike 30km with no throttle cable
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2020, 11:14:46 am »
I always carry one of those cable repair kits (and some basic tools) with me when I ride. Good enough to temporarily fix a throttle or clutch cable. If everything fails you can still hang yourself with one of  the cables...
They are R139 per set. I have stock if anybody is interested.

This looks like a good idea. I need to plan a ride out that way soon :thumleft:

Am impressed you go the bike moving again, @Skeltonsc , I don't think I even know how my assembly works :-[ Guess I would've tried blipping and kicking it through the gears.
« Last Edit: January 10, 2020, 01:11:19 pm by Ri »
Tales of the Purple Turtles: Ride Reports
PROJECT SAS WILDEHOND III Contributions: R Snyman Capitec Savings Account 1545860511 Balance (2017/12/07): R3,190.23 - R1,600 for steel purchase
 
The following users thanked this post: superfoxi

Offline Tr0jan

  • Centurion(Werk) - Zeerust(Plaas)
  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Bike: KTM 990 Adventure
    Location: Gauteng
  • Posts: 1,642
  • Thanked: 18 times
  • Kom grondpad, kom!
Re: So today I had to ride my bike 30km with no throttle cable
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2020, 11:24:41 am »
Well played. Glad you got sorted without too much of a hassle!
KTM 990 - Wiff twee pype and loud A-F!

I'm not a hooligan, my throttle grip got stuck! Į\_(ツ)_/Į
 

Offline Black_Hawk

  • BackroadRiderZA
  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Bike: BMW F800GS
    Location: Western Cape
  • Posts: 3,155
  • Thanked: 191 times
  • Follow our blog: https://mytownsatoz.wordpress.com
    • My Towns A to Z
Re: So today I had to ride my bike 30km with no throttle cable
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2020, 11:54:48 am »
Well done  :thumleft:
Follow our blog: https://mytownsatoz.wordpress.com

2010 F650GS (Sold), 2009 BMW F800GS, 2002 BMW F650GS (Sold), 1982 Honda XR 200R, 1982 Honda XL 600R
 

Online woody1

  • Forum Whore
  • ****
  • Bike: Yamaha Super Tenere
    Location: Western Cape
  • Posts: 9,896
  • Thanked: 191 times
  • XT1200ZE "Vinnige" Witte
Re: So today I had to ride my bike 30km with no throttle cable
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2020, 12:07:08 pm »
I have one of those cable repair kits on my bike all the time.
Never ever had a cable problem.

If I remove it tomorrow I WILL have a failure....that is how it works. :laughing4:

I WOULD RATHER BE AN HONEST ASSHOLE .... THAN A FLIPPEN LIAR !   


Ducati 100cc Mountaineer, Honda 550 K3, Suzuki Gs1000E, Suzuki Gs1000G, Suzuki 1100 Katana, BMW R1100RT, BMW R1150RT,,,,,All gone. Only 2014 ST in the garage at the moment... And Honda XL 600
 

Offline Black_Hawk

  • BackroadRiderZA
  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Bike: BMW F800GS
    Location: Western Cape
  • Posts: 3,155
  • Thanked: 191 times
  • Follow our blog: https://mytownsatoz.wordpress.com
    • My Towns A to Z
Re: So today I had to ride my bike 30km with no throttle cable
« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2020, 12:17:12 pm »
I have one of those cable repair kits on my bike all the time.
Never ever had a cable problem.

If I remove it tomorrow I WILL have a failure....that is how it works. :laughing4:

I agree, same rule applies for punctures  :pot:
Follow our blog: https://mytownsatoz.wordpress.com

2010 F650GS (Sold), 2009 BMW F800GS, 2002 BMW F650GS (Sold), 1982 Honda XR 200R, 1982 Honda XL 600R
 

Offline masehare

Re: So today I had to ride my bike 30km with no throttle cable
« Reply #8 on: January 10, 2020, 12:45:08 pm »
Lank gelede het my tjommie se Italjet se throttle kabel gebreek net toe ons lekker and die ry was in die veldjie naby sy huis. Ons het toe plan gemaak deur die kabel aan ons broek belde vas te maak as jy 'n spin vat - so jy accelerate as jy terug sit. Ek erken dit was 'n kak idee :)
Profile for wepenerc100

take me down to the Salt Lake City where thereís salt and lakes and the lakes are salty
 

Online woody1

  • Forum Whore
  • ****
  • Bike: Yamaha Super Tenere
    Location: Western Cape
  • Posts: 9,896
  • Thanked: 191 times
  • XT1200ZE "Vinnige" Witte
Re: So today I had to ride my bike 30km with no throttle cable
« Reply #9 on: January 10, 2020, 12:48:13 pm »
Sweisie my PRAKTIESE seun het eendag in Pretoria 'n kabel gesnap.
Gelukkig naby 'n shopping centre waar hy 'n 3 punt plug kon koop.
Daar plan gemaak om kabel met 15Amp plug te herstel.  :laughing4:

I WOULD RATHER BE AN HONEST ASSHOLE .... THAN A FLIPPEN LIAR !   


Ducati 100cc Mountaineer, Honda 550 K3, Suzuki Gs1000E, Suzuki Gs1000G, Suzuki 1100 Katana, BMW R1100RT, BMW R1150RT,,,,,All gone. Only 2014 ST in the garage at the moment... And Honda XL 600
 

Offline jaybiker

  • Old school=Old's cool.
  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Bike: BMW R1150GS
    Location: Eastern Cape
  • Posts: 3,428
  • Thanked: 212 times
Re: So today I had to ride my bike 30km with no throttle cable
« Reply #10 on: January 10, 2020, 01:57:44 pm »
Many times - well, quite a number of times - I've made a plan and made a bike with a busted throttle cable rideable to get home. For myself or mates, even a stranger.

But I can't help wondering these about modern 'remote control' jobbies. Being ignorant and out of touch, I've never even looked at one. Is it possible to attach a piece of string or something to operate it in case of emergency?

Or would a tech savvy oke use a phone app to re-program his garage door opener to work the throttle?  :biggrin:

Don't take the piss or laugh at me - I know bugger all!  :lol8:
 

Offline Odd Dog

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Bike: AJS (all models)
    Location: Western Cape
  • Posts: 1,325
  • Thanked: 63 times
Re: So today I had to ride my bike 30km with no throttle cable
« Reply #11 on: January 10, 2020, 02:44:37 pm »
Its a good idea to run spare cables alongside the existing ones then when you suffer a breakage you just have to connect the already routed cable ends, I used to do this on my enduro bikes and it saved me big time on a few occasions.
If You're going through hell, keep going.
 

Offline Sabre

Re: So today I had to ride my bike 30km with no throttle cable
« Reply #12 on: January 10, 2020, 03:31:26 pm »
Its a good idea to run spare cables alongside the existing ones then when you suffer a breakage you just have to connect the already routed cable ends, I used to do this on my enduro bikes and it saved me big time on a few occasions.
:thumleft: Have also done this on my KLR
"Riding a motorcycle is technology's closest equivalent to being a cowboy. Our modern horse has two wheels instead of four, but it's nervous system is appropriately rated in horsepower" Robert Edison Fulton jr. From his book "One Man Caravan"

Kawasaki 650 Klein Land Rover
BMW 1150 Groot Seun
 

Offline Skeltonsc

Re: So today I had to ride my bike 30km with no throttle cable
« Reply #13 on: January 10, 2020, 04:55:58 pm »
Sweisie my PRAKTIESE seun het eendag in Pretoria 'n kabel gesnap.
Gelukkig naby 'n shopping centre waar hy 'n 3 punt plug kon koop.
Daar plan gemaak om kabel met 15Amp plug te herstel.  :laughing4:

het al baie so gemaak.

Maar die keur het ek nie eers n spanner saam gehad om naby die bloody cable te kom nie

het onder by  die carb af gebreek
 

Online mike gs

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Bike: BMW R1200GS Adventure
    Location: Gauteng
  • Posts: 732
  • Thanked: 30 times
Re: So today I had to ride my bike 30km with no throttle cable
« Reply #14 on: January 10, 2020, 05:08:51 pm »
Ok, Ok, enough talk about cables and tools. Where is the bike shop with the HOT babe?

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Love life!
 

Offline Clockwork Orange

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Bike: KTM 990 Adventure
    Location: United Kingdom
  • Posts: 2,391
  • Thanked: 28 times
Re: So today I had to ride my bike 30km with no throttle cable
« Reply #15 on: January 10, 2020, 05:29:35 pm »
Ok, Ok, enough talk about cables and tools. Where is the bike shop with the HOT babe?

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

And any respectable WD member would have managed to get a sneaky pic :biggrin:
When in doubt...grab throttle!!!
 

Offline Kaboef

  • Jedi Knight
  • Forum Whore
  • ****
  • Bike: KTM 950 Adventure S
    Location: Western Cape
  • Posts: 5,201
  • Thanked: 198 times
Re: So today I had to ride my bike 30km with no throttle cable
« Reply #16 on: January 10, 2020, 05:58:50 pm »
Ok, Ok, enough talk about cables and tools. Where is the bike shop with the HOT babe?

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

And any respectable WD member would have managed to get a sneaky pic :biggrin:

Agreed. Poor form.
 :biggrin:
And Saint Attila raised the hand grenade up on high, saying, "O Lord, bless this thy hand grenade, that with it thou mayst blow thine enemies to tiny bits, in thy mercy."
 

Offline 2StrokeDan

  • I've been to paradise, but i've never been to me....
  • Castrated Dog
  • ******
  • Bike: KTM 690 Adventure
    Location: Western Cape
  • Posts: 22,316
  • Thanked: 987 times
  • RD350 and Rossi!!!!!!
Re: So today I had to ride my bike 30km with no throttle cable
« Reply #17 on: January 10, 2020, 08:38:13 pm »
Sweisie my PRAKTIESE seun het eendag in Pretoria 'n kabel gesnap.
Gelukkig naby 'n shopping centre waar hy 'n 3 punt plug kon koop.
Daar plan gemaak om kabel met 15Amp plug te herstel.  :laughing4:

Was dit n elektriese bike? :bueller:
 

Online woody1

  • Forum Whore
  • ****
  • Bike: Yamaha Super Tenere
    Location: Western Cape
  • Posts: 9,896
  • Thanked: 191 times
  • XT1200ZE "Vinnige" Witte
Re: So today I had to ride my bike 30km with no throttle cable
« Reply #18 on: January 10, 2020, 09:04:13 pm »
Yamaha  :imaposer:

I WOULD RATHER BE AN HONEST ASSHOLE .... THAN A FLIPPEN LIAR !   


Ducati 100cc Mountaineer, Honda 550 K3, Suzuki Gs1000E, Suzuki Gs1000G, Suzuki 1100 Katana, BMW R1100RT, BMW R1150RT,,,,,All gone. Only 2014 ST in the garage at the moment... And Honda XL 600
 

Offline roxenz

  • rocks make sense
  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Bike: Yamaha Super Tenere
    Location: Gauteng
  • Posts: 4,472
  • Thanked: 110 times
  • cheerful yesterdays and confident tomorrows
Re: So today I had to ride my bike 30km with no throttle cable
« Reply #19 on: January 11, 2020, 05:35:57 am »
skeltonc, I reckon you are ready to tackle Dakar in the malle moto class.  :thumleft:  :biggrin: