Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register

Author Topic: Bmw F650 Dakar Engine Repair  (Read 333 times)

Offline awdippenaar123

• Bike: Suzuki DR-Z 400
Bmw F650 Dakar Engine Repair
« on: June 09, 2021, 10:29:04 am »
Good morning everyone

I've got the opportunity to get a hold of a Bmw F650GS Dakar with 80000km at a very good price. Owner says it needs a new battery and something does not sound well with the engine but it runs. They do not seem to know what could be the issue. I just want an indication as i am new to the GS game, as to anyone thinks i should go for the deal and fix it up.

And also for worst case scenario if the engine is fried how much would it cost to get it running well again?

Regards

Offline DUSTRIDERS

• Forum Vendor
  • Teelhond
  • Bike: BMW R1200GS
  • ChrisL .. aka...Chris Louw
    • dustriders.co.za
Re: Bmw F650 Dakar Engine Repair
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2021, 10:32:14 am »
Timing chain?
MOTORCYCLE ACCESSORIES RETAILER
info@dustriders.co.za
ENDURISTAN SOFTLUGGAGE IMPORTER
www.dustriders.co.za

The following users thanked this post: awdippenaar123

Offline blockheadxl650v

« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2021, 10:35:53 am »
That's a difficult question to answer. Why don't you get a battery and start it and then try and make a decision from there. There are a few guys in the western cape that have a lot of 2nd hand spares for them. Unfortunately I don't have there numbers but they advertise on facebook Market place.
3IG 3ALLS

Offline awdippenaar123

• Bike: Suzuki DR-Z 400
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2021, 10:36:35 am »
It probably could be the timing chain. I haven't gone to see the bike as I don't want to waste my time hence me first getting some input. But as i saw from other posts the 650's are quite reliable but i just want to get someone elses inputs.

Offline blockheadxl650v

3IG 3ALLS

Offline Black_Hawk

• BackroadRiderZA
  • Race Dog
  • Bike: BMW F800GS
  • Follow our blog: https://mytownsatoz.wordpress.com
    • My Towns A to Z