One Night Stand in the North West

S

Its holiday time and I'm in JHB for the most of it so we planned a quick one night stand to get out of the city for a while.

The group was going to be about 8 but only 3 pitched. No hassles cos we were out riding bikes and thats all that counts.

My partners in crime having a breakfast to start off the morning.

Popipants
20122008.jpg

Funacide
20122008_001.jpg

We set out to Koster on tar trying to cover as much of the boring ground as possible before we chilled.
In Koster the Golf club served us some cold refreshments or 3.

20122008_003.jpg

We hopped onto the dirt just out of town and cruised along at a fast pace on good scenic dirt.

The KLR was having fun up front. The roads were quite busy and we saw someone returning from the Desert Run as well as some other dogs I had ridden with the week before.
One sweet older Transalp 600 too.
20122008_005.jpg

The route to Groot Marico has been covered before but its quite nice with some ups, downs and quite a few bridges along the way.

Popi had to stand for the camera.

20122008_008.jpg

20122008_011.jpg

20122008_012.jpg

Thirsty work so we stopped here.
20122008_013.jpg

20122008_017.jpg

We were planning on staying near Zeerust for the night, a place I have only stopped in to have breakfast when going to Botswana.
A mix of dirt and tar saw us in Zeerust, a quick refuel and we found the Bull and Bush for lunch.
Not related to the one in Gabs at all, just stole the name I think.

20122008_019.jpg

20122008_023.jpg

We arrived in the camp site and were warmly recieved by the mainly 4x4 crowd there.
The pool was visited before we setup camp.

20122008_037.jpg

We settled down with a few Irish Whiskys and a fire. Our hosts provided firewood and ice on the house. Really appreciate it.

20122008_034.jpg

Kak praat, camping, whisky and a braai. Aaaah....
20122008_038.jpg

The next morning I woke to find this, fun making coffee.  What a win.
21122008.jpg

Me and Popi decided to go have a look around the farm, leaving fun in the camp.  We saw some Impala and got to cruise around in 1st/2nd looking around the bushveld.

Some pics of the morning trail ride.

21122008_009.jpg

21122008_013.jpg

21122008_016.jpg

Dan word dit net nag.
We took a wrong turn and were faced with a steep rocky descent that I figured would be no hassle so I went down,
I gathered momentum at a scary pace, was kicked off course and managed to brake hard and drop the bike before I went over a high step droppoff into some serious kak.

We picked my bike up and walked it down the rest of the way and then it was the 1150's turn.
Eish.

My camera phone died about here and I have no more pics.

*hectic*
I'll let popipants explain.

We got back to camp and pretty much rode the shortest way home avoiding the tolls.

Shot for a lekka time guys. Maybe we do it again before the work year starts?