Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register

Author Topic: 1st Oct - JHB Newbie ride.  (Read 1666 times)

Offline chrisB

• Race Dog
  • Bike: BMW F650GS / Dakar
1st Oct - JHB Newbie ride.
« on: October 01, 2006, 07:03:06 pm »
Hi Guy's

Being a newbie I attended the ride with the fellas, ridding the canals at harties this was my first real DS outing and it was fantastic many to thanks shark and the other fellas!

Here's a couple of pics:

Meeting the fellas at Wimpy.

Tha UberThumper.

1 x UberThumper and pilot moa!

Amstel.

And we went up that moerse klip UberThumper and I made it but just!

This is BlouVark getting some assistance with the vark.

Amstel up, up and away!

Wino at the top.

G650 Xchallenge - uBerThuMper II

shark_za

« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2006, 08:13:04 pm »
We ended up riding a new route to the rock today, we took its easy after a hasty start and I think everyone enjoyed the ride. The route followed sections I had ridden on before with Wino and then linked up with a straight and long road running parallel to the thabazimbi road. We joined the canal at the spot we normally turn off to goto the rock and then went further on the canal to approach the rock from the other direction.
While the plan was to take it easy everyone rode up the rock, digitaldan zooming past and riding up the middle more difficult route. Everyone else went up the normal approach with the bigger bikes being a bit cautious.
Must say well done to Chris for not hesitating for a second and riding right up. Also to Blouvark for doing it on that big pig. Now you know why Welshies bashplate looks the way it does. The odd little stall and fall never put anyone off.

Funacide, Amstel and InsiderDirtRider hit the main road to head home while the rest of us did the usual 2nd canal in reverse, just skipping out the township outside Brits.

It was long, I did about 300km in total this morning, about 180-200 of that being dirt.