Welcome to Wild Dog Adventure Riding
"come ride Southern Africa"

ADSL Internet Solutions from PLUGG
Proud Provider of Hosting Solutions
to Wild Dog Adventure Riders

Forum Time : February 09, 2010, 02:05:23 AM
Comprehensive Dirt & Adventure Bike Insurance CountryTrax BMW offroad motorcycle training academy Bike Rentals and Adventure Tours Email:  hochlandauto@bmwdealer.co.za Tulies Adventures - Fax 086 663 2775 We strive to give our customers the ultimate motorcycling experience, through efficient friendly service and taking an active involvement in the motorcycle market Wild@Heart | where life is an adventure...
HomeHelpCalendarLoginRegisterNew PostsNew RepliesWild Dog Shop Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
News: Please let me know if you have any problems signing in on the following email address: wdforum@wilddog.za.net
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 ... 11 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Air France crash over the Atlantic: Are aircrafts safe from lightning?  (Read 2818 times)
MalcolmNXR
Wannabe bike upgrader

Bike: Honda NXR 125

View Profile
Re: Air France crash over the Atlantic: Are aircrafts safe from lightning? « Reply #60 on: June 02, 2009, 04:57:29 PM »

It just gives me the creeps, thanx for the info.

Tssssssssk BOOM!
Trailrider
Southern Cape

Bike: Honda TransAlp XL700V

"Africa Twin Lite"

View Profile WWW
Re: Air France crash over the Atlantic: Are aircrafts safe from lightning? « Reply #61 on: June 02, 2009, 05:14:11 PM »

RIP Erich

“It's a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You
 step onto the road, and if you don't keep your feet, there's
 no knowing where you might be swept off to.”
Administrator

Bike: Kawasaki KLR 650

Mark it ZERO !

View Profile
Re: Air France crash over the Atlantic: Are aircrafts safe from lightning? « Reply #62 on: June 02, 2009, 05:57:44 PM »

If you take 20 years ago, people didn't even know that a plane can crash.

Dude, 30 years ago was the era of the DC-10.
They knew planes could crash !

I'm not a praying man but if you are really up there please save me Superman.
Goose
Help-my-trap-operator!
Forum Whore

Bike: BMW R1200GS Adventure

Cape Town

View Profile
Re: Air France crash over the Atlantic: Are aircrafts safe from lightning? « Reply #63 on: June 02, 2009, 06:18:41 PM »

Really sad, but as long as people remember we are all human and pilots certainly carry huge burdens - not only for their families but the hundreds who entrust their lives to them. PIC - means just that - the bloke or gal sitting on the left can and will make any call if they deem it in the best interests of safety for them, their crew and pax. Obviously the 1st officer/s are involved in the decision making, but ultimately safety comes first.

SA pilots have one of the best safety records in the world, I personally know many - including amost fantastic lady and pilot - Debbie Mann (who I did my COM with) - and it was with this knowledge that I berated a passenger only 2 weeks ago at Gatwick on our flight to Dubai.
The Emirates aircraft had an engine problem - the pilot from his accent was quite obviously a Safrican and his mannerism and assurance that the AC would ONLY continue it's flight once 100% functional, allowed me to rest assured that they knew what they were doing.
This Brit however was really bemoaning the fact that we had a 3 hour delay and he was pissed off.... so I nailed his ass and aksed him whether he'd want to be 100% assured that he'll arrive on the other side, or whether he'd enjoy the flight knowing that they rushed the job and that there might be a chance the engine would fail? Doos gave me a blank look... and shut up for the rest of the delay time!

Ratel - not perhaps you there...  mwink

"Political correctness is a doctrine, fostered by a delusional, illogical minority, and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end"
TrailBlazer

Bike: Honda XL650V Transalp

View Profile
Re: Air France crash over the Atlantic: Are aircrafts safe from lightning? « Reply #64 on: June 02, 2009, 08:07:39 PM »

Really sad, but as long as people remember we are all human and pilots certainly carry huge burdens - not only for their families but the hundreds who entrust their lives to them. PIC - means just that - the bloke or gal sitting on the left can and will make any call if they deem it in the best interests of safety for them, their crew and pax. Obviously the 1st officer/s are involved in the decision making, but ultimately safety comes first.

SA pilots have one of the best safety records in the world, I personally know many - including amost fantastic lady and pilot - Debbie Mann (who I did my COM with) - and it was with this knowledge that I berated a passenger only 2 weeks ago at Gatwick on our flight to Dubai.
The Emirates aircraft had an engine problem - the pilot from his accent was quite obviously a Safrican and his mannerism and assurance that the AC would ONLY continue it's flight once 100% functional, allowed me to rest assured that they knew what they were doing.
This Brit however was really bemoaning the fact that we had a 3 hour delay and he was pissed off.... so I nailed his ass and aksed him whether he'd want to be 100% assured that he'll arrive on the other side, or whether he'd enjoy the flight knowing that they rushed the job and that there might be a chance the engine would fail? Doos gave me a blank look... and shut up for the rest of the delay time!

+ plenty on what Goose has said here...

Dude, do you think the pilot wants to fly an unsafe aircraft that's going to kill him and his crew, and make orphans of his kids? Not on your life. In that kind of event, the authorities will say "Pilot Error". I can say with authority that NO pilot in his right mind wants this kind of thing to be placed on their shoulders.

Up to the time I left SAA in 1999, and between then and now at Comair, I have seen many pilots refuse to take an aircraft because of a fault. At one stage the technicians workng on Comair's aircraft thought the pilots were trying to be prima-donnas, but eventualy realised that the more the pilots refused an aircraft because of a fault, the more work the techies would have to do, until the problem was sorted; and the more explaining the techies would have to to management, on why the aircraft wasn't fixed properly the first time.

At the same time, an aircraft has enough redundancy systems built in so that in the event of a failure of one system, there will be some other system that can be used.

The Nationwide B737 that lost an engine in Cape Town is a good case in point. The crew got that aircraft off the ground, flew around while assessing their options, and got it safely back on the ground on one engine only, with severe structural damage. That called for some seriously professional flying. As a matter of interest, the Co-pilot on that flight is now flying for Comair.

There are laid-down checks that an aircraft has to undergo. Some are governed by flight hours, and some by days elapsed. If I recall correctly, a "D-Check" is done every 18 months. The aircraft is almost stripped of all panels where there is some sort of operation (cables and pulleys), a lot, if not all, is x-rayed for cracks in the skin, and repairs and modifications are carried out.

There are some aircraft flying at the moment which have clocked up close to 100 000 flying hours. Convert that to kilometres travelled, based at about 900km / h, and that will give you an idea of how far that 'plane has been, with no major incidents.

Remember, an aircraft falling from the sky is the exception, and not the rule!

There are old riders, and bold riders, but no old, bold riders.

Do not ride faster than your guardian angel can fly!

Take only pictures. leave only footprints
MalcolmNXR
Wannabe bike upgrader

View Profile
Re: Air France crash over the Atlantic: Are aircrafts safe from lightning? « Reply #65 on: June 02, 2009, 08:26:19 PM »

+ plenty on what Goose has said here...

Dude, do you think the pilot wants to fly an unsafe aircraft that's going to kill him and his crew, and make orphans of his kids? Not on your life. In that kind of event, the authorities will say "Pilot Error". I can say with authority that NO pilot in his right mind wants this kind of thing to be placed on their shoulders.

Up to the time I left SAA in 1999, and between then and now at Comair, I have seen many pilots refuse to take an aircraft because of a fault. At one stage the technicians workng on Comair's aircraft thought the pilots were trying to be prima-donnas, but eventualy realised that the more the pilots refused an aircraft because of a fault, the more work the techies would have to do, until the problem was sorted; and the more explaining the techies would have to to management, on why the aircraft wasn't fixed properly the first time.

At the same time, an aircraft has enough redundancy systems built in so that in the event of a failure of one system, there will be some other system that can be used.

The Nationwide B737 that lost an engine in Cape Town is a good case in point. The crew got that aircraft off the ground, flew around while assessing their options, and got it safely back on the ground on one engine only, with severe structural damage. That called for some seriously professional flying. As a matter of interest, the Co-pilot on that flight is now flying for Comair.

There are laid-down checks that an aircraft has to undergo. Some are governed by flight hours, and some by days elapsed. If I recall correctly, a "D-Check" is done every 18 months. The aircraft is almost stripped of all panels where there is some sort of operation (cables and pulleys), a lot, if not all, is x-rayed for cracks in the skin, and repairs and modifications are carried out.

There are some aircraft flying at the moment which have clocked up close to 100 000 flying hours. Convert that to kilometres travelled, based at about 900km / h, and that will give you an idea of how far that 'plane has been, with no major incidents.

Remember, an aircraft falling from the sky is the exception, and not the rule!
But what has that to do with what I said?

Tssssssssk BOOM!
Trailrider
Southern Cape

"Africa Twin Lite"

View Profile WWW
Re: Air France crash over the Atlantic: Are aircrafts safe from lightning? « Reply #66 on: June 02, 2009, 08:29:51 PM »

If after all the facts you still believe it's dangerous then nothing is going to convince you. All that's left is for us to feed your phobia.

Jou vliegtuig gaan val boetie. Van hoog af! Grin

TrailBlazer

View Profile
Re: Air France crash over the Atlantic: Are aircrafts safe from lightning? « Reply #67 on: June 02, 2009, 08:34:35 PM »

SNIP

But what has that to do with what I said?

I was trying to explain to you that flying is about as safe as anything else you do. Everything that goes into each pre-flight, and during the flight, is designed around safety. But read again what Trailrider has to say about things. If you don't want to be convinced, then nothing we can say will help you.   Sad

If after all the facts you still believe it's dangerous then nothing is going to convince you. All that's left is for us to feed your phobia.

Jou vliegtuig gaan val boetie. Van hoog af! Grin

TrailBlazer

View Profile
Re: Air France crash over the Atlantic: Are aircrafts safe from lightning? « Reply #68 on: June 02, 2009, 08:37:27 PM »

And just by the way... if you're still too scared to fly later on, then you've got a helluva long swim ahead of you to KTM country  Wink

Doesn't matter what you do; you still have to cross the pond to get there, unless you go by ship. Hope you've got about 20 days for a trip each way, over and above your holiday time there.

MalcolmNXR
Wannabe bike upgrader

View Profile
Re: Air France crash over the Atlantic: Are aircrafts safe from lightning? « Reply #69 on: June 02, 2009, 08:38:17 PM »

Ek glo julle 100%, maaaaar die kans is daar, dis my punt. Goeie bedoelings  Wink

Tssssssssk BOOM!
LeonDude
Crutch Operator
Forum Whore

KLR650 - And the gravel road

View Profile WWW
Re: Air France crash over the Atlantic: Are aircrafts safe from lightning? « Reply #70 on: June 02, 2009, 08:38:40 PM »

Thinking back to all the small aircraft accidents we had in SA earlier this year, I must say these big companies look after their kites very well.

Make a difference in crime today! Log on to http://www.togetheragainstcrime.net/forum/index.php
MalcolmNXR
Wannabe bike upgrader

View Profile
Re: Air France crash over the Atlantic: Are aircrafts safe from lightning? « Reply #71 on: June 02, 2009, 08:42:03 PM »

And just by the way... if you're still too scared to fly later on, then you've got a helluva long swim ahead of you to KTM country  Wink

Doesn't matter what you do; you still have to cross the pond to get there, unless you go by ship. Hope you've got about 20 days for a trip each way, over and above your holiday time there.
Dankie, sal dit in gedagte hou. icon_thumleft

Tssssssssk BOOM!
LeonDude
Crutch Operator
Forum Whore

View Profile WWW
Re: Air France crash over the Atlantic: Are aircrafts safe from lightning? « Reply #72 on: June 02, 2009, 08:43:38 PM »

Ek glo julle 100%, maaaaar die kans is daar, dis my punt. Goeie bedoelings  Wink

Dude, n klompie jare terug moes ek vlieg saam met n mannetjie wat net uit skool uit was, op n kort besigheid trippie oos kaap toe. Die ou het gesweet en natuurlik het on ouer manne nou nie juis gehelp nie. Maar toe daai vliegtuig eers in die lug was het hy onmiddelik gerus geraak. Vyf dae later kon hy glad nie wag vir die vlug terug Johannesburg toe nie.

Relax maar, dis ongelooflik lekker om te vlieg, hoekom dink jy doen so baie mense dit sommer vir n hobby!

Make a difference in crime today! Log on to http://www.togetheragainstcrime.net/forum/index.php
Trailrider
Southern Cape

"Africa Twin Lite"

View Profile WWW
Re: Air France crash over the Atlantic: Are aircrafts safe from lightning? « Reply #73 on: June 02, 2009, 08:44:48 PM »

Ek glo julle 100%, maaaaar die kans is daar, dis my punt.

Ek se mos... Jy gaan val! Wink

MalcolmNXR
Wannabe bike upgrader

View Profile
Re: Air France crash over the Atlantic: Are aircrafts safe from lightning? « Reply #74 on: June 02, 2009, 08:59:44 PM »

Dude, n klompie jare terug moes ek vlieg saam met n mannetjie wat net uit skool uit was, op n kort besigheid trippie oos kaap toe. Die ou het gesweet en natuurlik het on ouer manne nou nie juis gehelp nie. Maar toe daai vliegtuig eers in die lug was het hy onmiddelik gerus geraak. Vyf dae later kon hy glad nie wag vir die vlug terug Johannesburg toe nie.

Relax maar, dis ongelooflik lekker om te vlieg, hoekom dink jy doen so baie mense dit sommer vir n hobby!
Ek vrek oor vlieg!!!! Net nie oor die see nie....... Patch

Tssssssssk BOOM!
MalcolmNXR
Wannabe bike upgrader

View Profile
Re: Air France crash over the Atlantic: Are aircrafts safe from lightning? « Reply #75 on: June 02, 2009, 09:00:46 PM »

Ok, ek kry die idee...... ImaPoser

Tssssssssk BOOM!
Trailrider
Southern Cape

"Africa Twin Lite"

View Profile WWW
Re: Air France crash over the Atlantic: Are aircrafts safe from lightning? « Reply #76 on: June 02, 2009, 09:05:17 PM »

Grin

Water is die ergste! Jy gaan val maar oorleef, half verdrink en dan vreet 'n haai jou op!

michnus
ride anything with 2 wheels
Global Moderator

Bike: BMW R1200GS

Karl Hungus .... starring in Logjamming

View Profile
Re: Air France crash over the Atlantic: Are aircrafts safe from lightning? « Reply #77 on: June 02, 2009, 10:56:02 PM »

A detailed meteorological analysis of the weather at the time of the crash, very interesting

some discusion by seemingly professional okes pilots forum and another pilot forum
« Last Edit: June 02, 2009, 11:01:31 PM by michnus » Logged

Porn du jour....
LeonDude
Crutch Operator
Forum Whore

View Profile WWW
Re: Air France crash over the Atlantic: Are aircrafts safe from lightning? « Reply #78 on: June 02, 2009, 11:00:33 PM »

Grin

Water is die ergste! Jy gaan val maar oorleef, half verdrink en dan vreet 'n haai jou op!

Jou vliegtuig gaan n nood landing in digte bosse maak. Jy gaan oorleef maar erg beseer wees. Dit gaan gelukkig reg langs n hospitaal wees, en jy gaan onmiddelik opgeneem word. Maar dit gaan in Zimbabwe wees. Good luck tjom.

Iron Shark

Bike: BMW R1200GS

Homeless.....

View Profile
Re: Air France crash over the Atlantic: Are aircrafts safe from lightning? « Reply #79 on: June 02, 2009, 11:07:57 PM »

Eish en hulle soek nog!   Sad
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 ... 11 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Login with username, password and session length