Vaalpadskloof Bash June 2009

Thump

KTM 1190 Adventure
Firstly Thanks to Watty and Pie and all those who assisted with organising and donating Prizes.
A special thanks to the guys who also worked on the Bash solving problems and serving the rest of the okes,
(Even the moaning grumbling one or two) While the rest of us just had fun. :peepwall:

from Slowpokes thread we ended up with ±12 guys meeting at Kentucky in Kabega.
Pic from Wolveseun
IMG_2127.JPG

Did Elandsriver and braaied at the Poort.

This is where the first repairs of the bash started. On some poor okes HP2. Won't mention names because I can't remember any. :p

IMG_0014-4.jpg

IMG_0015-2.jpg

IMG_0016-4.jpg

We even brought our dinner table with. Thanks Bakkie for bringing it out.
The bread board is a GS number plate donated by Slowpoke. Thanks dude

IMG_0017-4.jpg

Then on to the Royal to refill, then filled the bike and to the site.

Booked my spot and waited for the luggage to arrive.

What a lekker evening.

Great fire
IMG_0019-3.jpg

Good company.
Jman and Big E showing why they NEED a wife. SOON
IMG_0021-5.jpg

And the snaky dude was also there, helping to restrain Jman.
IMG_0023-4.jpg

We left in the morning for a ride

The green part of the map below was the day ride.

map-4.jpg

We went out on dry dusty roads with the rain threatening behind us.
Yellow Mellow was the tour guide With Mike H riding shotgun.
Herms, Jman, Myself and Sakkie the Photographer.
He'll have lots to post.

IMG_0024-5.jpg

IMG_0026-3.jpg

Got to klipplaat but no drinks at the station.

Mike H on the hill doing the look out.
IMG_0027-6.jpg

The train
IMG_0030-6.jpg

And the reason theres no drinks, The train driver's too young
IMG_0028-4.jpg

Then we hit a nice little section of road with a little rain catching up with us.
(Mike H's fault, we had to wait while he filled up.)

The dust was just settling nice when I felt my Bag on the carrier hit my back.
The subframe broke just behind the side bolts.

I transferred my luggage to Sakkie and Herms (Thanks guys) and tied the back down with rope while Sakkie took fotos and had a good laugh with Herms.

KLR's not as tough as I thought? too fragile to be a farm implement.

I then left the group to go back to camp as I didn't want to go too wild with only two bolts holding the back together, and did not want to hold the others up.

On the way back had a great ride and travelled on the roads that had been dusty with no water crossings, now wet and flowing. I was in heaven just taking in the changes a bit of rain makes.

IMG_0032-2.jpg

IMG_0036-4.jpg

I'm always fascinated by rock formations in the Karoo.
IMG_0039-3.jpg

After a quick lunch at the Royal, back to site to fix the bike.

But then the rain came and decided to relax instead.

IMG_0045-2.jpg

I'm glad I brought the large tent.
IMG_0047-4.jpg

Luckily the Laapa did not leak
IMG_0042-2.jpg

IMG_0043-2.jpg

Then later the rain stopped and a great starry night with awesome Braai packs and hot coals leading up to the prize giving.

I then finally got around to stripping the luggage rack off the bike and went to bed.

In the morning I pulled out of the Eco trail ride and decided to go home by tar and fix the KLR rather then temp fate on the rough trail. (I had already replace the front Subframe bolts and welded a support bracket in the week, decided a full inspection was necessary before more excitement.)

Hit the tar home. Very boring.
All in all a great weekend.

Thanks to all who participated.