Wabbit does Bathurst

Wabbit16

AJS (all models)
I haven’t done a RR for so long, eish. So I thought “Maybe it’s time to do one, even though it’s only a solo trip”. After all, I’m mos a ‘poser’ for posting more than riding :pot:

So on 27 Spetember 2009, I woke up with a urge to do something. The wind was blowing, it was 12 degrees outside and it was drizzling like a drunk man at a lavvie. Not exactly ideal weather but nonetheless. When the rain stopped for a breather, I kitted out sans my earphones, a camera and gloves. It wasn’t exactly a bright moment from my side to leave my gloves at home, but my original intentions were to meet a girl for coffee at the Snorting Grunter Coffee Shop in Port Alfred, not a 100 kay trip via Bathurst. After the most bitter coffee ever (8 sugars didn’t help), I dropped my company off at her house and decided to have a look see at the MX track just outside town on the Bathurst road. Not much to be seen there except dirt and cattle, I pressed on towards Bathurst.

The Pig & Whistle, established in 1825, also the oldest pub in South Africa for those not in the know, was packed with cars, bakkies and drunk patrons, but not one bike in sight. Not wanting to stir as I was the only biker there, I rode on towards the toposcope. By now I was freezing, and really regretting the decision I made. I took a few phodies of the plaques placed on the stone walls of the toposcope, but sadly the original copper ones were stolen off and even the fake plastic ones were removed :(

I turned off onto the damp gravel road on the Grahamstown side of Bathurst, on my way home. All the shongololo’s (Duisendpote) were trekking across the road like it was a marathon. In the 40 kays to our farm, I only saw one vehicle. This made for some steeking it into the corners, and brought the grin factor back which chased off the coldness :biggrin:. The pass I went through has a river at the bottom, and the river was flowing a bit, but no fish or any life to speak of. Shortly after I joined the Southwell road running between Port Alfred and Grahamstown, I saw some cattle next to the road. They didn’t seem fazed by the KLR, but being a farm implement and all, this didn’t surprise me. Mooooo…

The rest of the road I took slowly as I had a vieslike headwind. The rest of the way was uneventful, and I was very glad to be back in a warm home :). Sorry about the quality of the pics, smart phone/dumb camera :(

The Toposcope near Bathurst, which looked like a big tiet to me

8932_1224912217498_1069798301_698549_7866437_n.jpg

View of the lock-shin

8932_1224912257499_1069798301_698550_3897507_n.jpg

The view of the coastline if the weather permitted

8932_1224912297500_1069798301_698551_2997433_n.jpg

Arty shot :D

8932_1224912337501_1069798301_698552_4827490_n.jpg

Kak weather all around

8932_1224912377502_1069798301_698553_5963307_n.jpg

Barville Park, the farm adjacent to ours

8932_1224912417503_1069798301_698554_2449758_n.jpg