A First ride to remember

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vellies

Pack Dog
Reaction score
Bike
Suzuki Djebel 250XC
When my mates asked me to lead them on a lekker long ride for the weekend my quad buddies did not realise that I already turned "traitor". Yep it does not sit well with them the fact that I've been organising them for 10 years and now I went and bought something with just 2 wheels. I was the only one on a bike when I led 5 quads out from Kirkwood on Friday afternoon at 17h20. It was dust all the way from Kirkwood past Slagboom which brought at least the first one behind me to appreciate my 2 wheels as he had the least dust in his face. I understood why I had no takers when I invited some PE Dogs to join me :) Well we were close to the Zuurberg Inn when we rode into a drizzle. My first thoughts were that the dust could settle but my ride soon became a tester with visibility decreasing dramatically with drizzle on my glasses and mist limiting sight to about 10 to 15 meters. My boots getting drenched with every unavoidable puddle I hit now and again getting a skrik when soil that appeared solid turns out to be snot. I was very glad when we got over the mountain at Ann's Villa and I could see a puff of dust when a dust devil rushed past me. The first guy behind me now turned joker laughing about how I was slipping and skidding and being quick to put feet out when that wheels changed there line. Needless to say I had to hear plenty about how comfortable quads are in the wet.

m_IMG_7411.jpg

With stability returned to the road surface I could pick up the pace. Rabbits were  all over the road with one unfortunately  ending up under the wheels of  700 Grizzly. After checking for vital signs it was taken along for the ride as the farm we were to visit had a tame Rooikat  that always appreciates a snack.

m_IMG_7413.jpg

Concentration required eyes were peeled and we arrived at the farm safely.