Sand riding, it's not about the sand.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kamanya

Andrew to most
Staff member
Global Moderator
Reaction score
Bike
KTM 990 Adventure
Sand from the inside, its about you.

Recently I had a go at taking some people on a half day of sand riding.

Because of the work that I do – I help executive/management and sales teams perform better – I have some tools/experience that I thought would help people who have a bit of a hang up with sand.

Maybe an overview of what I did might help you.

First, some background on a way of understanding fear;

A way of describing fear is to use the analogy of an edge. It easier to use and is very useful in describing the important dynamics that happen as we both get closer to, and again when we step over it.

An Edge is something that is difficult to say, to think, to do, to feel, to dream, to hear or to look at. Doing so causes anxiety.

Edges are not always created by things that disturb us, attractors also create edges. A person who reluctantly has to cross a sand patch is different from someone who wants to do the same but knows they don’t have the skills or experience. Both have an edge around mud/sand and both would experience the same anxiety and some of the internal dialogue prior to the crossing. Both would be fearful.

We all have different edges, what one of us will comfortably do, others cannot.

• Edges are places where we are at a growing or inviting place to new experience.
• They are uncomfortable because they are part of what is yearning to happen but require new expression and challenges to our usual way of expressing. For example, attraction to another person.
• Edges have heat. We display behaviour at edges, like movement, freeze, laughter/giggling, forget everything,  go red, etc. Called edge behaviour.
• Over edge is often relieving. What was the big deal etc. This especially true when we have support over the edge.