Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register

Author Topic: Insurance of Riding Gear  (Read 612 times)

Offline Beachbum

• Bike: BMW R1200GS Adventure
Insurance of Riding Gear
« on: January 30, 2007, 10:19:24 am »
Busy purchasing a new bike and am curious as to how many bikers insure their riding kit. Is it worth it, does the kit get damaged badly or is it normally wear and tear and a few bumps..

Im a noob on the site so please bear with me...

Slowly getting into this adventure biking thing, at the moment it got me by the balls and i havn't been on a ride yet..
You're not yourself today.....
I noticed the improvement immediately.

Offline LuckyStriker

• Stealthy Camper
  • Bachelor Dog
  • Bike: BMW G650 X-challenge
  • Bellville Rock City
    • LuckyStriker's Blog
Insurance of Riding Gear
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2007, 11:11:50 am »
Quote from: "Beachbum"

You are indeed a n00b...
On this site it is generally considered good manners to say hello first before asking us to participate in your polls.

Welcome though
and enjoy the forum

Offline Maverick

• Slacker Extraordinaire
  • Bike: BMW R100GS / Kalahari
  • Some multi-task. I multi-slack.
Insurance of Riding Gear
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2007, 11:43:37 am »
Aloha beachbum 8)

My kit is covered as part of my house contents and specified on there. If you have contents insurance phone them up and ask if they will cover it. My gear is currently worth as much as my bike and of someone steals any of my kit it will cost a fortune to replace again. Not sure if they will cover it for wear and tear although you could possibly get bike insurance that will do that.

Rule number one is your kit is part of the bike as this is what keeps you supposedly protected so personally would insure it.