Search for the real South Africa on Vukas

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Bike
Kawasaki KLR 650
A little bit of background to put this into perspective. At the time this ride took place (Dec 2007) I had -- just turned 50 -- and been riding bikes for 35+ years. I had an XS1100 Yamaha (1980) -- still have it -- and similarly-aged GS1100 Suzuki. What can I say, I like big bikes!
I am not a little guy, I tip the scales at over 110kg.
I am an author and former journalist by profession and have written a couple of books that turned out to be best-sellers, the best known of which is "Days of the Generals - the story of South Africa's Apartheid-era generals."
If you're interested you can do a Google search on me or check out writing examples and additional background on my blog, www.thewhiteou.blogspot.com
Okay, so that's the background so you can understand the context.
I'm not sure how to post pictures -- I'm a newby -- but trip images can be viewed at https://www.flickr.com/photos/25065428@N07/
Scroll past the Cape Gun pics.
For a long time I have been planning a trip on a motorcycle that covers the circumference of the country. The idea was to visit places and people I wrote about during my career as a journalist and then to put the material together in the form of a book. I wanted to, for example, call in on the Denyschens and van Ecks on the Limpopo River who had the first landmines planted in South Africa laid on the roads to their farms. I wanted to look up the guy who built an atomic fall-out shelter just outside Messina and to eat and sleep in remote villages.
I suppose I was trying to find the "real" South Africa that I'd so enjoyed in the 70s and 80s.