Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register

Author Topic: Victoria Falls ride. Stupid? Or Awesome idea?  (Read 759 times)

Offline witold_dc

• Pack Dog
  • Bike: KTM 690 Adventure
Victoria Falls ride. Stupid? Or Awesome idea?
« on: January 05, 2011, 03:38:33 am »
The idea has been in my mind for a little while now and I can't get it out of my head.   :mwink:

I'm thinking of taking three weeks off from work and flying into Johannesburg, riding to Victoria Falls, getting myself to the Mozambique coast, and then slowly back to Joburg... Would this be a good, fun, interesting ride?  

If so, will I have problems security wise?  I'm an Africa Newb, but not travel newb.  

Are accommodations fairly easy to find around this route, or will I have to seriously plan each night's stay ahead of time?  I generally like to ride and explore and see where the bike takes me, but if it's necessary to plan, I guess I will have to plan.

And lastly, are there any good _cheap_ rentals in Johannesburg.  I'm not a rich foreigner, just an average guy with a bit of an itch to ride and see cool places.  I can't afford fancy BMWs and KTMs to rent for 3 weeks.  That really adds up quick.  Do you guys know of any better budget options around Johannesburg?    ???

« Last Edit: January 05, 2011, 06:06:05 am by witold_dc »

Offline Billbob

• Deleted Users
  • Race Dog
  • Bike: BMW R1200GS
  • Live and let live (to a point)
Re: Victoria Falls ride. Stupid? Or Awesome idea?
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2011, 07:32:50 am »
You can actually do this trip on a normal road bike on tar roads with a bit of planning. Accomodation is not a problem, there are hotels and B&B's all the way. You will require visas etc. I don't know about bike hire but am sure someone on the site will be able to give you info on this aspect. The trip will be worth it. :thumleft:
1200GS

Offline EtienneXplore

• previously KnopKop
  • Race Dog
  • Bike: BMW G650 X-challenge
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2011, 07:42:35 am »