Time to Settle some scores

KiLRoy

You said it, man. Nobody fucks with the Jesus!
Administrator
Global Moderator
Never done before Dual Sport Track day! Date:  13 August 2011

Venue:  Red Star Race Track - Delmas

Time trial based participation hosted by Clinton Pienaar of SA Biking Academy including a transponder per bike.
Classroom brief as from 09h00, training by professional instructors and racing.
A shoot-out between various brands and classes.
All Dual Sport brands welcome!
A possible Wild Dog vs. Non Dogs challenge as well should they have the growl to pitch…

After your initial laps your average time will be calculated and you will then be put into groups A,B,C and D.
Group A being the fastest guys and D being the KTM’s.
The average time of the top 10 riders per group, class and brand will be calculated to ascertain who the winners are.

Also a demo shoot out between pro racers swopping DS bikes to keep it fair.

Registration, indemnity and payment details to be found here: https://www.sabiking.co.za/Wild%20Dogs.pdf
Please try to register and pay upfront to avoid a cluster on the day.
Please take note that breathalyzers will be used to check you and intoxicated folks will not be allowed on the track even if you’ve paid.
But obviously feel free to enjoy a few cold ones afterwards.
It is advised that you pitch with all your ATGATT…
Fully qualified medics and marshals will be on site for the duration of the event.
Cost:- R490-00 per entrant. (Normally R690-00 per day!)

Ample camping for racing participants as well as spectators on Saturday night, excellent ablutions and showers, pool, braai fire, ice, pap, sheba and salads and a bit of ye good ol’ live rock & roll later on and a prize giving:- R140-00 per person. - incl sleeping over on Saturday
Pre payment can be done to the following account:
Wild Dog Adventure Riding CC
FNB
Acc#: 6230 826 8037
Branch: 252 645
Online payment will close on 10th August at 24h00 sharp.
Thereafter at the gate on the day but we might just not have any change for you…
Note braai packs charged for separately and available for Friday and Saturday nights @ R60-00 from the bar area.

Please do not ride home intoxicated after the event. Rather bring your camping goodies and have an excuse to let rip and make fun of Carrots.

Fridays camping for the folks from afar is included in the price above and children under the age of 18 will not be charged entrance.
So bring your wife, hubby, girl friend, skelm and sprouts along.
Mothers-in-law will be charged double. Period.
Please take the time to add your details to the attached attendance form so we can get an idea of numbers. (Use only your forum name on here please)

Only about 5 Zozo type chalets still available on site each with two single beds but bring your own hides and feathers. These can be booked with the owner Jacques Van Wyngaardt on 012 386 0916 or at [email protected] directly.

Full bar facilities on site as well as light meals and snacks from the entertainment area at very reasonable prices.
Check the photo of the price list posted previously by Stoffie.
Breakfast also available from the above for both mornings.

Pro Action, Linex and BMW will have demo bikes at the event for potential converts to take for a spin or ask questions.
A few tyre manufacturers will be on site as well to share their knowledge with us.
This event is being advertised in a few motorcycling magazines as per the attached ad and is open to non Wild Dogs as well.
Folks who have been directed here from https://www.sabiking.co.za/ or any of the mags, please take the time and register as a Wild Dog at https://wilddog.net.za/

Vendors: All Wild Dog vendors welcome to advertise and or demo your goods during the event – Vendors please contact Killroy or myself regarding sponsorship of prizes (Hope to hear from you soon…..anybody?)

Hope to see you all there it’s gonna be huge fun.

Original post:

OK - a first ever (in the world).

We are busy with negotiations with the owners of Zwarkops Race Track to book the venue for a WD race day.  Idea is to do some warm-ups in the morning then between 11 and 1pm have some serious races in the following classes to settle some scores:

1. Smaller than 700cc - single
2. Smaller than 700cc - twins
3. BMW - litre
4. KTM - litre
5. Other - lire

Then
6. Smaller than 700cc - open
7. Litre class open - based on 3/4/5 qualifying

Aim is to determine which d/s bike is the fastest on tar...

Afterwards beer, band and spit at the venue.  Gates (for exit) close at 6pm - after that you sleep over.  Arranged with ZKs to pitch tents and sleep over - so big party and piss-up after the race. Sun morning - breakfast at venue.

Idea is to get all our sponsors involved - help with tyres and advertise and and and....

Idea is to get our friends from Woema and BikeSA (and rest of media) involved.  Big prices for race winners.

Basic rules - must be a WD to race (idea is its a race between normal d/s okes), race with what you ride, no instructors and okes that do this at a higher level than Joe Soap.  

Extremely difficult to give a price indication at the moment - based on 200 riders/racers - I think it would be around R400 for the day - this includes:

1. race fees
2. Band
3. sleep over
4. spit or similar dinner

excludes
1. dop at the bar
2. lunch and snacks
3. next morning breakfast

We shall have a spectators fee too, and discount the price if you pay well in advance.  More expensive closer to the day and on the day.

Veldbrand will be the event co-ordinator and Cocky volunteered to run the Racing side of things...

What do you okes think - and can we start a list of racers?

Date:
13 August 2011 (with a date for CT soon to follow )
Venue:  Red Star
Format: Track day (incl classroom brief, training, racing, shoot-out between orange and blue, prices); Camping/sleep over; Bar; Band; Braai; Next day Breakfast
Price: R490 for the racers (incl everything for the day) - Social events --- prices to be confirmed
Vendors: All vendors welcome to advertise during the event - will ask each vendor to sponsor a prize (or 2) in exchange for this free opportunity.
Prizes: More than R10k worth of prizes (depending on our sponsor's generosity)
Special: BM and KTM to have a 'camp' each --- followers to slot into each camp,,,, we foresee a brand war on the day    (waterbombs?)  
More info to follow ---- we are busy planning the event...

• Track_Day_Ad.jpg
    Track_Day_Ad.jpg
    65.1 KB · Views: 3,960