Three of us just went there in December 2008 (Whilst holidaying in Hartenbos) 2 x1200GS's, & 1 x 1200GSA.
Did not even know about this issue of no bikes. We had no problem anywhere. Arrival at the enterance, which is at the bottom of the 500m in 3.9km pass, was a matter of signing the book. To anyone going there. This enterance "gate" is about 45km from the Prince Albert road, and roughly 1hr 50min away.
Enjoyed a cooolie at the restuarant, then went right to the very end (Gate proclaiming Private road) and turned around a little tree, then back to the museum which used to be the school in the "hey-days of the kloof". Again an interresting read of the history, then ride out to Prince Albert.
For an indication of travel time. The following:
07:00 Departed Hartenbos. Had quick Breakfast in Oudtshoorn - Wimpy. Up the Swartberg Pass. Turn off to Die Hell. Arrived in "Die hel". Stopped twice en-route in, to take photo's, then pushed on. Coolie at the restuarant. Drove to the very end & came back to the museum. 30min there-cool off under the shade of the tree. (Check out the temperature on the thermometer nailed to the tree trunk. 28Deg C that day 12:30 - Lekker Cool Normally its above 35 they say!!!!! )
Ride out of Die Hell (Never ending road !!) eventually arived at the Prince Albert road, then down the other pass into Prince Albert for a "late" lunch. Arrived PA at 15:00. Had a great lunch at the hotel, departed for Oudtshorn again via Meiringspoort, and back to Hartenbos. Arrived Hartenbos 18:00. Thinking back, we did NOT waste any time anywhere, other than a couple of stops for photo's etc.
Statement 1
Anyone thinking they can quickly do "Die Hell", is very "mistaken". You literally have to set aside a whole day of travelling in and out of the place.
Statement 2
Someone, would have to do some serious convincing, if they want to get me to go back there again!!!!! Done it, Very interresting, but NOT AGAIN !!!
I think, if a couple of "Windgat" laaities arrive at the enterance, on those "Orange thingies", they may be refused enterance, but for the main, I think the personnel at the gate will make a valued judgement of the vistors, let you in or not.
This issue, of not allowing bikers in there, is symtomatic of how the quad and unruley enduro guys have given the biking community a bad name. Again a few who spoil it for the rest. Absolutely NO consideration for others!
Thats my say
Done it , NOT "sommer" again