I can remember 1999 was tough year for diamonddiving. The whole consession we worked on
was sanded up and we could not pump through it as it was too thick. We found this spot and it carried well.
Problem was it was a tideal spot. In summer we had to be at the spot at 4.30 am when it is lowtide to bring everything
down to the beach and then pump until the hightide chases us away. Then every pipe and piece of equipment has
to be taken up on the hill away from the waves.

It took a while to get those four sets of pipes in every day.

And very tireing staying underwater in the surf carrying rocks and loosening them with a "koevoet"
for 4 to 6 hours a day. We had a good year and had taken out just over a 1000 carats and the boss said
"off you go and have a good holiday" which was more than a week earlier than other years.

Overnight I decided I'm going to Namibia on the bike and spent the next day changeing oil and packing.
I was really looking forward to a long haul by myself. Physically it was a hard year on my body and I just
wanted to ride and think about nothing.

The first day was just from my house near Koekenaap passed Nuwerus and along the N7 to Bushwhacked
downriver from Vioolsdrift where last years National Bash was held. Adam and Maudie had opened
that year and the place was then called Fiddlerscreek. Got there early afternoon and spent the rest
of the day with Mafusa the staffie they had then. The new one shared my tent at the bash!!!!!

Of course Mafusa liked me!! I had biltong!!

The next day I rode one of my favourites roads. Noordoewer to Rosh Pinah along the Orange river.
This is where the Fish river runs into the Orange.

I've done this road a few times and it never bores me.

The road from Rosh Pinah to Aus was still dirt. Between Aus and Luderitz the nothingness is endless.

I camped at Shark Island and I was lucky there was no wind blowing which is rare for Luderitz.
I rode and walked around town the next morning and meet one diamonddiver that I knew. We have
a drink and I ride out to Kolmanskoppe. No one to be seen. A driver of a passing car tells me I should
have booked one of the tours in the morning. O well next time then. I leave Kolmanskoppe at 1.30pm
towards Aus and fill up and ride back to the main road. I go strait across and the road is fine but it
becomes a tweespoor sandtrack after ten kilos. I battle on thinking all the time but this cannot be
the road to Helmeringhuizen?!!

After 20+kilos I reach a farm and the farmlaborer tells me I should turn around!!!!!
I nearly fell a couple of times in the sand. Reached the mainroad again turn left and 200meters later this big highway
turns left to Helmeringhuizen!!!! Ook ma lekker dof!!!!!

Close to Kolmanskoppe.

I told this lot I will see them at a restuarant close to me again.

Before Helmeringhuizen I turned off left on the D707. What a stunning road. The shadouws were getting longer.

I see a sign on the right saying farm 12 kilos. I took this road and reach a valley with steep red cliffs in
the background. All the buildings were painted Terracotta red. Farmhouse and some chalets. I could see
my wallet was too thin for this place.

No he does not do camping says the farmer. Only 4x4s.
We talk some farming and about the lack of rain and I turn around. When I reach the D707 I decide
I might as well camp there. It will be dark soon too. I have camped at a few places in the bush in my time,
but this night is the one that I will always remember. Not one car passed at all. Just me and my thoughts
and the millions of stars above me. I was happy.

I rolled my bivvie out infront of my tent as a groundsheet and after eating laid down on my back and watched
the stars until I went to bed at ten.