So long Brother.....RIP.....Arrow of Elliot!!

Carrots

I’m not really sure where to post this….but I also figure….that is not that important where it goes…as long…as it goes. This is a small and humble contribution to our good friend Glen.

SuperDave….my groot tjom……introduced me to the forum a couple of years back.  :thumleft: Fanks ou!!!

Man oh man….did that change my life or what.  

Twak gesels….banter….Religion and Politics…..Ride Reports…Spot the location……Buttism.....the brotherhood…Paying it forward….Ban the Dog…..Drinks….Bashes….OFS…. and all that other stuff.

I met Glen…like most of my best buds today…..on the forum. We had an “online” relationship…..until Cocky and I met him…..not so long ago…..which now feels like a lifetime ago!!

Not having much to do in Elliot….besides riding your bike in DS heaven….will surely result to becoming the fastest “Forum Whore” ever. Besides that…I have never met a more passionate Dog….ever. Was this guy something or what?

First time we meet……”Where did you get that dog on your topbox”?.........that is flippen cool….I also want one.

Not long after that…he’s got his own Dog……”Puppy”….and on route Vioolsdrift….Puppy even had his own WD buff.

Also…..he took a look at my bike and said….”what is this kak on your handlebar”?

It was the little string that comes from Poncho’s Tequila. Next time I saw him…..he had like 5 of them….on his handlebar.

No dude….I tuned him…..that is a bit OTT. Since them….he converted it to a keyring….which is mine now. Fanks Smuggy!!!

So......

Elliot? WDF is Elliot?

That is what I asked Edgy when he suggested that me and Cocky pop in and stay over on our first lekker long trip. Trust me…he said…..it will be worth it…you have to meet this bloke.

It was so worth it…..that when me and Jup did our ride to Mother’s Bash in Hanover….I said to him…..I don’t care how we ride and where we go….but we HAVE  to go past Elliot again. Capish?

Of course it was capsih….cause Jup already had the opportunity to go and plak there and spend some quality time with…….the Arrow of Elliot.

It was so capish…..that we planned that we meet Glen in Prieska by ETS’s shack….and we gooi mielies from there to Vioolsdrift.

What an awesome ride it turned out to be.

Don’t forget about the event as well. Glen…as usual…took his time settling in…but after that…..he enlightened  us with his presence, humor, wisdom, conversation, general knowledge, respect….and just overall…….being NOT KAK!

So this RR…is our story…..myself…Oros (Soundboi)….and Wipeout…..of our travels…yes….eeeish…in a cage…to Elliot and back.

We knew there were going to be more WD support once we get there….or that will arrive later.

I know many many Honne…would have liked to be there but due to the distance and work commitments…..it made it slightly more difficult to go and show your respect.

[size=10pt][size=10pt][size=10pt][size=10pt]Celebrate his life….and do not dwell on his death[/size][/size][/size][/size]…….quoted as per XL1000 on the forum was probably the biggest thing that kept us going. Let’s make a proper road trip of this….and go say goodbye.

The plan was to use Cocky’s Vito….but he was under the knife….so Oros said let’s take his bakkie…and gooi mielies. Wipeout joined…..and we hit the road at the crack of dawn on Wednesday morning.

Just before OFS…..Free State that is..not that other OFS….

Vanderbijlpark-20120208-02098.jpg

Fricken soutie…….

IMG_0713.jpg

IMG_0712.jpg

IMG_0711.jpg

Kroonstad-20120208-02102.jpg

Gmmmmmmpf……..

Kroonstad-20120208-02103.jpg

Brekka en koffie……nom nom nom!

Kroonstad-20120208-02104.jpg

Myne ne….is groter as joune….he he he he….

IMG-20120208-02100.jpg

Wipeout…..got moerse excited….when he saw this sign……eeeeish bro!!!!!

Kroonstad-20120208-02101.jpg

We…travel….on gravel…just to avoid the toll gate…and it is pouring down…..caution caution 50 left…WRC style.....Solberg se moer!!

IMG-20120208-02107.jpg

Tydmors….waar is die bikes?

IMG-20120208-02108.jpg

Los my stickers uit man…….

IMG_0717.jpg

IMG_0718.jpg

Someone decided to “widen” the bridge at Aliwal North……..YOH!!!!

IMG_0719.jpg

Having fun in the car……..trying not to think….of where we are actually going……

IMG-20120210-02167.jpg

It rubs of ne…..eventually…….

IMG-20120210-02169.jpg

IMG-20120210-02163.jpg

IMG-20120210-02165.jpg

IMG-20120210-02171.jpg

Once we got to Elliot…we checked in at the guesthouse and started to relax……or not.

Lynn asked me to do a tribute (she probably meant a speech…….which I was 100% unable to do) on behalf of the Honne.

So…..I dumped it in Oros’s lap……him being a producer and all. W

We sat outside on the stoep. Me gathering content (Fanks Buks and Edgy) and him…..putting content together.

Sorry…..and fanks my bra……I had an idea of what I wanted…..for me….for us…..for the Honne…..and for Glen.

It was puuuuuuuuurfect.

IT nerds….@ work

Elliot-20120208-02113.jpg

Elliot-20120208-02114.jpg

IMG-20120209-02130.jpg

I saw this VW bakkie coming up from the tar road……..with a KLE on the back.

Eeeeish…this must be Smuggy (Brian)…..Glen’s boet. Nou kyk ne…..my Dad…and my Boet……are my pillars in my life. So…I could only ty to imagine the grief and sorrow….that he was enduring. Me and Krim stood up and met the Man.

Dude….you rock. You did a great job “raising” Glen……quality….shines on!!! RESPECT! It felt like I’ve known you forever….just like your Boet!!!!

IMG-20120209-02131.jpg

More Honne arrived….the Eastern Cape gang…..as well as Tannie Iver….Glen’s Mom and sister who I and Jup only met barely a month ago.

From there…he took us via Rossouw on serenity roads….pure bliss…the best that the Eastern Cape can offer.

I gave my Wortel Brak to her…..that has been with me on all my trips. Still full of dust….and stuff.  Pas hom mooi op asb Tannie.

She clutched to it like you have no idea….and sobbed uncontrollably. Me too. No words…just hugged together…..

Juffrou…….

IMG-20120209-02127.jpg

Donner….it was a sad affair I tell you. Also Glen's sister and her hubby….from Holland…..nog ‘n ginger…a proper one.

More and more people arrived.

IMG-20120209-02129.jpg

Cocky…was there…in spirit…..

IMG-20120210-02158.jpg

IMG-20120210-02157.jpg

So…of to the country club then to set up the sound and stuff.

Master @ work!!!!  Now I know why you have contracts like Big Brother and stuff…….you are a perfectionist…..and a solid professional.

IMG-20120209-02135.jpg

Douw and Veltie slept over at Ladybrand and made the journey safely

IMG-20120210-02156.jpg

IMG-20120209-02137.jpg

It such an eerie feeling…to see other people behind Glen’s bar……but it is and will remain….a well travelled place

IMG-20120209-02138.jpg

Special thanks to Roger for the thanksgiving….but more so to FC…for saying bye to the Arrow of Elliot…..and reading the following:

Eisbein:

For grabbing the moment and living the day
It's been way too early that you were taken away

And from Douw:

RIP Soutie !!!

I am glad to have known you...
I am glad to have ridden with you...
I am glad to have gotten pissed with you...
I am glad to have laughed my arse of with you ....

For a little guy ....  you have left a BIG hole in the world....

Strongs for the others left behind.....

Fanks Oros…..for this…..U2….is also my favourite band of all times!!

[flash=800,600]https://www.youtube.com/v/_9CopwykUUY[/flash]

What….a legend!!!

Skipskop3.jpg

Na die diens het ons bietjie gesellig verkeer……..net soos wat Glen dit sou wou gehad het…..

Buttism partners……

IMG-20120209-02139.jpg

IMG_0734.jpg

IMG_0729.jpg

IMG_0733.jpg

Na die diens….is ons na crash scene toe…..

IMG_0739.jpg

IMG_0735.jpg

IMG_0736.jpg

IMG_0737.jpg

IMG_0745.jpg

IMG_0747.jpg

IMG_0748.jpg

IMG_0735.jpg

MetalJockey

IMG_0746.jpg

OFS….vir oulaas……

IMG_0742.jpg

En toe het ons geparty........

Halfmas OFS…..

IMG-20120209-02150.jpg

IMG-20120209-02148.jpg

IMG-20120209-02152.jpg

Drazil en Edgy…..

IMG-20120209-02145.jpg

Brekka volgende oggend…….

IMG-20120209-02125.jpg

Dis….waar al my melkies vandaan kom….

IMG-20120210-02160.jpg

Wou nog altwee afneem….maar Douw se SE is te haastig…..check die spin merke langs Veltie……

IMG-20120210-02159.jpg

En toe…..is ons huis toe.

IMG-20120209-02128.jpg

FC en Oros…..julle is ook legends!!! Fanks ne!!

Baie mense....het my en almal wat swaar gekry het....bygestaan die laaste week. Julle weet wie julle is....gaan nie name noem nie. I fank en SALUTE you!!!

So long Brother!!!  :3some: