Whilst I was enjoying the ride Ian was coming down from Cape Town on his solo journey. A few pics of his route

On his way down the weather was trying its utmost to catch him

I arrive in Beaufort West I'm early as we planned to meet at 15h00 so I find a nice local place for a few cold ones.
Ian phones at 15h00 to say his still 80km out, no problem I say and have one or two more cold ones. This riding is thirsty
stuff on a man. Ian rocks up and his thirsty so we have another cold one. We buy some skaap tjops and wors and off we go to
the Karoo National Park which is about 5km away.
At the gate they explain were to go and in we go to the campsite.
The camp site and offices is 6km from the gate and we check some wild life on the way.
We get to the enclosure around the camp / office section which has electric fence right around to keep wild life out.
He, He we didn't tell him we were Wild Dogs.
Ok of course we now have to enter the encampment, pull along side each other to the gate only to find the bloody thing
wont open (don't scheme) the bikes weights are enough. I then check these wires in front of our bikes and I scheme to myself
hey man maybe we should move forward some more as they might open the gate.

See wires on the tar other side gate.
Tune Ian, Hey bud lets go forward and see if those wires don't open the gate (now my excuse is that by this time I've had
a good couple of cold ones so not all lekker up there)
Now the people that know me might disagree and say I'm normally not lekker up there, but I think they're just jealous of me.
So with out thinking this through as his normally the logic oke of us two, we move forward and then it dawns on him.
Shit those are electric wires as well. Shouts to me stop and to gently reverse backwards and not to touch the wires.
See told you ous, he is the guy you need on these trips as he is the ou who sees these dangerous things.
Just then a cage comes up from the opposite direction and saves my ...... ( Still scheme that gate might have opened)
In we go book in find a lekker possie and set up camp

My tent

Ian's tent

Check plastic bag keeping meat cold

A few refreshments, Tequila and orange juice.
The shop sells lots of stuff even cold ones, so I take a bit of stock for the night and some wood for a braai and we're all set.

Ian starts the fire so we can start to braai as us ous are lekker honger. He does a mean skaap tjop on a braai never tasted better.
So if you ous ever hang out with Ian get him to braai you some skaap tjops.
So off I go to "verken" this joint, meet the other campers which even if they rode cages they were a lekker bunch of ous.
Have a lekker meal and a few cold ones to round the evening off and then try to catch some zzzz's. My luck pitched my bloody tent on top of a cricket, he was enjoying himself in making my life miserable with his constant cricket noise.
So as I've said, been doing Biking for many, many years, know the tricks, pull two smokes out of pack, break the filters off and remove the paper. Shoved the filters in my ears!!! That will teach that cricket, no more cricket noise any more so I got a lekker peaceful night sleep. Looked for the little bugger the next morning but to his luck I couldn't find him.
Next morning pack up and get the kit on the bikes.