Namibia: An Endless Lesson in Sand Riding

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zanie

Race Dog
WD Supporter
Reaction score
Bike
Honda CRF-250 Rally
Prologue

Namibia. Ever since I started riding a bike on gravel, this was on our to-do list. The Tankwa Karoo opened my heart to the wide open spaces. Namibia represents space++. By the end of last year, Lance and I booked a Namibia trip with WAVOLT. At that point we hadn’t yet done any trips where it was just the two of us (this would change even before we went on the Namibia trip) and had decided to “play it safe,” as it were.

I booked my bike in for some TLC a week before the trip. I needed to have a crash bar welded, which had snapped somewhere along the line, secure a spot light – I noticed it was wobbly while washing my bike, and get a new rear tyre fitted. My previous tyre was completely and utterly holey, thanks to three previous punctures involving wire, a stick and a rock. By the time I had it replaced, it had developed a fun slow puncture, which had necessitated stops at petrol stations for air on the way back from a previous weekend ride.

So many punctures…
36547135165_fae3488c87_b.jpg

A very holey tyre:
35712290104_d1515d9fd9_b.jpg

I was eternally grateful for the check-up, as it unearthed a frayed clutch cable. It would have been more than a minor inconvenience if it snapped on our trip.

Our route would loop around southern Namibia.

Day 1: Cape Town to Bushwhacked, Namibia

Trip stats
Distance: 677km
Time: not recorded