Harley Boys go to Oasis

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

whitedelight

Grey Hound
Reaction score
Bike
KTM 990 Adventure
HDCCT Take A ride To Oasis
Ok so after some serious Harley bashing over the last two days, here is a ride report to show all and sundry that we are just normal bike loving folk who enjoy riding our bikes. Our members are definitely enthusiasts, and most own more than one motorcycle, from all different stables.
At present we have between 35 and 45 DS riders, and from time to time we organize what we call “dirty weekends”. The plan was to leave Cape Town from the N1 one stop and do the round trip to Oasis, entering from the Clanwilliam side and exiting towards Ceres.
For me the morning started the same as before all rides, waking at 5-00am excited like a little kid. Weird that no matter how much riding I do, I still get the same feeling before ever ride. I have never done Oasis before so for me this was a thrill of note.
We had in total 20 bikes that would eventually meet up at our destination, but some were coming from different parts and we had two splinter groups that we would eventually meet up with.
My missus and a mate’s missus would ride along in a vehicle, and we had another member who had just had an op on his foot who tagged along by car as well.
So by 8-00 am I was packed and ready to go, as I opened the garage door the heavens opened at the same time.Oh shit that is perfect timing.Fook it, not unstrapping the dry bag for my rainsuit,the thick cloud just seemed to be hanging over Melkbos,so I thought I would just gun it in the opposite direction.
Needless to say I got soaked, my summer gloves wet right through and that morning chill seemed to be converted into freezer type temps.