2009 KTM adventure Service advice

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

V-twin

Pack Dog
Reaction score
Bike
KTM 990 Adventure
Hi WD's

So I bought a 2009 ktm 990 adventure about 4 months ago with +-24600km on the clock.
When I got it I thought it had just been serviced prior to the sale. But through my stupidity from not listening (as the seller actually told me this)
I found out it was last serviced at 15000km. The clock now stands at +-29000km so its desperately due for a 30000km service.
I wouldn't say that these few thousand k's that I put on it was hard mileage as I'm still a novice biker and is still taking it slow, however it has seen
a its fair share of dirt roads and mine dumps where I take it to get to know the bike a bit better. I don't know if its only my mind playing tricks on me
or me getting used to the power of the bike, but since I was informed that it was last serviced at 15k the bike suddenly felt a bit powerless (Not dead slow, it just doesn't feel like it pulls as much as it did when I got it.) which is probably understandable.

Before I bought it my friends told me to watch out for the katooms as their parts and services are very expensive but that didn't scare me off as I hesitated to buy a lesser or same bike as my friend's GS800. ;D
Now that I have to service it I have to " haal uit en hoes". RAD moto quoted me +-R5000 for the 30k service, I mean, liewe wetter ma se gat! but thats more than any car service I've ever heard of.

Thus I looked at many options but this is what I came to :(which will still "chase a lot of bokke" out of my pocket)
I am going to do most of the 30k service myself and according to many katoom riders I should only use original ktm parts.
Parts to be serviced:
1. oil 10W40 -R195/L-  (the owners manual says 10W50 but I cant find it anyware and factory racing said they use 10W40, so 10W40 it is...Advice please?)
2. Fuel Filter - R904