BMW Lambda Sensors (O2 sensors)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

max lange

Race Dog
Reaction score
Bike
BMW (all models)
For anyone who experiences a bad idle on the BMW R1200, most likely applicable to all bikes, here's my experience with Lambda sensors. Please note that I am by no means an expert and therefore this is my understanding of the function of Lambda sensors and may not be necessary correct. Additionally although this worked for me it may not for all BMW (or any) bikes.

I experienced an idle problem on a 2007 R1200GS, on further inspection and with the use of a GS-911 the issue all pointed to the lambda sensors (O2 sensors located on the exhaust headers). These sensors sample the O2 content in the exhaust gas every second and measure the amount of oxygen that is exiting the cylinder. The oxygen reacts with a chemical in the sensor and generates a voltage which in turn is feed back to the brain (computer). The sensor typically generates voltage between 1 and 9mV and is used by the CPU to determine the time that the injectors energize, to richen the mixture the injector opens longer, i.e. 3.2mS, leaner at 2.2mS.

A rich mixture, a low oxygen content generates a high voltage, typically 9mV; the CPU then leans out the mixture reducing the injector time. Conversely a lean reading produces a lower voltage 1mV resulting in a longer injector time allowing more fuel in the mix.

Therefore these readings bounce between 1mV and 9mV trying to keep a best mixture rate of 4.5mV.

If these are faulty then it could result in poor idle and flat spots when accelerating combined with high fuel consumption. Using a GS-911 its easy to spot, without not so easy other than swapping out the sensors, even then as there can be many factors its not easy to diagnose without some sort of tool.