Jozi to Durbs via the Berg - am I NUTS :)

jenks

Suzuki DR650
Howzit guys - I'm leaving tomorrow for Durbs to visit my boet and his brand new f800gs. I am still thinking of riding the dr down. I'm contemplating doing about 500 the first day to the Drakensberg (where I could dos over) and then the remaining 250 to the KZN south coast.

But I've never done this before so I'm kak scared (don't know the roads, petrol issues with the 13 litre, 200 km dr650 petrol tank and also unsure about the riskyness of a long solo trek like this).

Here's the route. Please offer advice on the viability of such a solo trek

Cheers!

jenks

Jozi to Berg to Scottborough to Durbs (leave Tuesday arrrive Durbs Wednesday)

R82

R82 through Walkerville to Vereeniging.
Fill up in Vereeniging  (6am)
15 kilometres out of Vereeniging take the left onto the R57

R57

53km to Heilbron
42 km to Petrus Steyn
35 km to Reitz
fill up in Reitz (8am – sms derek)
71 km to Kestell
22 km south of Kestell take the R712 left toward the Sterkfontein Dam

R712

28 km passing the dam take the R74 left

R74

64 km to Bergville (includes Oliviershoek Pass at 20km)
Fill up in Bergville (10.30 – sms derek)
22km to Winterton
22km to right fork toward Frere
50km through Escourt to Mooi River
Fill up in Mooi River (12 – sms derek)
Seek shelter!!! Relax in the Berg! Total travelled: about 500km sms derek

DIRT ROAD TO UNDERBERG
From Berg follow dirt main road to Underberg, skirting the berg to the west
Fill up in Underberg (sms derek)

R617

32km to R612 turnoff to the right

R612

16km to Donnybroek
35km from Donnybroek to Ixopo
74 km from Ixopo to Umzinto
Fill up in Umzinto (sms derek)

Follow the R102 all the way from Scottborough to Durbs!!
Last stretch about 240 Arrive in Durbs at midday (sms derek)