Refurbished KTM Scorch Pipes

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GD

Pack Dog
Reaction score
Bike
KTM 990 Adventure
I bought my KTM 950 on 3rd Jan, 2013. She was advertised with Scorch Pipes, but it turned out they were totally effed! So after a little Negotiation the pipes came for free with the OEM's fitted and a little project to undertake during my bonding period with this new bike. Here is a brief run-through of what I did, and a few pics.  Let me know your thoughts I’m no expert on this so really it’s just the proverbial “flying f*ck at the rolling donut”  

Once I had stripped the pipes down, I could see that it looked like that a previous attempt at repacking them was the issue (I think). Seemed that while drilling out the previous stainless rivets the aluminium sleeve & header piece had been damaged i.e. enlarged holes. In my mind this would be from not knowing how to drill hard steel out of a softer metal. (Use a Press Drill, @ high speed with cutting fluid) or just lack of tools. The answer was to this damage was fitting aluminium rivets with larger flanges, and the eventual result being that the vibration tore the rivets out the sleeve at nearly all of the points at the header piece and the header piece had holes thought it nearly 7mm wide. Needless to say that each pipe only had about 30% of its packing left inside.

Damaged Repair
I went to my mate down the road who has a small metal work shop, he cut the sleeve & the perforated pipe to get rid of the damage (about 10mm off each sleeve), he filled the enlarged holes in the header pieces with 12 aluminium welds and re-drilled the rivet holes in both the sleeve & header piece for R300.00

Finding the fasteners
9 different shops in Bloemfontein before I would find Steele Rivets (not even stainless). Thanks to an old school mate who gave them to me free of charge – MR Walker @ M&G thanks again!

Paint