Report: WC: One-nighter: Noob quality, 21,22 Aug 2010

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
C

Camelman

This was originally planned as a total noob/ pillion-friendly ride. At the end of the day there was only one noob and a bunch of friends!

Four of us left Cape Town on Friday. Andy660, AntonW, Robin Brown and I.

PICT0002.jpg

We would camp that evening close to Robertson, where the other three riders, Giraffe, Eish and Crossed-up would meet us the following morning.

When we left Cape Town the weather was fine and the views splended as always as we crossed over the mountains on the Du Toitskloof Pass. Soon after Rawsonville we were on gravel and twisting our way to Robertson.

The campsite at Riverzicht was just what was required. A river, grass, toilet and shower.

PICT0004.jpg

On arrival we put up camp whereafter Andy and Anton went on a provision-run! Ten minutes later Fenderbender pulled up on his HP2 with the coolest sounding exhaust I've ever heard. He had popped in to say howzit, and brought beer!

So a lot of k@k-pratery ensued between him, Robin, and I till the others arrived. Soon after Fenderbender returned to his farm, we made fire and the normal biking camp ritual started. Kuier, braai and stories. I tried out the 1 minute miele-pap as well, with some braai-relish. All of us agreed that this was a winner!

That night the wind decided to do its thing, and at 01:00 in the morning I was awakened by my tent being blown flat on top of me. This would continue the rest of the night with only the sound of the dog coming to find some left-overs and the tiger-like purring of AntonW (according to Andy) joining in.