Roof of Africa 2009

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SGB

Race Dog
Reaction score
Bike
BMW R1200GS
The speed of time…  Last year’s Roof did not feel 365 days ago when we mounted the horses on Thursday morning.    My brother Bees and I left Bloemfontein and quickly consumed the 120 km of slab to Ladybrand where we met up with Andre and Jacques for breakfast at the Wimpy.   Andre was riding my 525 and Jacques on a Yamaha 660 kwat.  In the back of my mind I was unsure of the kwat idea for what we “traditionally” enjoy at the Roof, I have no experience in that department, but I do know Jacques is a brave man, so he came along.  The plan was to get to Maseru for the “Round the Houses” and work our way through to Roma along the time trial route and sleep over at Ramabanta.  Some other old friends were also on their way and I was looking forward to seeing them all again!
The border formalities took no time and we were in Maseru in time to see this motard style race with knobblies.  You are not allowed to change tyres, gearing or add fuel after this part, and you depart on the time trial route straight after this.  It is incredible how the top guys can control the machines sliding into the corners at scary velocities, good to watch.
IMG_3385.jpg

IMG_3387.jpg

Our spectator spot was in front of a school, and we provided some entertainment between heats.  It felt good to be someone’s hero…
IMG_3382.jpg

I did some map studying of the routes before hand, and we followed the road to some of the time trial spectator points.  The competitors looked fresh and ready to race, even the ones on blue bikes…  We found Roger and friends from Durban, and exchanged some stories.
IMG_3389.jpg

This down hill section was quite interesting, can you see the bikes?  And the route?  
IMG_3390.jpg

IMG_3391.jpg

View down to Roma Bridge
IMG_3394.jpg